We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Find the Fairmont Hotel to find this spot”
Review of Bijan Bakery

Bijan Bakery
Ranked #5 of 56 Bakeries in San Jose
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Find the Fairmont Hotel to find this spot”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We went after dinner for some yummy desserts: chocolate covered strawberry ($2.25), eclair ($3.99), chocolate cup filled wth raspberries ($5.50), curved log shaped almond cookie with chocolate tips ($2.99), chocolate truffle ($2.75): all were exclaiming how delicious their choice was!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaritaman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The Best Bakery in the Area”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Located adjacent to The Fairmont, this is a great bakery with free wifi. Besides the wifi, they have a great assortment of continental breakfast goods for sale. They had a yogurt parfait, fresh fruit cup, pastries and yes, quiche!!! The quiche was homemade and it was the perfect size for me. They have a wide assortment of hot teas and while I am not a coffee drinker, they had alot of customers buying coffee.

I also tried their small cookies which were tasty and not too big. I ate there for breakfast everyday I was at The Fairmont. This place will not disappoint. I look forward to going back again. I wish they had a bakery down in SoCal where I live.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank onedeesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Decent food and coffee, lame ambiance”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

At first sight, this place looks incredible. The location is convenient and there seems to be endless options for pastries. We tried the croissants, which were rather dry, and cappuccinos, which were nothing memorable and took a long time. The ambiance is the most disappointing. The coolers are loud and overbearing, especially since there is no music playing. It feels more like a cafeteria and is definitely not a place I would want to sit, sip, and chat. I left feeling uninspired.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
210 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Always Disappoints ... A little to a lot”
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

This place has a great location. Because of that, I tend to stop by pretty often. But the bakery is just so-so although the presentation is pretty good. The service is disorganized. Maybe they need a second register. When workers look like they're working hard but it takes forever to get a cup if coffee, I blame management. All in all it feels more like a workplace cafeteria than a high end bakery/coffee shop. Are they still handing out plastic utensils and paper plates?

Anyway, today I left after a long wait for a quick cup of coffee and remembered Caffe Frascatti is a short walk away. I should have gone there first. Of Starbucks. Or Cafe Too. Or the coffee shop at the library. Or Philz. Or...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike95128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducka62
Level Contributor
379 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Bakery and Cafe”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We have been to both locations and love their Tea Cookies and many others, as well as the cakes. You will not be disappointed with anything you choose from here, coffee, hot chocolate, and pastries. The food and beverages are all great.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ducka62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bijan Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Bijan Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing