We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste of the Old Continent in South San Jose”
Review of Bistro Tupaz

Bistro Tupaz
Ranked #130 of 2,188 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: US$9 - US$23
Cuisines: Eastern European
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taste of the Old Continent in South San Jose”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

When my wife wants to learn to make something in the kitchen she has to try it out first somewhere. We wanted to try a new restaurant besides the chain ones. We found out Bistro Tupaz was nearby and headed that way. Stepped into the restaurant and we were welcomed by a display case of mouthwatering desserts. We placed our order and received a flag to place on our table for service. Found a nice table near the window looking out to the patio. (Other reviews mentioned a nice breakfast menu so we'll have to come back to see) We were welcomed with a bread basket of their in-house lemon curd and banana bread. Great start already. The food came out and it was as advertised. We were checked in by our server Lilia a few times and the service was great. We had the pork ghoulash and tri-tip w/risotto. We definitely plan on coming back to try other items on the menu. We enjoyed European atmosphere. It reminded me of the cafeteria's in Germany. If you are in South San Jose and wanted to try something new, you won't be disappointed with Bistro Tupaz.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    23
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“What A Neighborhood Restaurant Should Be...”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Over the years, I have learned not to set expectations to high when going to a new restaurant.

In the case of Bistro Tupaz, I was pleasantly surprised with the variety, quality of their dinner offerings and the attentiveness of the staff at this relatively small neighborhood restaurant offering classic European (and some American) cuisine.

The menu changes regularly, based on availability of ingredients, which I appreciate. Our meal was a treat and something that brought back memories of trips to Europe.

It is not fancy or pretentious...just good food at a reasonable price in a bistro format.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HikingLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great breakfast buffet”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We had a great breakfast buffet here for only 10$ drinks included. Espresso and Latte was good. Swedish pancakes, cookies and fruit were excellent. We missed some sour dough bread to go with the salmon (which they apparently have normally). We can definitely recommend this place!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assendelft
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice food but improvements most certain can be made...”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Due to the high ratings of this restaurant on Tripadvisor we chose to visit it for dinner. When we arrived there was sufficient free parking space in the area. While entering the restaurant we noticed that there were many locals in the restaurant ordering take-away food and pastries.

Because it was crowded and staf were busy it took us 5 minutes to find our how the system in this venue worked. A staff member explained that we could order and pay all our starters and entrees in advance at the counter. We then received a country flag to identify our table so the other staff members could bring the food to the correct table. We ordered the Meatballs as starter and the Beef Stroganoff as main course together with some side dishes.

Food was tasty but it could been so much better if it was warm. In this case it was not really warm. From the place we were sitting at we could see that the dishes were waiting quite some time on the counter before the waiter served them to the customers. A lady sitting on the table next to us had an identical issue regarding her cold dinner.

Nate, a very kind waiter apologized and offered to solve this immediately and offered us some pastries to take home as saving grace. This was very thoughtful from him.

Positive:
+ Tasty food
+ Friendly staff
+ Advice of red wine

Room for improvement:
- Self service ordering;
- Entrance of restaurant has a take-away style;
- Food entree not warm, serve faster or use pre-heated plates;
- Vegetables (Brussels sprouts) could be more cooked;
- Red wine not served on room temperature, slightly chilled;
- Not all side dishes were delivered at the main course, some not at all;

Pricing approximately $100 for starters, entree, glas of wine/beverage for three people.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Nico T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deo T, Owner at Bistro Tupaz, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Hi Nico!

We were busier than expected on Friday night, and we were missing 2 front of the house staff. We're working the schedules better so that better service can be provided and food taken out faster and piping hot to the table.

We're not happy if the customer isn't happy so if you want your vegetables cooked more and your red wine served room temperature, we're more than happy to oblige! We have wines in storage that we serve, and the hot line can cook your vegetables longer (though there will be a slight wait). We're also more than happy to substitute anything on your table for anything else in our menu.

Please present yourself to any of the front of the house staff-- I have prepared a nice gift card for you. We'd love to have another chance to make things better for you.

Deo Tupaz
Owner, Bistro Tupaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
“Good tastes and design”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I visited here by searching internet and found it was good design in the restaurant!!
Then it was so good taste,
all the staffs were good atmosphere. Especially Lilia took care of us well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hamham182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Tupaz also viewed

 

Been to Bistro Tupaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing