We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Catholic Church in downtown San Jose”

Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph
Ranked #7 of 136 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1876, this church serves the oldest parish in San Jose.
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Catholic Church in downtown San Jose”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Next door to the Fairmont. Beautiful. Attend Mass in English or Spanish. I had both my kids baptized and confirmed at this cathedral. We have a special affinity to it. Its a very special place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CharmChari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    60
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful cathedral they do have free tours”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I have attended Mass here on Sunday parking is not a problem, I wish they had an earlier Mass than 8:30 on Sunday. If you want to see the inside they do have free tours. The guy in the gift shop I Avery nice and helpful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank carolab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasco, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is a beautiful basilica in the heart of San Jose downtown area. They apparently have half hour tours Tuesday- Friday at 1PM but you can also just pop in and wander around- just be mindful that they hold mass and confession 7 days a week, so check before you go.

It is a beautiful building with ornate statues and building detail.

It is located right by the San Jose Art museum making it an easy add-on to the day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pinkpepper9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A unique sight in San Jose”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

San Jose does not have many cultural sites to visit. This cathedral must be at the top of the list. It is beautiful and historic but also features a striking modern central altar and the extraordinary modern wooden pews of an artist whose name I unfortunately forget. They are museum-worthy.

The stained glass and architecture also make this a memorable place to visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Chruch”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

It is very nice Catholic church for Prayers. My wife had very blessed time. I would strongly recommend this Church

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ravi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral Basilica of St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing