We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not the best experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We arrived at night and felt like we were turning into an alley to get to the entrance. There was no parking available for check-in which started the whole experience off on the wrong note. Parking is $22 a night. Parking was convenient but they should have had a security guard on premise. The room was so noisy. The room had an old style window air conditioner that made so much noise we had to turn it off, but then the room became hot and stuffy. Opening the window wasn't an option because of the street noise. The refrigerator gurgled all night and there was a lot of hall noise. The bathroom is tiny with no counter space and very little shelf space. I thought they could have cleaned better. The lightswitches and door handles were very dirty. On the plus side; the staff was helpful and breakfast was fine. They offered a wide selection of choices for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Missy1014849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike L, General Manager at HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
I appreciate the problems the guest experienced but they did not stay at our hotel.
We do not nor never have we ever charged for parking. The physical description of the area is clearly not our property. I have sent my dispute into Trip Advisor, but they don't seem to remove these reviews very quickly. I believe you stayed at another Hyatt hotel possibly in downtown San Jose, but you did not stay with us. Please check us out on your next visit.
Thanks,
Mike LaMarche
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    162
    32
    14
    6
See reviews for
154
89
18
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

It's been a couple years since my previous review and just want to reiterate what a pleasure it is to stay here. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are comfortable, well appointed and impeccably clean. Events are well handled and managed with perfect catering. Breakfasts offer plenty of fresh fruit, delicious coffee and made to order omelets.

The immediate area has built up a bit in the last couple years with a good variety of nearby fast food and a market.

My first choice location in Santa Clara/San Jose.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Location: Silicon Valley near San Jose. Nothing around except some of the big Silicon Valley companies. Small shopping center with basic fast food dining options (Chipolte, Panera, 5 Guys Burgers). Close to the 237 freeway so quick to connect to the 101, 85, or 880. But not much to do in the area so geared for business travellers.

Room: Very good and clean. Designed for extended stays so they have a kitchenette with full size fridge and stove for cooking. Great for extended stays of more than 2 weeks. No bath, but beds are comfortable.

Facilities: The hotel feels a bit sceptic and really not meant for hanging out. There is a small pool and gym but other than that this is no frills on the facilities.

F&B: Pretty good breakfast with omelette station that is usually included in the room rate. Good variety of food. There is a bar with happy hour and a pool table, but more for last drink before bed occasion.

Service: OK. The breakfast staff were very helpful and for the most part front desk met needs. Did have a very late checkin as the room was not ready, but other than that decent service, but nothing worth remembering.

Summary: Not the best location, but pretty decent value if you are in town for business and want a spacious room and decent breakfast to escape too.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room which are usually bigger with 2 windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redpagoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

The hotel was much better than I expected! Very clean and comfortable to stay in. Complimentary breakfast in a nice dinning area. Only two drawbacks: there was no safe in the room. And the air conditioner was too noisy (all other facilities looked so new, only the air conditioner was like 20 years old..)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psimissu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Service was not up to par. Front desk agents were more concerned about their card game than assisting the guests. Breakfast staff seemed annoyed when we interrupted their personal conversation to ask for more plates. Thankfully we were only there for one night. This property seems to be lacking in basic hospitality skills.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveFoodNWine77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Its not a full service hotel; so all if those little things you're used won't be there.what is there is a very pleasant stay! Staff was super helpful and very pleasant. The room was very clean and nice! The bed!!! I didn't want to leave it was super comfortable. I would stay here again and again. Food and everything else is right there ...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haelani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here so kids could go to a concert at SJSU. We walked to the concert venue. Lots of restaurant options nearby. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Nice hot complimentary breakfast included in the very reasonable room rate. Very happy with our stay and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccmacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport-Silicon Valley
6.8 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 76 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
12.9 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 76 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
6.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
6.9 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 76 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley

Property: HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Address: 75 Headquarters Drive, San Jose, CA 95134 (Formerly Hotel Sierra San Jose - Silicon Valley)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley delivers guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 164 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, and MP3 docking stations while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Seattle's Best brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or alfresco patio with fire pit and lounge seating . Providing easy access to Highways 237, 880 and 101 with San Francisco just an hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing