We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Petaluma
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very, very nice.”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Look, its a Hyatt House. But the place is new and well appointed. Very nice free breakfast including made-to-order omelets and more selection than you'd normally see (eggs, two kinds of meat, potatoes, pancakes, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, etc). Free Wi-Fi is a bit slow (1.5Mbps at MOST before you hit peak time). Beds very nice. Full size fridge. Stove top. Microwave. Ice on odd-numbered floors by the elevator (shocker!). Electrical outlets by the bedside. Nice location next to shopping. My desk chair was oddly short so I had to put two full pillows on top to reach a reasonable height. Unique to this room? Significantly more expensive than the perfectly nice Hyatt House in Santa Clara though. All four pillows were identical and too thick for my taste, but I'm sure they'd fix that if you asked.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fanfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    177
    36
    15
    6
See reviews for
170
94
19
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Great deal, very homey. Large variety at breakfast, though potatoes and sausage were a little stale and scrambled eggs were greasy. And no covered walkway to parking garage if it rains. You can see I don't have much to complaint about :).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Phoebus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A favourite in Silicon Valley. The breakfast selection could be improved.
The shower sometime had an unexpected behaviour (low pressure of water flow).

My score:
Service: 5
Pillow: 5
Bed: 5
Breakfast: 3
Shower: 3
Bathroom: 4
Floorspace: 5
Cleaning: 5
Elevator: 5
Free morning newspaper: 5

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikaelB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Good location. Grocery, pharmacy, shopping are all within walking distance. Check in is quick. ample hotel parking space next to the hotel. Room is not big but adequate and clean. Breakfast buffet is good but as noted by one of the review, food was not kept warm enough. They do have a made to order omelette station which is fresh and hot. Service is average, I saw one guest asked for refill of fruit plate but it seemed too take forever as the server continue to refill other items which had not run out instead of taking care of the fruit plate which is empty. Management should pay more attention to such details.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RRla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Our family of four stayed here for three nights between Christmas and new year while visiting relatives in San Jose. The hotel was in a great location, with Safeway, restaurants, banks all within walking distance in the same square. The decor and ambient was unpretentious but functional. The check in and out was fast and hastle free. We make a booking by expedia but decided to check in a day earlier. We turned out the night without reservation but they offered us the same room for the whole stay despite two separate bookings.

The room with kitchenette was spacious and comfortable. There is a separate sink area outside the bathroom making it very convenient for family. It comes even with a dishwasher!

Parking was easy and free, wifi was fast and free. Breakfast was included, it cones with juices and freshly cooked ommlettes.

This is the second time we are staying here and we will continue to stay here for all future visits.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anaest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibiza, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Jetlagged and with a painful pinched nerve I needed a comfortable rest before visiting friends in San Jose. I have no complaints and I was very happy with the facilities. I stayed in my room, microwaved dinner (I know - but I was in pain), went online, watched a bit of TV, took my painkillers and slept like a lamb. As a Brit I found it easy to find and easy to get back on 101 to visit my friends. Staff helpful, breakfast good. Parking simple. For one night alone it was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We arrived by cab - that could not accept Visa, we had no cash.....the front desk would NOT give us an advance to charge to room to pay for the cab. Fortunately a business colleague was nearby the front desk and handed over a $20!

The Front desk was courteous, we were roomed in to a room that had a cracked sink, cracked floor tiles (that one could cut their feet on if not careful) , and had two HVAC UNITS right outside the window. I immediately called the front desk to ask for a quieter room, and was told there was nothing available and we could be waitlisted. Fortunately given my experience I was relentless and went downstairs to the front desk to advise the room would not be suitable given that I had specifically requested a quiet room.
The gentleman Rene was very accommodating and offered several choices. ( it was bewildering the female desk agent working with him just couldn't be bothered obviously.) Dont work in the industry unless you like to make sure your guests are accommodated well.
We were re-roomed into another room that was very nice, but the floor was not well cleaned and I used a wash cloth to wipe under the vanity and in corners to get rid of previous guests hairs. This doesn't creep me out but it is irritating when paying premium conference pricing for a hotel room that isn't cleaned well.

Breakfast was included in the rate, while it was bountiful, none of it was very hot. I would question food-safe ness of this but stayed with the Fruit and yogurt.

We ate outside of the hotel mostly, but the free bananas on the buffet were appreciated as a take-away.
I would stay here again but be specific with a reservations agent about my requests when reserving.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACNGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
12.9 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,352 reviews
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport-Silicon Valley
6.8 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
6.9 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
952 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley

Property: HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Address: 75 Headquarters Dr, San Jose, CA 95134-1357 (Formerly Hotel Sierra San Jose - Silicon Valley)
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley delivers guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 164 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, and MP3 docking stations while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Seattle's Best brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or alfresco patio with fire pit and lounge seating . Providing easy access to Highways 237, 880 and 101 with San Francisco just an hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing