We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we were expecting for a "4 Star"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Jose Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
San Jose Marriott
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what we were expecting for a "4 Star"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Okay, so I took a gamble and bid on Priceline for a 4 star hotel in San Jose. Of course, you don't get to pick which one and got stuck with the Marriot. This hotel is not bad in theory, but it sucks to get stuck with it on Priceline. For one thing, the whole point of bidding on Priceline was to save some cash, right. We've had some great experiences getting good deals with bids, but in areas more luxurious than San Jose, and usually we only bid for a 3 or 3 and a half star, so I thought why not go all out on a 4 star bid, low-balling at 80 bux (which after taxes and other b.s. turned out to be 100 a night.) We stayed for two nights.

The problem with getting stuck at the Marriot was their ridiculous charges for, practically forced, valet parking and internet use. Parking was $26 per night and internet was a ridiculous $13 per night (that's what I pay for a month of internet at home.) This may or may not be what is the usual at a place like this. I don't know, we normally never have to pay for parking or internet when we stay places. So what this amounted to was an extra $78 for the two nights, a major bummer, because I would have selected a hotel that didn't have those charges or parking situation for the roughly $137 per night. To avoid the valet charge, there is the option of parking in a garage that is a 1/4 mile down market street for a reasonable $7 a night. We did not choose to do this because it would be ridiculous to carry all that luggage down the street. It was inconvenient, and we were tired from the drive.

The hotel/room itself:
1. The view was fairly nice.
2. I wish there would have been a little balcony, as it is a non-smoking building entirely, and you have to go all the way down to floor 1 to catch a smoke break (I guess it's time to quit.)
3. The king bed was very comfortable with a ton of big pillows. The room was very tiny.
4. Went swimming, and the pool was not heated, so very cold!
5. The amenities sucked in general! NO REFRIGERATOR! NO MICROWAVE for dinner leftovers! They hella want you to order off their ridiculous priced room-service menu or go to their pretentious lala land restaurant. Eggs are like 15 bucks.
6. The bath tub was very tiny, no room for the two of us lol : (
7. Knowing the gouging with the parking and internet, I didn't want to have a bell boy carry the luggage cart up to the room because I didn't want to tip any extra money. They wouldn't let me take up my own luggage, so there was more money spent on an unnecessary tip.
8. Service and concierge was very accommodating. The valet service was actually pretty awesome but would prefer to park myself for free. If valet was maybe 10 bucks a night, I could afford to tip the valets, I know they were waiting for it, sorry little buddy.
9. Location was pretty prime, it was in the center of everything we were in San Jose to see, but then again I don't know the whole of San Jose too well.
10. The crowd that was in their outrageous fancy bar, Tanq, turned me off.

Anyway, diary of a man caught up in the working poor America. Occupy Wall St.!

Room Tip: Know what you're getting into ahead of time. Don't risk bidding on a 4-star in San Jose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmoney559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    337
    137
    53
    23
See reviews for
124
96
52
533
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
565 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

For the second time I was desperately looking for a San Jose hotel connected to their annual Rock N Roll half-marathon that would be "the one." The Marriott is connected to the San Jose Convention Center as was the Hilton Hotel, where I had previously stayed. Perhaps that unique location, almost guaranteeing high occupancy, has made them both complacent. Neither hotel excelled.

Check-in at the Marriott was seamless. There were plenty of registration agents available as they anticipated the onslaught of marathoners and another convention starting Sunday. But that other convention also posed the problem of the Marriott informing us the only way you could get late check out (after 12 pm) was by paying half again of your room rate.

The half-marathon was slated to take place from 8 am to 1 pm. So it became incumbent upon us to immediately return to the hotel to take a shower if we wanted to avoid the late charge. So much for the after event entertainment. Thanks for spoiling the party, Marriott!
As a Marriott Rewards member my profile asks for a high floor. They put us on the 6th (of 25) floor. The room was basic Marriott although with a sliding door that was annoying and noisy at night. We had to keep the door closed because a low level fan ran constantly.

We found the room to be tight with the standard king bed, corner chair, two piece desk and entertainment/dresser arrangement. A better design could have opened the room up a lot.
We ended up parking in the convention center parking lot, maximum of $20.00 a day. This beat the Marriott's $36.00/night rate and, as it turns out, since we stayed less than 24 hours (due in large part to their being no late check out) our parking fee was only $20.00.
The dining options were what they were. If you like a loud bar or a fancy-schmancy restaurant, this is the place. We wanted neither so walked to one of the ample options within within a couple of blocks.

What passes for a coffee shop/convenience store in the lobby was disappointing. It was almost sad. A few day old Danish, some packaged cereal and a couple of spotted bananas. While it had good traffic the morning of the race (perhaps too much, all those runners trying to get caffeinated) overall it was a below average convenience store.

So no big kudos for the Marriott. It could have been so much more but it failed to take the lead. If I attend next year's half-marathon my search will continue.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room on the west side, higher than the convention center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenVicLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed here September 26, 2011 My husband had to go to see the doctor in San Jose and we stayed one night. We were welcomed when we walked in and the service at the front desk was excellent. The location is very good for downtown and close to the freeways. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. We were on the 16th floor and asked for a wake up call so we could make a early morning appointment. Everything was right on time and friendly. Valet was expensive $26.00 a night. Close to SFO airport about 30 minute drive maybe longer depends on traffic. I am crazy for a clean room, comfortable bed and service. All was better than average, they do need to had extra mirror in bathroom for putting on makeup.
We would stay there again and we are glad that they read our reviews:)

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny....a lot of windows. The bathtubs are nice and deep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mblnparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Facility looks fine, though valet parking area is very small and congested. Bar had good selections of beers on tap, but was a little too much loud music being pumped in late at night. Room was up to date in terms of base comfort, wireless was $13 for 24 hours (hate it but it is typical of larger hotels), and coffee was single cup brew and pretty good. Major issues I had were no bath towels (made due with floor and hand towels), and being woken @ 5am by noise associated with convention center (truck loading of loud clanging metal parts). Convention center proximity should be viewed as double edge sword to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OriginalMurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Yes only stayed here one night on Friday sept the 2nd. I must have walked through the front doors and out a dozen times and not once a Bellman or Valet or even a girl standing behind a stand even say "Hi" once. Im not making this up. The hotel has a good location near the some shopping and eating a few blocks away.
I was on the 9th floor, I left for the evening at 7 pm and set the a/c system down to 65. When I came back at 11:30 it was no where that cold. The room was ok, no clock which I thought was weird for a hotel. The shower did not have very good water pressure. And when you call the "may how I help you line" on the phone no one answers. So there is alot of things this place needs work on. I will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPTexan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
129 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed here one night on business this month. Quiet although it was a Sunday night and perhaps not busy. Attentive desk staff and clean, plush, if not small-ish room. Nice bed and bath. Noise from San Jose Airport not too noticeable. Didn't try the gym or pool but they looked good. Had breakfast in the hotel restaurant which was pretty good, with nice wait staff. "Downtown" San Jose is rather sleepy but traffic wasn't bad on the side streets. Only odd thing about this hotel is parking: hotel offers expensive valet parking, which is actually housed in the attached San Jose Convention Center, where you can park yourself for $20.00 overnight (still steep but not as bad as valet). Hotel is about a 30 minute drive from SFO airport in good traffic. Good location for business in Silicon Valley.

Room Tip: Get one near end of hallways
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady911Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Very good place to stay. Nice kitchen in unit. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank debPasadena_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 76 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#8 of 76 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.0 mi away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#20 of 76 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 76 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Jose Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jose Marriott

Property: San Jose Marriott
Address: 301 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#3 Green Hotel in San Jose
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Jose Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your San Jose Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Marriott Hotel San Jose
Marriott San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing