We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in downtown SJ”
Review of San Jose Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Jose Marriott
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in downtown SJ”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We only spent one night at the SJ Marriott, but will stay again the next time we are in the area. We were treated to a kind of suite - two very spacious, comfortable rooms that shared a foyer with a locked door - which was perfect for my wife and our two kids. The kids had a room with two queen beds and we had a king. Parking is a little expensive, but right next door (it seems this is predominately a convention hotel). There is also some street parking just a block away, but make sure you don't park in the permit-only spaces. The pool was indispensable on a 90 degree day (as was the whirlpool spa later in the evening). We didn't eat at the hotel as we used to live in SJ (15 years ago) and had to visit some old haunts (e.g., Aqui in downtown Willow Glen).

Room Tip: If you have a small group, ask for one of the two room suites with shared foyer.
See more room tips
Green Features: We learned that the power was off for a while and the hotel was running on generator power. I didn't know until i tried adjusting the A/C. Nice to know they can handle this situation!
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dan thank you for the great review. Next time you come back to visit we do hope you'll try Michael Mina's Arcadia, which was voted Best Steakhouse by Best of The Bay viewers in 2012. You will love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    354
    142
    55
    25
See reviews for
131
98
56
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emmett Idaho USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This beautiful property at Market and San Carlos was a bit tricky to access valet parking due to convention center construction. Great restaurant and pool. Great overall value with close access to downtown venues.

Green Features: They are very good about not using unnecessary plastic liners and coffee service was very updated. Water conservation was evident and not obtrusive
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Marilyn, thank you for your review, we appreciate the kind words. The good news is our incredible new convention center expansion opens in the beginning of September! We always pass on comments to the company that provides valet parking and they are focused on proper staffing to handle the ever changing levels of business. We hope you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The Marriott in downtown is nicely located - lots to do in the area and much of it within walking distance. Good amount of bars, both gay and straight, are just on the other side of the block. San Pedro Market Square is about a 10-15 minute walk .

The hotel itself is decently appointed, pretty clean and not bad if you're looking for a quick stay. There's a small pool and a gym area. I thought the nice thing about the pool facility was that it had handicap equipment. Service is pretty standard for a Marriott and there's a convenient bar attached to the property (although the drinks aren't the cheapest).

Downside of this hotel is that they nickel and dime you for everything. Parking is $29/day and in-room wi-fi requires a charge. I undertand the charge for parking but dose it have to be that much? And, since when does a hotel in Silicon Valley not have free wifi? Last I checked it was 2013.

Basically the only reason I stayed here was because I got a special wedding-guest rate. Unless you have to be in the immediate area, I'd first check out other properties.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Lawrence thank you for letting us know about your stay. Sorry to hear that the additional charges made your otherwise pleasant stay less that perfect. Unfortunately in a downtown environment parking is at a premium and ours is city owned and operated by an outside company. Our overnight charge is commensurate with our other competitors downtown. Marriott as a company is rolling out a new Wi-Fi structure where there will be a free option. We plan to have it by the end of the year. In addition, downtown San Jose just activated one of the largest Wi-Fi networks with the highest bandwidth of any city in the world. It is totally free, uninterrupted and without advertisements. I hope you'll try it on another visit to downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

I've been staying at the San Jose Marriott for the past 3 consecutive FanimeCons and I have to say - those poor elevators!

The hotel itself is directly adjacent to the McEnery Convention Center, which for congoers is an ideal, ideal location. However, it also works against it, as there are times when the wait for an elevator can take up to 15-20 minutes at any given time.

In spite of all of this, it's clean (although I did notice after the third day of my stay that the throw pillows on my bed were quite dirty and my sheets were torn), the front desk are friendly and Arcadia (their in-house restaurant) serves some fairly decent, albeit pricey fare.

All in all, not a bad place. Is it the best Marriott I've ever stayed at? Nope. Would I stay here again? Yep.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrotMiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
CarrotMiku, thank you for the honest and valuable feedback. We especially thank you for your sympathy for our hard working elevators. We are so proud to be a part of FanimeCon each year and unfortunately the building can only support the elevators we were constructed with. Please no all your comments have been followed up on by our operations team. We look forward to welcoming you back next year if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nor Cal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

While the hotel is in a good location for attending an event at the convention center, you can do much better at the Hilton the Fairmont hotel. I have stayed at both repeatedly and enjoyed my stay every time. While attending an event with my daughter (and staying at the Marriott), I called down to the front desk at 2am after hearing yelling in the hallways off and on for two hours. As there was a big convention, with many kids, this is to be somewhat expected. I was assured by the man on the phone that hotel security was going to each of the floors to monitor things. Ten minutes later, I get a knock on my door by a non employee who refused to identifiy himself. He stated loudly thought the door "do you want to make a noise complaint or not?" As a woman traveling alone with a child, I became fearful and called down to the front desk (I would not open my door at t
2am to ANYBODY). I was told that it the person knocking on my door was not an employee, rather he worked for the convention, and yet obviously the hotel had shared my information with him! I spent the rest of the night wide awake a nervous wreck. The desk clerk on the phone kept stating it was not the hotel's fault I leave it it you, dear reader, to decide. Next year you will find me at the Hilton or the Fairmont. Marriott, you are not a safe hotel for women traveling alone.

Room Tip: Choose the Fairmont or the Hilton instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
L W thank you for your posting. The convention in our hotel was also at the Hilton and the Fairmont. These large conventions with youthful attendees can cause issues as you have described. We have heard that some rowdy conventioneers were knocking on doors and saying similar words to other guests and we apologize for this situation and the fact that you were unable to enjoy a peaceful evening in your room. I would like to discuss this with you further at your convenience, please feel free to contact me at 408-278-4466.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This hotel was nicely decorated, clean, and the staff was very helpful in finding touristy things to do or printing out directions. We stayed here for an event and found that everything we needed was in walking distance. One day, we rented a car and took a drive up into the redwood forests and the same day, went to the beach! One nice surprise - the room service food was amazing! My daughter still talks about the steak and potatoes she ate there!

Room Tip: The views from the higher room are amazing of the mountains - the trade off is, the elevators are ve...
See more room tips
Green Features: Bring your own small bags - or be prepared to be charged per bag; even in the bakery!
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwriter2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
travelwriter2000 thank you for the great review. We are very proud of our room service. Our kitchen is the same for our award winning restaurant Arcadia-a Michael Mina Steakhouse. We feel it is important for all the food and beverage in the hotel to be as good as the restaurant. We hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The property is great and in a perfect location for us. The room was very nice but, unfortunately, lacked a refrigerator. Views were wonderful from the 15th floor and it was cool to watch planes come in for landing at San Jose Airport. Got an awesome rate for a Saturday night stay that included parking.

I booked a room about a week in advance for a Saturday night stay but needed a room for Friday night as well. I called the property directly and inquire a couple of times about room availability and it was finally suggested that I call Friday at 6-6:30PM for room availability. I called and explained the situation about three times to the lady on the phone before she finally "got it". They did have a room but the rate was triple the rate for Saturday so I declined a room for Friday night.

On Saturday morning I went to check in and was told that my reservation was for Friday and that I had already been charged for no show. I produced my confirmation number and email and showed her what I had reserved. She attempted to straighten it out but when I went to checkout still had two nights worth of charges on my bill which required a trip to the front desk to get it straightened out. It's a bit frustrating and I expect more at a Marriott property.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimAtKSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joelcosta67, Director of Sales at San Jose Marriott, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Jim, thank you for your review. We were sorry to hear that you were not able to get a refrigerator? We actually have some upon request. They are popular. We actually will be putting refrigerators in very room in our upcoming renovation next year. We were also sorry to hear about your frustrating reservation experience. Trust that it will be looked into and hopefully can provide a future learning for our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#9 of 75 in San Jose
637 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Jose Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jose Marriott

Property: San Jose Marriott
Address: 301 S Market St, San Jose, CA 95113-2832
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#3 Green Hotel in San Jose
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Jose Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Jose Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Marriott Hotel San Jose
Marriott San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing