We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Friendly Hotel”
Review of San Jose Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Jose Marriott
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin
Level Contributor
180 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Convenient Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Consistent with Marriott quality. Located and connected to Convention center in the heart of the downtown. Requested and got quiet room. Friendly staff, nice lobby, good restaurant (though, as in the case of most Marriott's, expensive), big screen LCD, and slide-out work table is nice. Parking is $25 a night, and internet is bundled with national long distance telephone at $12.95 a day. From SJC airport you can use #10 bus to the light rail ($1.75) which stops infront of convention center and hotel (Marriott and Hilton), about 40 minutes. Enterprise car rental is three blocks at Market and 1st. to get a much lower car rental rate than you would at SJC.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyguyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    346
    137
    53
    24
See reviews for
127
97
54
543
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2009

While I was a guest at the Marriott, I stayed out by the pool for too long. I went to the desk to inquire about the nearest drug store to get sunburn relief aids. The asst. Manager said that it was too far for me to walk in my condition (burned) and they would take care of it. Two hours later, the products I needed were in my room with a note stating that they were compliments of the hotel. Needless to say I was inpressed.
The rooms were great--lots of pillows and a downcomforter for a blanket. Everything was sparkling.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bamawj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

My family stayed here for two nights while attending a rock concert. The hotel loaction was great, walking distance to several restuarants and museums. The beach is also a short drive.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2009

My husband and I stayed here on Feb 20th - Feb 22nd. We were there to attend a concert at the HP Pavilion Center. It was so convenient for us because there was a light rail station across the street that we were able to take to the concert instead of driving and paying for parking and sitting in traffic. The staff helped us with that matter and was very polite and helpful throughout our stay. They have a little snack shop with Starbucks coffee, sandwiches, drinks, and magazine that we used a couple of times. The staff also recommended Original Joe's 1 block from the hotel for dinner. We had some good pasta along with excellent service there. There is a pool at the hotel but we didn't use it because it was too cold and the pool wasn't heated. We would definitely stay here again! We also got a great rate through Priceline!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenbennoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Attended the USYSA workshop. Convenient to the convention center. Staff friendly, rooms clean. Nice view from the 17th floor. Restaurant okay - thought breakfast buffet was overpriced for what you got. Of course when I got to breakfast fresh fruit was gone. Line was long to waiting to be seated in restaurant - the coffee was the worse I've ever tasted.

The coffee shop always had long lines in the morning really needed more staff to handle a large national workshop.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soccermommy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Stayed one night in Downtown San Jose at the Marriott. Hotel is adjacent to the convention center which was a huge plus. Décor in the halls seemed a bit outdated, but clean overall.
The rooms were a good size and very clean. Good size bathroom and lots of towels had a flat screen TV which was a nice feature. Nice view from the 17th floor. The only drawback was the bed. While it has lots of pillows, it only had 1 sheet and a comforter. We got cold at night and could not find a blanket. Linens although clean it felt like they used some sort of starch or soap that left my skin dry and itchy.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

I usually enjoy staying at older, classic-type hotels so the first time I had to go to San Jose on business I booked at the Sainte Claire (then a Hyatt) across the street. The room was so awful - dark, cramped, and difficult to work in - that after the first night I walked over to see if the Marriott could accommodate me. They could, I spent the rest of that stay there, and have never looked back. I've stayed at the San Jose Marriott maybe 8-10 times since then - probably 20-30 nights altogether - and have always been very pleased.

The rooms are spacious, well-lit and comfortable. The desk setup is ideal for working, with a pull-out table on wheels to spread papers out on. I don't like wireless internet normally, both for constancy and security of connection, and here buying a cabled internet connection (at a reasonable price compared to many top hotels, $10-$13 or so) also gets you unlimited free local and long distance telephone, which is great instead of having to use a cellphone.

The front desk staff is friendly, the valets are courteous and quick, the parking rates are reasonable especially for unlimited in and out, and the whole experience is always very pleasant. The hotel restaurant is very good, though expensive, and within a 5-10 minute walk there are plenty of good restaurants as well. The streetcar stops 1/2 block away in front of the convention center and is a good alternative to driving or taxis.

Where the hotel could perhaps improve a bit is in the secondary restaurant, which is a step below a coffee shop, and in the gift shop which could have a better selection of sundries and better hours. But those are minor problems. This hotel overall gives excellent service and value.

  • Liked — Business-friendly, good location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiburon60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
2,125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
6.0 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Jose Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jose Marriott

Property: San Jose Marriott
Address: 301 S Market St, San Jose, CA 95113-2832
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#3 Green Hotel in San Jose
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Jose Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your San Jose Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Marriott Hotel San Jose
Marriott San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing