We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, service could be better”
Review of San Jose Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Jose Marriott
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pretty good, service could be better”
Reviewed 3 February 2011

The hotel is in great shape and the rooms/bathroom are comfortable. Service was OK but not great. Arriving at the hotel late in the evening, there was no one at the reception desk and no one around so had to way a few minutes until I started to call loudly for the receptionist to come and check me in. Breakfast buffet was OK but once again I felt the staff waiting on the tables did not pay much attention.
Nothing terrible really, just would have expected a little better in terms of service based on the hotel price range.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corsica71181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    354
    142
    55
    25
See reviews for
131
98
56
553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
244 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Took my son on a quick overnight, and although I am a Hilton Diamond member, the rate here was too good to pass up: I am very glad I had the opportunity to sample this property. The entrance is elegant, clean, pleasant, and well laid-out.
My six year old was presented with a Sponge Bob backpack full of books and games. Our stay was brief, but every person we encountered was pleasant and helpful.
Two thumbs WAY up.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boeing767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2011

This is a fantastically run full service Marriott in Downtown San Jose, CA. I stay often as a corporate pilot reporting to and between trips. The staff is superbly trained, attentive, and consistent, always know your name. Nice open business center in the large flowing lobby - is well equipped and free for guests for a initial period of time. Fun bar and restaurant, well run and friendly concierge lounge. Step right out front door for nice eclectic downtown area.Front desk handles reservation needs, problems and adjustments over phone or on site with ease and aplomb.Managing staff often in lobby- a sure sign of professional hospitality.Guest laundry center next to nice fitness center is convenient and has free soap dispensers! Always feel I'm "home away from home" at the San Jose Downtown Marriott!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegasus11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skillman, New Jersey, USA
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2011

The San Jose Marriott makes my business travel easier, more enjoyable, and more fun. They have a great staff, and make it easier from check in to check out. From pull up to valet, to check in, to the concierge lounge, the hotel is kind, courteous, and available to help make my stay more productive and enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbarrett-gms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2011

My travels frequently take me to San Jose, CA for business. I have stayed at the few high end hotels, such as, The Fairmont and The St. Claire, but only one stands out on every possible level. That hotel is the San Jose Marriott!
The rooms are incredibly upscale, functional, clean and large. The restaurant Arcadia is the best there is in San Jose, their little lounge called Tanq is great with affordable and 5 star food, drinks and snacks. Everything about this place is "the best there is"!
But, the most impressive thing about this hotel is their staff! They literally adopt you into their world! You become part of their family, and, they stop at nothing to make sure you feel at home. Everyone, from GM to porters greet you by name! Amazing.
I am Platinum with Marriott, so I stay at a lot of their properties. This is the best in the entire chain! 5 STAR!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich33198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2011

My friend and I spent several nights at the San Jose Marriott around Christmas. We loved the location right by Christmas in the park and near everything downtown. We actually live locally, but like to get away for a 'local vacation' a couple of times a year. We came in late and a very cute black guy at the front desk checked us in. It was pretty late but the bellhop was right there to help us with our bags. The room was great and had an awesome view of downtown. We ate in Arcadia during our stay and that was fantastic too, but to be honest it is already one of our favorite restaurants downtown. Great job Marriott!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jameslovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2011

I truly enjoyed my recent stay at the San Jose Marriott. The valet attendants were very welcoming and greeted me right when I pulled in to the entry. The Front Desk Agent, I believe her name was Ann, was very helpful and gave me some great suggestions for local restaurants and sightseeing. Christmas in the Park was awesome!!! My room was spotlessly clean. I ordered Room Service the first night and the food was well prepared and the service was excellent. Overall, it was a great stay and I look forward to my next stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hart101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#8 of 75 in San Jose
638 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Jose Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Jose Marriott

Property: San Jose Marriott
Address: 301 S Market St, San Jose, CA 95113-2832
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#3 Green Hotel in San Jose
#4 Business Hotel in San Jose
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#11 Family Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Jose Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Jose Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Marriott Hotel San Jose
Marriott San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing