We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn, what a pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
Ranked #13 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Everything was top notch!!! Enjoyed the room and especially the complimentary breakfast. The hotel was very centrally located and served my purposes. Everything was just a few exits away from the main freeway.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 428 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

The property itself is fairly new and in good shape. The problem is that when it was built the plumbing was somehow installed poorly. When any of the neighboring rooms runs water, takes a shower, or flushes a toilet it will sound like a 747 plane is taking off in your room. It is very loud!!!!! (the hotel knows this because it is the ONLY Hampton where I have stayed where they provide ear plugs in the room) Housekeeping is dismal, sometimes the trash is emptied sometimes not. The same goes with vacuuming the floor. The one thing housekeeping is good at is making a lot of noise in the morning! Breakfast is ok but you will have to fight all the employees eating to get any food. Customer service was marginal. I definitely would NOT stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksiddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This hotel is very close to shopping, restaurants and it is only 10 minutes away from the downtown convention center. The rooms are immaculate and the beds were so comfortable. I just past out and woke up feeling great. The lobby was beautiful, the service was great and the complimentary breakfast was good to. Oh by the way, the coffee was excellent. I loved the dark roast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Great value for your money. Staff are very friendly and are always willing to help. Rooms are nicely furnished, you can see the pride in ownership - property is well maintained. Breakfast has a great variety of choices. Nite time managers snacks are very good and great variety. Loved it and will definitely recommend it and will stay there soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Belinda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The room we received was excellent. Clean and well furnished. Internet services worked flawless. Some negatives we have is that the welcoming as a Diamond/Elite Hilton Honors member is not good. The refilling of the food trays during breakfast appeared somewhat reluctant. We came down by 8:30 and scraping the bottom of the fruit bowl, scrambled eggs and potatoes. These "left overs" do not taste the best. We looked and waited for someone to see if they were working on a new batch but none. Eventually after waiting 20 minutes with a coffee and some fruit I noticed that they were working in the kitchen to make a new batch. Really late for a refill. They refilled the trays twice. Fruit appears to be refilled only once and then it was finished. They run out of napkins also. All in all a good Hotel but personnel may need some extra training and maybe some better management of the breakfast service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Anton N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The rooms are very large including a sofa. There is a manager's reception from 5:30-7:30pm Mon - Thurs. It had a few types of appetizers, tossed salad with free beer and wine.

The location is very industrial rather than business travelers. As you can see from the photo the service is very slow.

The price was very good compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllSeven7Continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I was unable to book a hotel close to where I was working because they were full so took a chance with the Hampton Inn San Jose. When I drove up I was a little surprised by the location. It is next to an industrial area. But the hotel was really nice. Staff wad helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean, quiet and nice sized. There was plenty of parking. They have a nice breakfast and evening reception. The hotel is close to a large shopping area with many restaurants. There is easy access to the main highways. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.4 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,459 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,291 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#11 of 75 in San Jose
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
6.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose

Address: 55 Old Tully Rd, San Jose, CA 95111-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Jose
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £108 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in San Jose where you can relax and unwind, you've come to the right place: the Hampton Inn & Suites® - San Jose, CA. We're conveniently located less than 5 miles from downtown San Jose, the SJ Convention Center and (SJC)San Jose Airport. Plus, we're close to great local attractions like Great America amusement park, Raging Waters Waterpark, the Winchester Mystery House, and Santana Row Shopping District. You'll find it all just minutes from our comfortable San Jose hotel... Stop by and see what we have to offer! We love having you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing