We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy and nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Noisy and nowhere”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed here recently and it will be my last time. I am a Hilton Hhonors member and look for their hotels as I am generally pleased. The good news is room was large. Very plain but plenty of room. The room was reasonably clean and check in folks were nice. The bad news is the NOISE! I was on bottom floor and it sounded like a horse was in the room above me. Also, if somebody walked down the hall and coughed I could hear them like they were in the room. The hotel location is in the middle of nowhere. I was surprised a hotel was even on the road when the GPS said turn right!
The price was also huge for the quality........over $170/night. I won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor will be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenwayboy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    152
    71
    35
    12
See reviews for
163
64
31
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Very convenient. Great staff. Very quiet. I've stayed here several times and have always enjoyed it. It's walking distance to nice restaurants, shopping and easy to get back on the highway. The reception at 5:30 was well attended and well done.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This was a very nice Hampton Inn in a non-typical location. Prices near ny office in Santa Clara were ridiculous this week; hence I wound up in the South part of San Jose. Would I stay here again? Yeah - if I needed a good deal outside of Silicon Valley.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on a business trip. Hotel is close by to a shopping center where I was able to pick up a nice take out dinner. Hotel lobby is very clean with upscale furnishings. The lady behind the desk was very nice and helpfull. The room was very nice for the price I paid and a very good value for the money. Very clean, quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The in room internet worked great. I will stay here again next time I am in San Jose.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank molly1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Seriously this hotel is in a really bad part of San Jose. The room was nice but weird (really high ceilings so it was loud, closet door hanging in a nook, no wall decorations). The breakfast did have a good variety but the hot food was cold. Plumbing was really noisy in adjoining room. Now we know why there were ear plugs (no kidding) provided. I reserved the room through Tripadvisor link and when I arrived the front desk said "I don't know why they let you reserve that room as it's not available". The front desk personnel were cold and uninviting.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahului, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My family and I loved this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great, many choices and the coffee was always readily available (Which I personally loved). The beds were very comfortable and room was meticulously clean. I would recomend this hotel to familys as well as business travelers. There is a nice shopping center nearby with a Target and several restaurants. Will stay with you again when we return to San Jose in the Future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckailiponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The room was very nice for a great price. I asked for extra pillows and got them without any fuss. I would go back any time. The staff was friendly. There was a power (possibly scheduled) outage just before I got there it only effected me because the front door did not automatically open.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.4 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#4 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
6.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
2.6 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#9 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport-Silicon Valley
9.5 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
2.7 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
Address: 55 Old Tully Rd, San Jose, CA 95111-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Jose
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in San Jose where you can relax and unwind, you've come to the right place: the Hampton Inn & Suites® - San Jose, CA. We're conveniently located less than 5 miles from downtown San Jose, the SJ Convention Center and (SJC)San Jose Airport. Plus, we're close to great local attractions like Great America amusement park, Raging Waters Waterpark, the Winchester Mystery House, and Santana Row Shopping District. You'll find it all just minutes from our comfortable San Jose hotel... Stop by and see what we have to offer! We love having you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing