We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean quiet but not so comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is my second time staying at this hotel on business. Staff is friendly and attentive except they are so busy as to be not at the desk all the time. The neighborhood is sketchy as homeless wander the street out front. The business next door is construction and looks like a junkyard with noise. Rooms are large, spacious and hotel is fresh and clean. I give Kudos to the ladies cleaning the rooms and hallways. Desk was so small as to do much work is not comfortable, not what I am used to.
They have a nice little happy hour upstairs in the hottest mezzanine room imaginable, but the drinks were great, food a little dry and tasteless even as this was at the beginning.
Typical breakfast for a Hampton Inn was a poor egg product they want other to see as scrambled eggs. The potatoes and meats were of better cooked consistency of what I call institutional microwave meals for masses. This is not to degrade all the other packaged breakfast items. At least this place have better fresh cut up fruits and not out of a can like other Hampton properties. It was also way overpriced, but this is the Silicon Valley and let the buyer beware. Of extra high taxes and Convention Center fees which is only a few miles away.

Room Tip: There is no room service so this can be misleading. I felt uncomfortable about my car in the parking...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WmDCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Walls are very thin and the noise from the neighboring rooms is very noticeable. They set out ear plugs but I don't consider that a bonus in a hotel, since you shouldn't need them. On the plus side, room was very spacious and clean.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank sjdinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Recently stayed at 2 Hampton Inns, here and Daly City. Haven't been in a Hampton Inn in probably 20 years. I had to make reservations at last minute and not much to choose from. Not looking forward to staying at a Hampton Inn--they were not very good years ago. These 2 hotels, if they are representative of others around the country, are right up there with the newer Mariotts I often use. Great front desk, clean rooms, nice lobby, free breakfast (adequate but something Mariott doesn't offer) and free internet. Will be giving Hampton Inn a second, or maybe even first look, in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeSimone53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed here recently and it will be my last time. I am a Hilton Hhonors member and look for their hotels as I am generally pleased. The good news is room was large. Very plain but plenty of room. The room was reasonably clean and check in folks were nice. The bad news is the NOISE! I was on bottom floor and it sounded like a horse was in the room above me. Also, if somebody walked down the hall and coughed I could hear them like they were in the room. The hotel location is in the middle of nowhere. I was surprised a hotel was even on the road when the GPS said turn right!
The price was also huge for the quality........over $170/night. I won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor will be less noisy
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenwayboy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Very convenient. Great staff. Very quiet. I've stayed here several times and have always enjoyed it. It's walking distance to nice restaurants, shopping and easy to get back on the highway. The reception at 5:30 was well attended and well done.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This was a very nice Hampton Inn in a non-typical location. Prices near ny office in Santa Clara were ridiculous this week; hence I wound up in the South part of San Jose. Would I stay here again? Yeah - if I needed a good deal outside of Silicon Valley.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed for one night on a business trip. Hotel is close by to a shopping center where I was able to pick up a nice take out dinner. Hotel lobby is very clean with upscale furnishings. The lady behind the desk was very nice and helpfull. The room was very nice for the price I paid and a very good value for the money. Very clean, quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The in room internet worked great. I will stay here again next time I am in San Jose.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank molly1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.4 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,411 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
2,258 reviews
2.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,173 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
9.5 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose

Address: 55 Old Tully Rd, San Jose, CA 95111-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Jose
#7 Business Hotel in San Jose
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £104 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in San Jose where you can relax and unwind, you've come to the right place: the Hampton Inn & Suites® - San Jose, CA. We're conveniently located less than 5 miles from downtown San Jose, the SJ Convention Center and (SJC)San Jose Airport. Plus, we're close to great local attractions like Great America amusement park, Raging Waters Waterpark, the Winchester Mystery House, and Santana Row Shopping District. You'll find it all just minutes from our comfortable San Jose hotel... Stop by and see what we have to offer! We love having you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites San Jose Hotel San Jose
Hampton Inn San Jose
San Jose Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing