We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel for a short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
switzerland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

The staff is very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and we get was we booked. The breakfast was standard for best western hotels, but totally ok. I can recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: book a room in the upper floor and make sure your room is in the back and not on the side of the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eathealthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilip H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Hope to see you again when you are in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    70
    43
    12
    6
See reviews for
60
30
10
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here because of its location. Staff seemed a little peroccupied with private phone calls to promptly assist their guests. Breakfast was not fully stocked, many things were gone when we arrived for breakfast. The coffee was nearly empty, and that early in the morning. The good...pool area was clean and nice. The rooms were small, but fine for sleeping. No fault of the hotel, but the road construction made it harder to get into the parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ganderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for the feedback. This will help us better train our staff, to be more attentive to guest needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Our families booked 5 rooms in mid-June for a funeral of an immediete family. Some of us were staying here for a week before the actual funeral.

The night before the actual funeral, the relative tried to enter the room, but it was occupied by another guest! We asked where our belongings are, and they said that they entered an empty room.

Long behold,. the hotel gathered our personal belongings without our permission and put it on a rolling rack. Even an undergarmet was hanging off the rail. Belongings was shoved in a boxes. Old clothes was combined with new clothes (even outfit to the funeral) This MOtel have no compassion or customer service.

When talking to the Service Desk Manager (Tuan), he did not admit his faults, blamed us for the mishap, didn't want to comp us, or even try to make things right. He was able to comp us (20%) which was still 98.00 a night, which is over-priced for this place. In addition, alarm clocks and fridges did not work in our other rooms.


I don't reccomend this hotel even with Free wifi and breakfast because they will treat you like trash(literally). - Pictures to prove.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel. You will be extemely sorry. I would reccomend any other otels other than Bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diana n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilip H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
There was a misunderstanding on their reservations. I apologized and mentioned that this normally does not occur. Their belongings were stored in a secure location. For better guest relations, the guest was given two complimentary rooms for two nights for a total of four free nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

So unhappy when we first got there. They were paving the parking lot, so there were only 7 spots to park. The road access to the hotel was busy it took 10 minutes till we could even pull in. The stores near by looked dirty and shady. When we got inside the front desk guy looked like he was playing on the computer. When we got to our room there was human hair all over the bed, the menus were sticky and the bath room made me feel uncompterable. At 4am the people next door were so load we couldnt sleep. I will never be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed here 2 nights this past weekend. As BW Platinum members, we were upgraded to a whirlpool suite-nice touch as there is no jacuzzi on the premises(nor exercise room).
Staff at check in and out was friendly and thorough.
Our suite was fine-a bit dated, but met our needs. We wanted a few extra towels for the jacuzzi, but had to give two used towels back to them in advance. I would think in a jacuzzi suite, a few more towels would be left for its use. One irritation we encountered was the fact that there is only one ice machine in the hotel(down off the lobby) which makes for a pain in you are on the second floor at the other end of the building(we were, of course).
the breakfast was adequate-nothing great-hours could be better(bit later) especially on weekends(6:30-9:30).
We didn't encounter any noise inside or outside of hotel and we did stay on the street side. That wasn't a problem. What was is, as stated before, is how to get into the hotel parking lot. if you miss lanai, you will either head onto 101 N or onto overpass continuing on Tully. There is no easy way back as this area seems to be in perpetual construction. it will take at least 20 minutes to return to the hotel-lots of traffic.
We would stay again if we got upgraded but would also look for hotels closer to downtown and SJSU( 4 miles away)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We had a king reserved for $89, but when we arrived at 10 am our room wasn't ready--no surprise--and we were offered a mini-suite for $99. It was a small bedroom with a king size bed, and an adjacent area, set off by a divider, with a sofa-bed and a writing table. All very comfortable.

The wi-fi worked well, and there was an unheated pool that we didn't use in January. The continental breakfast included juices, apples, bananas, coffee, decaf, breads and sweet rolls, waffle batter and waffle iron, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and dry cereal with skim milk and 2%. Not fancy but something healthy for any diet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobFromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

This was an unintended stop as we were meant to be heading straight through to Monterey but were just too tired.
We figured that a Best Western would be a pretty safe bet, unloaded the car and walked straight in. The receptionist was obviously ill and just didn't want to be there. We wanted a non smoking basic room but were told all they had to offer was $150 with tax king size suite. We were a bit annoyed as we really didn't want to spend that much and when we walked in, it was ridiculously big.
The room looked clean, bed was huge but very comfy, basic shower and bath. I did get a fright when I spotted a cockroach watching me in the bathroom..
Breakfast was the usual fare, got us through the day.
I wouldn't actively seek to spend the night here, it's ok for 1 night but never would I spend a vacation here. We eventually moved onto Santa Cruz and got a much better room at a Best Western for $50 cheaper so in no way do I think this place is good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindseyr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
3.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
5.9 mi away
The Row Hotel
The Row Hotel
#31 of 75 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
Address: 1575 Tully Rd, San Jose, CA 95122-2459
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Northern California from this comfortable and convenient San Jose hotel, located just minutes from popular attractions like HP Pavilion and the Winchester Mystery House.Located just off Highway 101, the BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites makes it easy to explore the bustling city of San Jose and surrounding areas. Cheer on the San Jose Sharks at the nearby HP Pavilion or enjoy the oddities of the world-famous Winchester Mystery House. Families staying at this Northern California hotel can get their thrills at Raging Waters Water Park or California's Great America Amusement Park, or make a day of visiting San Francisco's Golden Gate Bridge, Ghirardelli Square and Fisherman's Wharf. There are also an abundance of dining and shopping options, like the East Ridge Mall, within minutes of the property. Also known as the Capitol of Silicon Valley, San Jose is home to many tech and manufacturing giants, including IBM, Google, Facebook, Cisco, GE, NASA and Ericsson, Inc. Our business guests appreciate the close proximity to these and other area attractions, like San Jose State University, the San Jose McEnery Convention Center and the San Jose Fairgrounds. Just eight miles from the San Jose International Airport, it's easy to come and go from this San Jose hotel. The BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites offers the friendly customer service and comfortable accommodations guests have come to expect from Best Western. This San Jose hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each complete with cable satellite television with HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full breakfast featuring fresh Belgian waffles, before enjoying an array of amenities such as an outdoor swimming pool and a business center.The BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in San Jose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lanai Garden Hotel San Jose
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing