We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice place to rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
Ranked #26 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The hotel was very clean and the room attendents was very through in cleaning everyday. The breakfast was good. They did fail to tell you that the pool is closed for the season. But everything else was very nice. They are close to the on and off of the freeway 101.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Anita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanaigm, Manager at Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. Apologies for not informing about pool closure in winter. Hope to see you again when you visit this area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

After a very friendly welcome from the young lady on the desk, not overwhelmed by the room. I am not a fan of dispensers for soap, etc in the sink and shower. Having self-closing doors to the bathroom was such a nuisance I ended up using a hand towel as a door-stop. Love the ne BW "Clean Remote" for the tv but don't like only having "paper cups" for coffee and Motel 6 style plastic glasses....for over $100 I expect more.
As it was a Friday, had a terrible time finding a restaurant. After trying 4 locals...ended up across the street at Denny's....do yourself a favour and sure the "room service" menu from a local pizza place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanaigm, Manager at Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

thank you for taking the time to write a response about your recent stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel and staff were very pleasant. Lanai Garden Inn & Suites is misleading but I chose the property based on its proximity and listing on one of SJSU's sites. I would have been okay without manicured grounds on the property but the surrounding neighborhood left us somewhat uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Denis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanaigm, Manager at Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

We thank you for writing a review. Unfortunately the neighborhood has evolved since the hotel was built.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Hotel is clean and staff is friendly. Easy access to 101. High speed internet is best I've ever seen in any hotel, 30 MB/sec. Coffee machine in lobby is great. Traffic noise on south side of the building.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanaigm, Manager at Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. Hope you stay with us when visiting this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The hotel was just average. The room was clean, the mattress was very firm, the bathroom was average. In taking a shower, they DO need to put in bathtub mats, as it is very slippery when you get in.

The location of the hotel, and its drive-up, cannot get any more awkward. It's not at all typical of any hotel, as you have to enter through the driveway entrance of a retail mattress store and then pass the mattress store's parking lot to get to the hotel. (For that reason, Best Western must have been able to negotiate a favorable price on its property when it was purchased.)

The desk employee warmly welcomed us and they had complimentary chocolate chip cookies for arriving guests (the cooookies were warm, fresh, and delicious....made me want to pull up a chair right there at the desk and seek out a tall, cold glass of milk!). Ohhhh yeah! They "got MY number!"

They will tell you that they offer a complimentary continental breakfast. Well, the staff does not know the meaning of "continental." NO WAY!! (By doing so, they are really under-selling this very good FREE offer!). The breakfast is a full-on hot breakfast with scrambled eggs, potatoes, pancakes, croissants, toast, hot & cold cereal, coffee, orange juice, and hot chocolate. My wife and I are not foodies, but this breakfast was good from the perspective that it was complimentary.

Considering the relatively high hotel rates in the San Jose area (for some entirely unknown reason!), this hotel rates were, I guess, "reasonable."

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank ArneL534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanaigm, Manager at Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We value all guest comments and concerns.This helps improve our product and service.Hope to see you again when visiting this ares.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Good hotel for the price, great location right off the freeway 101 heading north into San Jose. Great staff, clean rooms. I just wish they'd extend breakfast hours pass 9:30AM..we were exhausted and waking up before 9:30AM wasn't an option...at least push back to 10:30AM!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Angel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanaigm, General Manager at Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for the suggestion about extending breakfast hours. We will try our best to implement this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Of the times I've been to San Jose I always stayed in the downtown area. This visit was staying outside of the downtown area at this hotel and it was a great experience. This is a Best Western Plus hotel which means it offers upgraded accommodations. The suite rooms are large. We had two types of rooms because of the large party we were in. The mini suite was slightly smaller but still comfy and the regular suite had ample space inside.

The decor at this hotel has been updated, the carpets were very clean and the room smelled very fresh. The bed sheets were crisp and clean. We were excited to get the first floor since we were traveling with a senior with mobility limitations. This hotel also had several handicap parking spaces which in some places there are only one or two and I saw three or four spaces at this location.

This hotel serves breakfast in the morning and it is good. If you are traveling on a budget the breakfast is satisfying. They had juice, coffee, milk, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, toast, pastries, potatoes, eggs, sausage, and pancakes. We ate there and left full till lunch time.

In terms of its location. It is off the 101 and it's about 12 to 15 minutes away from the San Jose airport. You can't hear the planes flying over because it's not under their flight pattern so that's a plus. From San Jose State it's only 10 minutes away by freeway and 15 minutes by streets. There is a nice clean Denny's across the street which is nice if you want lunch or dinner within walking distance. Last thing, be prepared to turn left on the signal at Tully Rd because there is no driveway entrance if you make a u turn. You have to enter off the side by a sleep train mattress store.

Overall, a great hotel at a great price. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onedeesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanaigm, Manager at Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a detailed review for our property. Hope you will stay with us when visiting this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
5.7 mi away
Best Western Airport Plaza
Best Western Airport Plaza
#12 of 75 in San Jose
306 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Jose
0.2 mi away
Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
2.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
#48 of 75 in San Jose
94 reviews
7.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites

Address: 1575 Tully Road, San Jose, CA 95122-2459
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £105 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Northern California from this comfortable and convenient San Jose hotel, located just minutes from popular attractions like HP Pavilion and the Winchester Mystery House.Located just off Highway 101, the BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites makes it easy to explore the bustling city of San Jose and surrounding areas. Cheer on the San Jose Sharks at the nearby HP Pavilion or enjoy the oddities of the world-famous Winchester Mystery House. Families staying at this Northern California hotel can get their thrills at Raging Waters Water Park or California's Great America Amusement Park, or make a day of visiting San Francisco's Golden Gate Bridge, Ghirardelli Square and Fisherman's Wharf. There are also an abundance of dining and shopping options, like the East Ridge Mall, within minutes of the property. Also known as the Capitol of Silicon Valley, San Jose is home to many tech and manufacturing giants, including IBM, Google, Facebook, Cisco, GE, NASA and Ericsson, Inc. Our business guests appreciate the close proximity to these and other area attractions, like San Jose State University, the San Jose McEnery Convention Center and the San Jose Fairgrounds. Just eight miles from the San Jose International Airport, it's easy to come and go from this San Jose hotel. The BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites offers the friendly customer service and comfortable accommodations guests have come to expect from Best Western. This San Jose hotel offers well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each complete with cable satellite television with HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will wake each morning to a complimentary full breakfast featuring fresh Belgian waffles, before enjoying an array of amenities such as an outdoor swimming pool and a business center.The BEST WESTERN Lanai Garden Inn & Suites is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in San Jose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lanai Garden Hotel San Jose
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing