We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Airport
Ranked #50 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
New England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK, not great”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The reviews here led me to expect better than my actual experience. It was OK, and I'd stay again in a pinch, but I would try to find something else first.

The good parts very friendly and helpful service, and most of the hotel in very good shape, seeming pretty new. And the location is great – very close to the airport, very close to a light rail stop, and reasonably close to downtown, etc.

On the other hand, the in-room coffee was perhaps the worst I have ever tasted, and the room looked as if the edges and corners of the rug had never really been vacuumed well.

I was pleased to read that they offered breakfast to go if you were leaving before breakfast was served, but since I was also leaving before I was fully awake, I forgot to ask for it, and wasn't offered.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuctrohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    67
    35
    18
    20
See reviews for
44
48
19
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised at the service and comfort of this place. it was close to the airport, had a quick and courteous airport shuttle service, and was right next door to Denny's! LOL Hey, I arrived hungry, so that was a godsend.

Oh, and the comp breakfast the next morning was yummy! All the staff were nice and friendly, and the rooms are comfy.

Room Tip: Next to elevator or main stairwell. That'll put you closer to breakfast in the morning and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level Contributor
279 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Location is very good. Our flight came in late so we needed an overnight stay before driving out to Carmel the following day. The hotel has a airport "shuttle" service but because we were late, they arranged a cab to pick us up - it was perfect. Check in was satisfying; staff are friendly. Room was clean; has a small refrig and microwave. Within walking distance is a 7-11 and a Denny's next door. Free breakfast included items such as make-your-own waffles, fruits, cereals, eggs, sausages, juices, coffee, yogurt - pretty good breakfast to wake-up to. We did not use the internet, workout room or self serve laundry area. There is also one computer/printer in the lobby. Our one night stay with tax was about $120. It was well worth the convenience and comfort. We look forward to another stay while in San Jose.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiAndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We were spending the night in San Jose on our way to Maui and on the return trip. We needed 2 rooms and my request to have them close was handled exceptionally. We had adjoining rooms on both stays. The airport shuttle was very good. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast room is clean and a good variety of breakfast items were available. It is located very close to the light rail for those who want to venture or have business downtown. It suited our needs very well. My only concern for someone who may be traveling on business is that the internet service wasn't very reliable.
I would stay here again. Also the bed pillows were an odd shape, more square like a sofa pillow and were a little firm for my taste.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Picked up at airport on time and found the front desk helpful and effiecent. Room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was also clean well stocked with fresh towels. Our breakfast was more than expected but front desk also had a breakfast-on-the-go bag for those with no time to sit and eat. The shuttle back to the airport was quick and courteous. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank punau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Just Outside Nashvegas, TN
Level Contributor
145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here two separate nights when flying out to Hawaii. It is a 5 minute drive to the airport. The shuttle provided by the hotel is very convenient. If the shuttle is not running they will use a free cab service to take/ pick you up.
The free breakfast is a good option. The waffles are always my go to.
I would defintally stay here again. Just know there are not many walkable options for food in this a area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ROLLTIDE8401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had a short stay 2 days . We got off to a horrible start. Called the hotel for a shuttle from the airport , waited 35-40 minutes for a small cab. We were not happy!
However, upon arrival the staff at the hotel was very professional and helpful. Our room accommodations were good, clean, and free of perfumed odor. The area around the area of 1st St. is not the greatest, but we encountered no problems in our short stay and didn't feel unsafe.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor and was fine. No noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#35 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriot San Jose Airport
0.0 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose - Silicon Valley
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
Courtyard San Jose Airport
#14 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Airport

Property: Comfort Suites Airport
Address: 1510 N 1st St, San Jose, CA 95112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Airport Hotel San Jose
Comfort Suites San Jose
San Jose Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing