We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a week during our vacation last month and it was amazing. The rooms are large and beautifully furnished. The room has a mini bar and you can rearrange the stuff inside to store some food or leftovers. We requested a microwave and got it too. The complimentary breakfast was very good and the staff are very friendly. We were asked if we wanted a room with a view or a quiet room. We went for the view but still it was quiet. I would suggest that you get a room in the 6th or 7th floor. The V bar gets noisy during the night and could be disturbing if you are in the lower floors.They also have a nice gym and pool. But above all, is the location of the hotel. The hotel is right in the middle of Santana Row full of high end shops and awesome restaurants. Also the Westfield mall is just a short walk from the hotel. The hotel offers complimentary self parking in a parking lot across the street. Try Kara's cupcakes and the french pastry shop near the hotel! There is a little play area for the little ones behind the hotel (near Maggiano's). I would definitely stay here again if I get the chance!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the higher floors!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ssk1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We delighted that you enjoyed Hotel Valencia and Santana Row and definitely hope that you will have another opportunity to stay with us!

Bonnie Best
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a great boutique hotel! The rooms are contemporary and large. The bathroom is a little small, but extremely nice and clean. The bed and furnishings are wonderful! I have stayed in several hotels in the area in the last few years and this is diffinetely the best! Santan Row is very lively and happening! This is not a hotel if you want a quiet and serene stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are noisy at night.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback of Hotel Valencia. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Should you need any assistance for a future visit, please let me know.

Bonnie Best
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My last boutique hotel stay in San Fran wasn't the best experience so I went into this one with a slighted opinion. I was surprised at the friendly service and quality hotel this has turned out to be. I had a room on the 7th floor and also enrolled in the "VIP" service. Its free and I always do with hotels. I believe it got me an upgraded room.

The service staff was friendly, and had me checked in right away. The overall impression of the hotel was clean, a bit upscale and in a great location on Santana Row.

The pool area was a great place to get some work done by the sun. The lounger chairs were clean, well kept and comfortable.

Lots of good places to eat in the area which makes this a great business hotel.

Would stay here again for sure.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank ShaunEdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of Hotel Valencia. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay.

Please let me know if I may assist you in any way on future visit.

Bonnie Best
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel easter weekend and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is just beautiful. we had a king room with a balcony, which I highly recommend. The room was spacious and the bed amazing. We had enough room to set up an air bed for our 2 year old. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast which was great. They had a wide selection of breakfast items, such as eggs, pancakes, oatmeal, cereals etc. The location can't get any better. We were able to walk outside and be in the heart of shopping, dinning and all the amenities. There is a valet parking at the hotel for $24, but we ended up parking at the parking lot across the street which offers complimentary self parking for hotel guests. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paris_ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of our hotel from your recent visit. I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and Santana Row. We hope you will stay with us again on a future visit. Please feel free to contact me if I may assist in any way.

Sincerely,

Bonnie Best
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I booked a two night weekend stay at Hotel Valencia with great anticipation for a fantastic weekend. Sometimes reality is a very disappointing entrée. I’ve been a Los Angeles based visitor to the Bay Area for ten years and have always been very excited to try Hotel Valencia but never had the chance until April 2012. The location was obviously perfect for San Jose – smack in the middle of Santana Row amid a beautiful, walkable mall with plenty of shopping, dining and nightlife. It’s also across the street from the area’s biggest and most luxurious mall – Valley Fair. What could go wrong? Well, the hotel is a poorly executed, cheap “W” Hotel wannabe without service, luxury, or design. Let me start by stating that the service was perfectly adequate. All of the staff I encountered were polite and helpful so my review is not based on a poor customer service experience. That said, the personal attention that I’ve come to expect at higher end hotels was not on display either which is probably reflective of a lower staff to guest ratio. The real problem with Hotel Valencia is the décor. The interior is as dark as a dungeon. Dark can be hip. But in this case its uninviting, uninspiring, and cheap looking. The carpet in the halls is worn and the lighting is all encapsulated behind perforated metal so that the lights cast shadows on the walls of the hallways. I’m a sucker for creative inexpensive design solutions and this is one that went horribly awry. But the lousy design doesn’t stop there. The hotel room itself is average in size and furnished with cheap (again) oversized furniture that has a major lack of functionality and decorative appeal. The first example is the bed which features a wooden frame that’s substantially larger than the mattress and provides a very hard object perfect for stubbing toes and bumping shins. The room also featured a ginormous glass vase filled with sticks…a decoration better suited to a huge lobby table…but stuffed into the corner of my hotel room taking up a ton of room and looking outdated and dusty (gross). Finally the windows featured black shutters which prevented any natural light from entering the room. Overall the room was what I would describe as a very modest upgrade from a run-of-the mill Hampton Inn. In fact, a few days later I visited some family staying at a new Courtyard Marriott in the Sacramento area and I was substantially more impressed with the décor in their lobby and room. Hotel Valencia has a lot of potential and a fantastic location. At under $200 a night it’s probably a reasonable value. But beware that the hotel is woefully outdated and beginning to show its age. It is not on par with a typical offering from W Hotels. If location is critical – give it a go. If style, service, and amenities are what you’re after you can probably find a better hotel in San Jose.

Room Tip: Breakfast was free and did have a substantial variety so I'll give it high marks for that. The...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Air_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Dear Los Angeles Traveler, Thank you for taking time to write a review on our hotel on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate constructive feedback.

I am sorry that you were disappointed in your visit. The decor of our hotel does not always appeal to everyone the same. The hotel has been open since 2003 and a renovation is currently in development. Perhaps if you are in the Santana Row area in 2013, you may have a moment to stop in to see if the new design is more appealing to you.

Again, thank you for your time in providing feedback.

Bonnie Best
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Overall, the hotel was ok - the check in was very slow due to only one person being at the desk and taking an inordinate amount of time with another client. The room was fine but I think was overpriced at $299 for what you get. There wasn't any complimentary bottled water which to me says something about the quality of a hotel. The lighting of the room was also very dark so you never got a sense that the room was really clean, even in the daytime with the balcony door being opened. The location though was very convenient being in the heart of the shopping district so was very fun to go walk around. Good restaurants close by.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a balcony but really, never used the balcony at all and it was really reall...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mulan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

So hotel is comfortable, with spacious and well designed rooms ( however a bit stingy on the amenities),
However location is in middle of shopping & eating area so no amazing locale to visit and can be noisy, Friday & Saturday nights especially. The restaurant facilities are little strange as location is used for breakfast & evening, It is fine for the morning but the atmosphere for the evening is not a great experience, but food is ok though.

Room Tip: Ask for room not on front street ( will be much quieter)
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MazzAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.4 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
2,253 reviews
8.1 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,394 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#10 of 75 in San Jose
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
958 reviews
6.6 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
3.2 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#9 of 75 in San Jose
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia - Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Address: 355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £168 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia - Santana Row 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valencia Santana Row is the only hotel located on Santana Row! Our boutique hotel in San Jose, CA is at the center of all the excitement, entertainment, shopping and dining on Santana Row and near the Silicon Valley and Cupertino. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or corporate group or convention. See and be seen at our hip and swanky Vbar or experience "unruly" tapas and shared plates in Oveja Negra Restaurant. Hotel Valencia Santana Row invites our guests to experience luxury with our 215 rooms and suites and experience exceptional service and surroundings during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Valencia - Santana Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Valencia Santana Row Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing