We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I keep coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I keep coming back”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

There are many hotels in silicon valley, but the majority I have stayed at are quite forgettable in terms of character or atmosphere. Hotel Valencia stands out from the rest in this regard. It has a "buzz" due to its location in a hip, open air mall (Santana Row) with lots of restaurant choices within easy walking distance. The hotel itself, and the rooms in particular are nicely decorated. In the years I've been coming here, the management has not allowed the hotel to become dingy,or worn out - the rooms are in as good a shape as they were when the hotel was new. The only reason I don't give it five stars is that it can be a little expensive, and they seem to have high staff turnover - occasionally the service has been a little lacking. Having said that - I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Silicon Valley with a little time to spare for relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wigan2pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank ou for being a loyal guest!

We appreciate your comments regarding the condition of the hotel -- however, we are going to be renovating all of our guest rooms, corridors, lobby and Vbar beginning in November. We are also going to be adding an outdoor "pavilion" off the lobby area.

We hope you will enjoy the "new" Hotel Valencia as well as the current one.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    251
    95
    35
    36
See reviews for
111
196
32
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I knew I would arrive cranky after a long flight, so asked for early check-in the night before. Got into my room at 8:30 and bonus, got breakfast, then a much needed rest. Beds are crazy comfortable. Room large though a bit noisy. Got moved up two floors and to the back the next night. Walking distance to lots of restaurants. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank justsayhey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your stay. I am very happy our occupancy allowed us to honor your request for early check in. Hope to you see back often!
Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hotel doesn't even deserve a single star. We came up to our room at around midnight and we had a knock on our door from 2 security guards telling us to keep it down even though we did nothing wrong other than half a couple of laughs on our way to the room.

After the treatment we received, I went down to the concierge to complain about the security that lingered around in outside our room and invaded our privacy to let them know what had transpired and the guy at the front told me he's calling the cops because we're being "difficult guests". The security guards and the concierge laughed at me while I walked away and taunted me by saying " you're gonna get kicked out".

Absolutely unacceptable and inappropriate for the hotel staff to bully their guests. I highly recommend you check out other places before thinking about settling in at the Hotel Valencia unless you are a fan of being bullied.

This hotel is THE WORST. If you like being bullied, stay here. I have never been treated in this manner and hope to never be again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tarlan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
I am very sorry that you had an unpleasant encounter with our security team. We review procedures with them on a regular basis with the aim of handling the various guest encounters appropriate to the situation. It is never our intent to "bully" anyone and am sorry that you felt that occurred.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I've stayed here twice in the last year on business and really like it. It's position is great as it close to shops and restaurants. The breakfast is free and really comprehensive. The pool is small but nice to have at the end of the day for an hour.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkapHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope you will visit the area again soon.
Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Interesting boutique hotel in Santana Row in San Jose. I was there for a 3 day meeting and found the hotel to very nice, perhaps a little dated or in need of new carpets in the hallways. The staff were very helpful and attentive. The rooms were quite spacious with an eclectic mix of decorating styles. The rooms were quiet and allowed you to adjust the temperature, with no noisy fans. We had dinner in one of the meeting rooms one night, and the food was very good. The location is great - wonderful views from the upstairs patio area. Many shops, bars & restaurants right out the door.
The fitness center is average - fairly small but the equipment all works well.

One warning - the sushi bar next door (not part of the hotel) has great sushi, however its impossible to have any conversation since the music was playing at over 100 decibels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJFfromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at Hotel Valencia and Santana Row.
We are beginning a guest room (including corridors and landings) renovation in November. We hope to see you back to experience the "new" Hotel Valencia!
Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Spent one night at the hotel which is centrally located in the midst of shopping and night lives. At first glance, the room is good size and seems to be clean. Not enough light though. The bed is soft. TV remote control is missing from the room. Housekeeping is quick to replace the control. I was appalled by the condition of the bathtub. There were black flicks all over the tub. I had to put a towel over them. When I turned on the shower, I know why the tub was so dirty. It was clogged and water was not really draining well. Same applies to the wash basin. It was a long day and I was too tired to complain. Thought the hotel should make sure the room is ready before guests are checked in. My criteria in choosing hotels is based on cleanliness, then the location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kotrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
I am dismayed by the condition of the drains in your guest room. I have emphasized with the housekeeping and engineering staff the importance of ensuring all drains are working properly.

the lighting in the guest room is being improved with the renovation that is being done between November 2013 and February 2014. The beds have been replaced recently but it is difficult to meet everyone's softness/firmness preferences. I am sorry you did not find it to your preference.

Thank you for your feedback, I hope that you will give us another opportunity on a future visit to provide a more satisfactory stay.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My credit card was charged on August 18th. I did not make a reservation, or stay at this hotel. I assumed this was an innocent error on behalf of the hotel. I have left several courtesy voicemails to assistant manager Brent Gaines. He returned one message on August 27th stating we would be in touch. I have since been completely ignored.

The charge has not been reversed from my credit card, I have not been told who made this reservation, or why I was charged- and what bothers me the most is how Hotel Valencia has remained silent without even an explanation or an apology.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vladimir e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
I understand that the misunderstanding regarding your reservation has been resolved. I apologize that it was not handled promptly.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
8.1 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
3.4 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
6.6 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
0.7 mi away
The Row Hotel
The Row Hotel
#48 of 75 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia - Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Property: Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Address: 355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia - Santana Row 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valencia Santana Row is the only hotel located on Santana Row! Our boutique hotel in San Jose, CA is at the center of all the excitement, entertainment, shopping and dining on Santana Row and near the Silicon Valley and Cupertino. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or corporate group or convention. See and be seen at our hip and swanky Vbar or experience "unruly" tapas and shared plates in Oveja Negra Restaurant. Hotel Valencia Santana Row invites our guests to experience luxury with our 215 rooms and suites and experience exceptional service and surroundings during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Valencia - Santana Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Valencia Santana Row Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing