We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location!!!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary... Location is great right from the out doors is Santana Row shopping street. There are many shops and restaurants . The hotel itself is nice with spacious room and bathroom. Staff is great always friendly and smiling. even congratulated us on our anniversary. P.s. You got to try the desert doughnuts from Citrus restaurant in the hotel there yummy lol

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fvillota1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    260
    98
    36
    37
See reviews for
114
201
33
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel looks promising when you arrive with valet parking and the obligatory Tesla (rented?) parked outside.

Once you reach the third floor lobby, your enthusiasm starts sagging as the low headroom begins to give you a dark and claustrophobic feeling.

Our breakfast experience captures all the problems of this hotel. The windowless room in which breakfast is served is dimly lit and faintly depressing. That also applies to the clientele. Some tables are communal so you don't quite know who's going to invade your space (part of the charm?).

Service is practically non-existent except for clearing tables. Food selection at the breakfast buffet in Citrus is spartan (there were scrambled eggs but no bacon or sausage, for example).

The hotel is well-located for shopaholics who want to patronize the Santana Row shops but, otherwise, avoid.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spencerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel. I do want to share with you that the hotel is in the process of being renovated with a much brighter and lighter look. All of the guest rooms will be completed by this weekend. The Vbar was completed at the end of January and the lobby will be done by the end of March.

Our included complimentary continental breakfast has quite a variety of items and we are always reviewing for any items requested. Hot items such as waffles, pancakes, prepared to order eggs with sides and other items may be ordered a la carte at a charge.

I do apologize that due to physical limitations, the space is limited. When the hotel is sold out, it can be up to 400+ guests and our restaurant has 65 seats.

We hope that you will have an opportunity to see the new, brighter look soon. Again, thank you for your feedback which we do take very seriously.

Cordially,
Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We recently stayed for one evening as a stop over for a long road trip. As we arrived in the evening, when we turned the corner onto Santana Row, we were greeted with a beautifully lit street full of luxury stores and the hotel right smack in the middle of it all. We were relieved at the valet parking as the streets were very crowded with holiday shoppers trying to find parking. The valet was very nice and cordial, but the valet who retrieved the car the next morning was not as friendly. The public areas were cozy, and the ambiance was charming. We were able to get a reduced AAA rate that came with a continental breakfast, so we were pleased with that. Registration was ok, not overly welcoming.

Room: It was actually quite large and overlooked the inner courtyard (it was noisy earlier in the evening with groups of people gathering, but quieted down), with a king bed and very spacious area for the extra cot for our son. I'd imagine, it would be great for a family with a baby since there would be plenty of room for a crib. The room was very long and had a long table/shelf (no drawers) that held the TV and an empty refrigerator (It was great to not have to ask for one!). There was also a chair set up to make it function like a desk, but it really was an odd configuration. There were 2 nightstands and just a couple of bulit-in drawers inconveniently right where the room door was. The bathroom was small with very little counter space and had a tub/shower. The cararra marble was looking a bit tired.

Pool area: Too cold to use for us, but it was beautiful and you could peer over the side and watch the action on Santana Row.
Fitness center: clean, smallish but had nice equipment.

Continental breakfast: We were pleasantly surprised that this breakfast included hot items like scrambled eggs and sausage hash. There were the usual cereals, pastry, toast items, yogurt, fruit, juices and coffee. My complaint is that the temperature of the food was lukewarm. I and another guest had to ask the wait staff to warm up our coffees. We also ate at this same restaurant, Citrus, for dinner. It was just ok.

Security: After returning from our stroll down Santana Row around 9 pm, we were met by security at the roped-off hotel entrance and were asked to show our room key. This took us by surprise, but as I started to open my purse, he said, "Never mind I believe you. Go ahead." Before going to our room, we were exploring the fitness center and pool area on the same floor and were met with security who said we were in restricted areas (???). I thought we had gone after the facilities closed, but once back in our room, I discovered they were not supposed to be closed at that time. I don't know what to make of all this security. Did the guy follow us up to make sure we were really guests? Safe, but definitely intrusive. Hotel guests shouldn't be made to prove their status like this in a nice part of town.

Local area: The biggest benefit is the ability to walk out of the hotel right onto the shopping row. There are lots of restaurants and shops. The evenings are busy with young professionals queueing up for a spot at the bar.

The best: convenience and charm
The worst: standoffish staff and overzealous security
Would I stay here again? Maybe.

Room Tip: If you want convenience to the pool area and fitness center, ask to be on the 5th floor where both a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrinacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughquag, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My family of 4 spent the long weekend prior to Xmas at Hotel Valencia. We reserved a standard double with balcony. After a long travel day, we arrived at the hotel. At check-in, we unexpectedly got a great gift from the hotel. Instead of the standard double, we ended up with an executive suite with 2 balconies. We entered the room and could not believe the size of it. Room 665 had two sets of sofas, a large dining room table, 2 TVs, and separately, a large king bed. The front desk said they ran out of standard doubles, so they upgraded us to the suite (and for free). We did the stay 4 nights, pay for 3 nights, so we really got a fantastic deal. We really enjoyed the hotel. The entire staff was very friendly and attentive. I would give a special shout-out to the valet parking staff. During our stay, my family enjoyed walking around Santana Row, I had family and work obligations, so I had to take the car out multiple times a day. The valet parking team were very nice and quickly got my car, even during the very crowded weekend prior toXmas. My family had a wonderful stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank figmentsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The Valenica never lets me down. It's in a great location - OK Santana Row is a little artificial, but once you get over that, it's probably the most interesting part of San Jose. Breakfasts are usually very good (though a little worse on this last trip than usually), the beds are the second most comfortable in the world after my bed, and the rooms are always clean and the staff friendly. Only a few very minor issues:
1. Bathrooms are functional but not beautiful
2. Hotel is a little gloomy - which is great in the summer, but not so good in the winter.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces out rather than in on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex311276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is the nicest hotel of which I have had the pleasure of staying. The hotel and rooms were so beautiful and clean. The bed was THE MOST comfortable bed I have ever used. I slept so, so well. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Double check on a cab arrival if you need to get somewhere on time. There was a bit of a mix up whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaTraveler111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Love Santana row, and staying at this hotel completes the experience! It is right in the middle of everything, has a great bar, beautiful lounge areas, good continental breakfast. I love staying here, it's a great way to get away without having to travel very far!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichellePeeples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.4 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,221 reviews
8.1 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,354 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#9 of 75 in San Jose
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
953 reviews
6.6 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
3.2 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia - Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Property: Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Address: 355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia - Santana Row 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valencia Santana Row is the only hotel located on Santana Row! Our boutique hotel in San Jose, CA is at the center of all the excitement, entertainment, shopping and dining on Santana Row and near the Silicon Valley and Cupertino. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or corporate group or convention. See and be seen at our hip and swanky Vbar or experience "unruly" tapas and shared plates in Oveja Negra Restaurant. Hotel Valencia Santana Row invites our guests to experience luxury with our 215 rooms and suites and experience exceptional service and surroundings during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Valencia - Santana Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Valencia Santana Row Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing