We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Between Average and Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
226 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Between Average and Very Good”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A pity Trip Advisor does not have a "good" rating.
The hotel is very nice, spacious and excellent rooms. Besides the lousy coffee, the complimentary breakfast is great, as is the outdoor swimming pool and hot tub.
It lacks attention of the staff. Tables in the breakfast room are often left for cleaning after guests left. We had to ask several times to clean a table so we could sit and have breakfast. Room was not cleaned several times, and also the promised welcome package for the wedding we attended was forgotten.
If you decide to stay here, you should be aware that this is a party hotel. Many weddings, graduations, etc are going one, with all the noise related.
The area is very nice, upscale neighborhood with ample shopping and restaurants around

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frans K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts of our hotel. We appreciate all constructive feedback that we can use to improve our guest experience.

Sincerely, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    251
    95
    35
    36
See reviews for
111
196
32
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We love to stay at the Hotel Valencia when we visit our daughter at Santa Clara University. The location is near great restaurants and fantastic shopping. It is a first class hotel. My only complaint is the hotel layout. It is cumbersome to go from street level shopping to the main lobby. We enjoy the complimentary breakfast which has a variety of items. Join the VIP club to learn about specials.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itravelDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
We are very happy that you enjoy your stays with us during your visits to your daughter. We look forward to having you with us over the next few years.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

decided to stay here vs the traditional marriot/hiltons for a change during my stay in san jose. Located inside santana row self parking is free (just get a paper from hotel to display in the car) overnight. Valet is also available as well.

Lobby is located on the 3rd floor which was pretty cool and a nice court yard with ample seating area to just chill and relax.

Roof top bar had a great scenery and very nice place to just get a few drinks.

Pool is also located on the roof but don't expect to do laps :)

Ended up staying in room 725 which was on the top floor corner with a glass nook/sun area which provided additional floor space. Room and decor is very modern, although would of preferred a single large queen vs a double bed.

overall would stay here again as there are plenty of restaurants, bars and shopping all outside the hotel

Room Tip: Top floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for giving us a chance vs. the larger chain hotels. Delighted that you enjoyed your staff and hope you will continue staying with us. Please make sure you join our VVIP program (free) that offers nice welcome amenities and other benefits.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hi,

The front office staff was nice, other than that, not so much. Upon checkin, I went to my room and was surprised to find a king bed when I'm positive I requested two doubles when I made my reservation over the phone. I went back to the nice people and informed them of the error. They called the manager who told me I had a king and no doubles were available- tough luck. No offer to lessen my pain. (I always think it's good to acknowledge mistakes/ customer dissatisfaction .) His attitude irked me. So I had to share a bed when I wanted to sleep solo. The real bummer came about 2:30 am when I awoke sweating. The room was not the 68 degrees I set the thermostat on. That was a big drag. One star for the front office staff and one star for location. The breakfast was mediocre. Next time I will take my business elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Suz B,

I apologize that we did not have your preferred room type available as it was a fully booked weekend. From reviewing with the staff, a king bedded room was requested on the original booking and unfortunately, we did not have availability on the day of arrival to change the room type.

Again, our sincere apologies that we did not meet all of your expectations.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
214 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Combined, I believe I've spent around a month in that hotel, over 5 or 6 different visits to San Jose. It is a great hotel and the staff is always super attentive. The rooms are quite modern and well equipped, though noise level from neighboring rooms can be a bit disturbing.

The best thing i loved about staying in this hotel is the access. Santana Row is packed with dining and shopping options. And you are a few minutes walk from Westfield's mall on Steven's Creek and you are surrounded with great places to eat. Weekends also host a farmer's market, which is a great place to grab organic produce.

There are great facilities in the hotel. Loved the pool deck on roof top. The daily breakfast is also fresh and, considering the size of the hotel, is rather generous.

The only thing I would recommend while staying there is to try to avoid the rooms overlooking the Piazza de Valencia road (opp to The Counter burger place), it gets really noisy at night. Other than that, the hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking the Piazza de Valencia road (opp to The Counter burger place), it gets n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamDubster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences at Hotel Valencia. We are delighted that you enjoy the hotel and the location within Santana Row.

Sincerely, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I've been cruising up to San Jose for weekend getaways for years and am so glad I've gone back to rediscover this gem of a hotel. They've done a remodel that's left the place just gorgeous--it has a real Moroccan type vibe that actually fits better than the previous look in a lot of ways. And then there are those beds! And the turn down service. And the amazing bathtub. Then I woke up to this perfect little espresso machine right there in my room (Illy espresso in bed is not a bad way to start a Saturday morning). They still have their delicious free breakfast that goes way above and beyond a continental type, with eggs and fresh juices etc. Love that. What also makes this place so great is its location on Santana Row--it's like Disneyland for adults, with great shopping and food all right there, not to mention a Burke Williams spa right next door (yes, I took advantage). I also thought it was so great that when I first pulled up to the valet, the attendant went out of his way to explain where and how I could self park free of charge. He very easily could've had me pay to valet but instead made sure I knew how easy it was to park on my own. Classy place.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseG227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for such wonderful comments regarding your many stays with us. We are so glad that you enjoy the new fresh lighter look of the hotel.

Please let me know if I may ever assist you during a future visit.

Sincerely, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Whenever traveling back to Silicon Valley, we prefer to stay at the Valencia. My wife especially loves the nearby mall, Santa Row shops, and restaurants all within walking distance. If you're lucky enough to get a balcony view room, then you've got a birds-eye view of Santa Row complete with people watching & an occasional exotic car drive by.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank doccao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Hotel Valencia Santana Row. We hope to see you back often.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
8.1 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
3.4 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
6.6 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
0.7 mi away
The Row Hotel
The Row Hotel
#48 of 75 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia - Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Property: Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Address: 355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia - Santana Row 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valencia Santana Row is the only hotel located on Santana Row! Our boutique hotel in San Jose, CA is at the center of all the excitement, entertainment, shopping and dining on Santana Row and near the Silicon Valley and Cupertino. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or corporate group or convention. See and be seen at our hip and swanky Vbar or experience "unruly" tapas and shared plates in Oveja Negra Restaurant. Hotel Valencia Santana Row invites our guests to experience luxury with our 215 rooms and suites and experience exceptional service and surroundings during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Valencia - Santana Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Valencia Santana Row Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing