We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We arrived at 3pm on a Sunday and all restaurants and lounges on the property were closed. The gentleman who checked us in helped us get appetizers and beverages while waiting for the restaurants to open. Excellent service, even from the kitchen staff. Even though this hotel recently went through a major renovation, rooms are cramped and seem dated (bathrooms), but is rated high because of the location (Santana Row).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Denise A.,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at Hotel Valencia. I am sorry that that the new décor was not pleasing to you. However, I am glad that the staff was able to meet your dining needs.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 820 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Granted - we didn't pay for it or choose it (it was chosen and paid for by my wife's workplace) - but it was an amazing hotel nonetheless.

The Valencia is posh, beautiful, well designed and well maintained. The rooms are beautiful and large, great beds, very clean. It's even a very comfortable place to do some after-hours work if you need to. Breakfast is fantastic.

Santana Row itself is a very nice and very peculiar place. It's a very classy, quite expensive shopping district located actually pretty far off from the city center. You got lots of very good bars and restaurants around (check out Veggie Grill, it's a vegan paradise) and lots of posh shops (Brooks brothers, etc). Across the street there's a big mall with Macy's, Apple Store, Uniqlo etc. It's a very safe, planned and clean street. Almost to an uncomfortable degree.

In this street, the Valencia fits right in. I recommend visiting downtown San Jose to get the reel feel of the city, as Santana Row is not an organic part of it. Campbell is also very cool.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the quieter. Rooms overviewing the courtyard are great, you get to watch the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank haoneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for wife's company for choosing Hotel Valencia! Delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

For this part of San Jose I was expecting a larger price tag for my room at Hotel Valencia. You are right in the middle of Santana Row which is populated with high end shops all around you. Nice area to get out and walk around, have a dinner, or enjoy a glass of wine. Staff was friendly and the rooms were very nice. It is great to stay somewhere that takes some time to furnish it with some personality. Well done!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Mark Q:

Thank you or your wonderful comments on Hotel Valencia and Santana Row. We hope your business brings you back this way soon.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a wonderful experience here. Despite our room not being ready at check in (check in is at three and we arrived at 4:30 and our room was still not ready) and A new front desk person who didn't tell us that there was complementary breakfast and tried to give us our room keys before the room was cleaned, it was still a very nice stay.

The location is awesome… Walk out the front door and you are in an amazing shopping and restaurant mecca. We were there Friday night through Sunday and heard several live bands and musicians playing throughout our stay. Such a nice touch as you walk along the streets and enjoy the beautiful weather.

The pool is very small so if you want to do that during your stay make sure to grab a chair early in the day. They are just starting to serve food at the pool so their system is not very efficient. Don't plan to eat until 45 minutes after your order is placed. Our order was also incorrect which was inconvenient since we had starving children.

The service here was average. I think if staff was trained to be more hospitable and welcoming i.e. make eye contact and smile, even learn guests names, then this would really kick the hotel up a star level.

The rooms were very nice. They are large and decorated eclectically. We had a view of the green space near the playground and maggiano's and it was wonderful to open up our windows and enjoy the live music.

Great stay but service could be improved upon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to share some very constructive feedback. I have shared with our operational managers to work on improvements.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will be back often.

Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

we usually go to San Jose 2-3 times a year and usually stay at another hotel in Milpitas. last two times we had stayed at the Valencia. What a difference.

It is not just the setting in Santana Row, but the whole experience. Shopping? Check, Restaurants? Check, Bars? Check..

The staff is great and one of the best amenities at the hotel...V Bar..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jabought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Glad we hit all the marks! Hope to see you on your next visit.

Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The facilities were very nice and the location couldn't have been better for shopping and eating. Unfortunately, customer service is not something the staff has been taught. Had to call the front desk to order drinks at the pool and waited more than 30 minutes. Then had to wait more than one and a half hours for extra blankets and had to call twice to order them.
It's a shame that the staffing has not been trained better.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Jennifer B,

I want to apologize for the service lapses that you experienced during your recent stay. Your feedback will be reviewed with the appropriate managers to determine why the service issues occurred.

I am happy that you did enjoy the hotel and location and hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the experience you had hoped to have on your last stay. If I may ever be of personal assistance, please contact me at bbest@valenciagroup.com.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Location, location, location. This place has it. Santana Row right outside your elevator! Great shops and places to dine and drink. Hotel pool is small but great for afternoon sun. No poolside service however. On your own. Rooms nice but lack a mini fridge and no ice/vending available. Room service has to bring ice. V Bar hot spot and will turn hotel into a nightclub on Friday and Saturday nights. Good security however. Don't valet, use free parking for guests. Have to walk a but but very close.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. You are correct that we only have mini bar fridges in the guest room, but we do have ice machines on each floor except the third which only has a few guest rooms.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return soon.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.4 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
2,417 reviews
8.1 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,544 reviews
6.6 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Row Hotel
The Row Hotel
#34 of 75 in San Jose
66 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#13 of 75 in San Jose
656 reviews
3.4 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#7 of 75 in San Jose
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia - Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Address: 355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £162 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia - Santana Row 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valencia Santana Row is the only hotel located on Santana Row! Our boutique hotel in San Jose, CA is at the center of all the excitement, entertainment, shopping and dining on Santana Row and near the Silicon Valley and Cupertino. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or corporate group or convention. See and be seen at our hip and swanky Vbar or experience "unruly" tapas and shared plates in Oveja Negra Restaurant. Hotel Valencia Santana Row invites our guests to experience luxury with our 215 rooms and suites and experience exceptional service and surroundings during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Valencia - Santana Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Valencia Santana Row Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing