We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels cheap!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here on business...the arrival experience is awful, dank and dark entry off the street into a creaky, dirty old elevator....common areas feel like they came out of Home Depot. Rooms are ok but not great. Workout facility is an afterthought. Breakfast was ok

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Yehudigaffen,

Thank you for your perceptions of the hotel. Naturally, we are disappointed that you did not enjoy the new look of the renovation which was completed earlier this year. We appreciate that everyone has different expectations and regret that we did not meet yours.

Sincerely, Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

For Local Bay Area ...this is best choice .
300/ night quite high tag price .
Love to put my guests in when they visit Bay Area but wish the price is more affordable .
Weekend & holiday is better price when all the Business ppl away .

Room Tip: Like to look at ppl so santa row inside street view or courtyard view Beware of smoking ppl from...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Hannah T,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at Hotel Valencia. We appreciate your kind comments.

We are a non-smoking hotel throughout and make every attempt to ensure that this policy is followed. Unfortunately, there may be smoke coming up from the outside of the building where smokers tend to congregate.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely, Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Was fortunate enough to stay at this hotel on a Visit to Northern California! I'm more one for a view of the water, but the balcony room overlooking Santana Row was awesome! Will be coming back for sure when I get the chance!

Room Tip: Balcony room overlooking Santana Row...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SiReal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear SiReal,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Hotel Valencia! We appreciate your kind words.

We will look forward to your return!

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nice room. Great service for the most part. The odd things that made the room not quite right:
- no towel bars. I don't like having to reach to the farthest corner to grab a towel out of a basket on the floor.
- no light switches near the bed
- lighting overall was pretty bad

The bar on site, which is part of the hotel and not a separate business, is terrible by the way. Go elsewhere for your nightcap.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Mrs. Jeff,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Valencia. Your comments will be shared for future changes.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We wanted a quick getaway from the city so we chose Hotel Valencia mainly for the pool, but the whole property definitely exceeded our expectations! Location is right in the middle of Santana Row, so there's a bunch of places to eat/drink/shop nearby. Our king room facing the courtyard/pool was modern and very spacious. FYI - You can hear people from the bar getting turnt up at night in the courtyard - it didn't bother us much though. After check-in, housekeeping came by with a couple of cold brewskis - random and awesome. The 5th floor pool area was a bit small, but relaxing (minus all the kids). Didn't expect complimentary breakfast but it was a nice touch, and pretty good as well. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at Hotel Valencia. We look forward to having you back as a return guest. Please make sure your sign up for our frequent guest program -- VVIP. Then you can choose the type of "brewskis" you want.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Beautiful hotel situated in a very nice mall. We loved the relaxing rooftop pool and the chic decor. The room was spacious and luxurious, with a nice balcony. My only complaint was that there was some noise at night (the adjacent room's door slamming would cause our headboard to shake, and we could hear the occasional loud car passing in the mall below. Overall, this is a great place to stay, if you can afford it.

Room Tip: The rooms the face the outside are going to be noisier than the ones that face inwards (toward the c...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLC-Sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Valencia and in Santana Row.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We arrived at 3pm on a Sunday and all restaurants and lounges on the property were closed. The gentleman who checked us in helped us get appetizers and beverages while waiting for the restaurants to open. Excellent service, even from the kitchen staff. Even though this hotel recently went through a major renovation, rooms are cramped and seem dated (bathrooms), but is rated high because of the location (Santana Row).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Denise A.,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at Hotel Valencia. I am sorry that that the new décor was not pleasing to you. However, I am glad that the staff was able to meet your dining needs.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.4 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#8 of 75 in San Jose
2,253 reviews
8.1 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,394 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#10 of 75 in San Jose
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
958 reviews
6.6 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
3.2 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#9 of 75 in San Jose
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia - Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Address: 355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £168 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia - Santana Row 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valencia Santana Row is the only hotel located on Santana Row! Our boutique hotel in San Jose, CA is at the center of all the excitement, entertainment, shopping and dining on Santana Row and near the Silicon Valley and Cupertino. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or corporate group or convention. See and be seen at our hip and swanky Vbar or experience "unruly" tapas and shared plates in Oveja Negra Restaurant. Hotel Valencia Santana Row invites our guests to experience luxury with our 215 rooms and suites and experience exceptional service and surroundings during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Valencia - Santana Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Valencia Santana Row Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing