We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Mira, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great location in San Jose but the hotel is very average. Restaurant was closed for lunch, decor is pretty basic, I asked for early breakfast and they forgot to bring it. I'm also not sure what's going on when you ask for a taxy because it looks like you have to wait for long to get the taxes they want you to take.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianna75_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay. We utilize feedback as training tools and to improve our service.

Since we are not located in the downtown business district, fewer taxis are waiting for passengers. I am sorry that it took a little longer than you are accustomed.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    254
    97
    35
    37
See reviews for
112
198
32
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Set up as a extended stay hotel. Nothing here would want me to stay again. Was difficult to find a nice place to eat. Everything in walking distance was your typical fast food restaurant. Upside....beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brockketcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your review. However, I am a little perplexed as we are not an extended stay hotel and there are no fast food restaurants within Santana Row.

I would love to talk with you personally to go over your perceptions of the Hotel Valencia and the area.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
198 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here on business...the arrival experience is awful, dank and dark entry off the street into a creaky, dirty old elevator....common areas feel like they came out of Home Depot. Rooms are ok but not great. Workout facility is an afterthought. Breakfast was ok

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoek2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Yehudigaffen,

Thank you for your perceptions of the hotel. Naturally, we are disappointed that you did not enjoy the new look of the renovation which was completed earlier this year. We appreciate that everyone has different expectations and regret that we did not meet yours.

Sincerely, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

For Local Bay Area ...this is best choice .
300/ night quite high tag price .
Love to put my guests in when they visit Bay Area but wish the price is more affordable .
Weekend & holiday is better price when all the Business ppl away .

Room Tip: Like to look at ppl so santa row inside street view or courtyard view Beware of smoking ppl from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Hannah T,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at Hotel Valencia. We appreciate your kind comments.

We are a non-smoking hotel throughout and make every attempt to ensure that this policy is followed. Unfortunately, there may be smoke coming up from the outside of the building where smokers tend to congregate.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Was fortunate enough to stay at this hotel on a Visit to Northern California! I'm more one for a view of the water, but the balcony room overlooking Santana Row was awesome! Will be coming back for sure when I get the chance!

Room Tip: Balcony room overlooking Santana Row...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiReal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear SiReal,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Hotel Valencia! We appreciate your kind words.

We will look forward to your return!

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nice room. Great service for the most part. The odd things that made the room not quite right:
- no towel bars. I don't like having to reach to the farthest corner to grab a towel out of a basket on the floor.
- no light switches near the bed
- lighting overall was pretty bad

The bar on site, which is part of the hotel and not a separate business, is terrible by the way. Go elsewhere for your nightcap.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Mrs. Jeff,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Valencia. Your comments will be shared for future changes.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We wanted a quick getaway from the city so we chose Hotel Valencia mainly for the pool, but the whole property definitely exceeded our expectations! Location is right in the middle of Santana Row, so there's a bunch of places to eat/drink/shop nearby. Our king room facing the courtyard/pool was modern and very spacious. FYI - You can hear people from the bar getting turnt up at night in the courtyard - it didn't bother us much though. After check-in, housekeeping came by with a couple of cold brewskis - random and awesome. The 5th floor pool area was a bit small, but relaxing (minus all the kids). Didn't expect complimentary breakfast but it was a nice touch, and pretty good as well. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVSR, General Manager at Hotel Valencia - Santana Row, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at Hotel Valencia. We look forward to having you back as a return guest. Please make sure your sign up for our frequent guest program -- VVIP. Then you can choose the type of "brewskis" you want.

Cordially, Bonnie Best, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.4 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
2,124 reviews
8.1 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,254 reviews
3.4 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
625 reviews
6.6 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
3.4 mi away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#20 of 75 in San Jose
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia - Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia - Santana Row

Property: Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Address: 355 Santana Row, San Jose, CA 95128-2049
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#8 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia - Santana Row 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valencia Santana Row is the only hotel located on Santana Row! Our boutique hotel in San Jose, CA is at the center of all the excitement, entertainment, shopping and dining on Santana Row and near the Silicon Valley and Cupertino. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or corporate group or convention. See and be seen at our hip and swanky Vbar or experience "unruly" tapas and shared plates in Oveja Negra Restaurant. Hotel Valencia Santana Row invites our guests to experience luxury with our 215 rooms and suites and experience exceptional service and surroundings during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Valencia - Santana Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Valencia Santana Row
Valencia Santana Row Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing