We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome location, great staff, good property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
cleveland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome location, great staff, good property”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed at this property last week while in San Jose for business. I hadn't realized how convenient this property was to just about everything downtown. Now onto the hotel: The staff is very friendly and accomodating. It's a bit dated, some of the furniture is worn and should be replaced, BUT the Bed is comfy, and clean. The bathroom was fine, and it was a good stay. It seemed pretty clean, but again, probably needs some updating. I will definitely stay here again, as I'm a platinum starwood member, and last time was upgraded to a suite (nice). The parking lot is right next to the hotel, and there are lots of restaurants in walking distance.

Room Tip: become an SPG platinum member and the world will be yours :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom_of_ashopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    215
    76
    27
    19
See reviews for
59
108
54
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for a tournament at the convention center. We were walking distance from the center and every other place we visited over the weekend. The hotel and parking lot staff were friendly and helpful. The over-sized king bed was super comfy and the room was very quiet, we had a great night's sleep. Breakfast was very good and one order fed us both and we even had left overs. My daughter's favorite part was the walk down to Cream with her teammates which was a great home-made ice cream sandwich shop.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet and clean, the bed was so comfortable. We overlooked the bocci ball court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T From Cali f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
We are delighted to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope your daughter's team did well and had fun in the tournament!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
204 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I was in San Jose for a conference. This hotel is walking distance from restaurants and the San Jose convention center. The hotel has a parking lot and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant serves good breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank New O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times when I visit my corporate HQ in San Jose.

I am Starwood Platinum, and spend 30-40 nights a year in hotels all over North America.

The location of this hotel is what really sets it apart from other things in its price range. I love being downtown, even if I have to stay in a little older hotel. You can walk to restaurants, bars, the hockey arena, coffee shops, literally everything of interest.

The hotel is a little dated, but nice and the rooms are very comfortable.

As several have mentioned, I really appreciated unlimited free water and coffee.

The lack of a business centre is a bit of a pain. The computer they have for use is silly expensive and run by a 3rd party. They should really address this.

The only other comment was that there was quite a bit of noise caused by hotel staff early in the morning. I had a laugh with a fellow guest who overheard me talking about the vacuuming and leaf blowing at 6am in the courtyard with the obvious sign asking guests to be considerate of other guests...

That aside there is not, in my opinion, another hotel in the 200 range in the area with better value.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to others. A good choice as long as you're not overly picky.

Enjoy!

Chris

Room Tip: Facing the back would likely be quieter if you are concerned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torontocpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I would like to name front desk staff "Jana" and also the GM "Randy" for their great service during my stay. I couldn't log on to the internet and they really spent their time to connect me with the provider, and in the end I could use the internet freely. I also want to name "Les" at the Mosaic restaurant, he has been really helpful. This was probably the best Four Points I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jefferson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your comments! We will be sure to share your kudos with the team. We were happy to help with the internet and make your stay enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a conference and regretted it. The hotel was okay; I paid for a corner room and got it. It felt like my room was one of the nicest, yet was still on the border of dorm room trashy.

The real problem was the attitude of the front desk staff and the "mandatory" letter I was forced to sign.

With security clearance, 14 years/280 nights at Starwoods, and not a single legal issue in my life, being forced to sign something was completely and utterly offensive.

Next time? Marriott, Hilton, or Fairmont.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We value your loyalty to Starwood. Our Evening Policy is enforced on weekends to strive to maintain a relaxed and comfortable environment for all of our guests. We apologize if you felt that this was forced upon you. We cannot selectively enforce the policy. I’m happy to discuss this further with you if you wish. Please contact me directly – Randy, General Manager, randy.zimmerman@fourpointssanjosedowntown.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
913 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 570 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The setting: This property is in the downtown core of San Jose. If you need a central location and you are on a budget, then this is a solid choice. The hotel is fronted by a generic restaurant behind which is the front desk. There is a nice outdoor seating space just beside the entrance to the hotel, which is really a side entrance to the building. The attached parking lot is convenient, but is costly.

The room: Mine was a room with a king size bed. It was spacious but the solitary window faced an interior shaft, thus there was not much natural light and the room felt like a large cell. The bed was comfortable and the large, flat screen TV opposite the bed made relaxing in bed more enjoyable. The bathroom was nondescript. The water pressure was good. The free WiFi was a nice perk.

All in all, this is a good budget hotel in central San Jose. You can enjoy being walking distance to any downtown locale without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooklynite_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.1 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#3 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#20 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#9 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown

Property: Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Address: 211 S 1st St, San Jose, CA 95113-2702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown is a historic hotel with free wifi and 86 luxurious guest rooms. We are near McEnery Convention Center, HP Pavilion, SJSU, and other downtown attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Four Points By Sheraton San Jose Downtown Hotel San Jose
Montgomery Hotel San Jose
Montgomery San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing