We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have to eat here - sit at the counter if you can”

Original Joe's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 2,166 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
342 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Have to eat here - sit at the counter if you can”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Interesting place. Stopped in after the fireworks downtown for dessert. The places was hoping like made at 11pm. People were ordering prime rib and egg dishes left and right. Could not get a table and so we sat at the counter that is right where the cooking is done. They hide nothing from you. It was great to watch them cook.

The service was good And the gelato and cheese cake we had were delicious. Had the salted caramel, luscious.

This is an Italian restaurant, it is more like an Italian diner. Unique.

I wanted to come back for breakfast since they have so many interesting breakfast dishes...... It does not open until 11am!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fnct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    350
    164
    54
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food and better service”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I arrived late in their work day but not once did I feel that they were rushing me out. The server was polite and a super happy guy.

Food was very yummy. Tasted like home cooking...Italian style.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Reno_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very old school”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Red leather booths, waiters in Tuxes, very large portions of comfort food... yes, this place is old school.. and loving it.

The food is quite tasty, the service is great, and the prices are quite good considering the portion size.

Parking sux, as in most of Downtown San Jose, and the line can be a little long, but this place is legendary and for good reasons.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spicewood, Texas
Level Contributor
298 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Better than most”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Our family of 6 had a great meal with excellent service from a friendly waiter. Portions were large and the house chanti wine was good. Highly recommend and we will visit again

Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
597 reviews
400 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Italian Steak House! Old school!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

I went to this place solo and decided to sit in the bar. Service was good and I found the waitress very helpful. The bartenders make a great martini so don't be afraid to ask for your specific preference. I tried the veal with mushrooms and chose the cheese ravioli side. All was very fresh with large portions. My only comment would be to ask for less sauce on the veal and ravioli. My entrees had to much. Other than that good was tasty and they also have your standard salad available. The steaks other people ordered looked good. I will try that next time.

Helpful?
Thank TikiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Original Joe's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Original Joe's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing