We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Victoria

La Victoria
Ranked #101 of 2,154 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Central American, Fast food, Spanish, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

the tacos are so great here and the homemade sauce is what gives it the little extra and its not expensive and always packed!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suraya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    42
    17
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Orange Sauce Omg!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

The orange sauce here is SO delicious. My husband loves the green sauce, too. That's my favorite reason to come here.

I've tried a lot of the meats, and they're all good. My husband's favorite is the al pastor. Mine is just the traditional carne asada.

I will say, it's best to stick with burritos here. The nachos were huge, but just didn't live up to the burritos. My husband got a quesadilla, and they rolled it up and the toppings were all over the place.

I don't want to deduct too much for that just because the burritos are SO SO SO good. Just get a burrito. Put orange or green sauce in it. Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
279 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good Tacos and Burritos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

I was in California for the first time in 20 years. I recently had had some Mexican food that changed my opinion of it and decided to see I could find something more traditional here. I asked at the Hotel I was staying at in the core and they recommended this one. It is like a fast food place, order, pick it up and go or eat standing up at a table. I thought it was very good. I ate at the nearby Iguana's Burrito place the next day and La Victoria was much better. If ever back in San Jose, I'd make a point of visiting again. Staff were also helpful with a newbie trying to figure out the details of the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffS_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food but a bit of a wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

This place can be super crowded at times and they cook everything to order - so if you are in a hurry and see a line, skip it.
The 'orange sauce' is delicious so be sure to ask for it (and you can buy it to have at home too). I love their super tacos - they don't skimp on the toppings and have lots of meat options that are all delicious.
It is open late so good place for the late night munchies. However, the parking lot can be super crazy - its next to a bar, coffee shop and a Yougurt place so its busy and on a busy corner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crackens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Flavor in a new location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

I've only been to this location once, but I'm a big fan of the old spot on Santa Clara street. They thai-chicken burrito is particularly awesome.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BearPupSj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Victoria also viewed

 

Been to La Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing