We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cuban Restaurant”
Review of Habana Cuba

Habana Cuba
Ranked #118 of 2,166 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: San Carlos & Park
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Cuban Restaurant”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This was my first visit to Cabana Cuba and I plan to visit them again. It's located just outside of the downtown area of San Jose. Parking is limited but you can find a space on the street. Be sure to make a reservation otherwise you will have to wait at least a short while. The food is tasty and the selection is abundant. My friends and I got more food than we could eat so we took home leftovers for lunch. The service is friendly and attentive. The building may have once been an old 2-story home so the character and ambiance are unique.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CA2Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great cuban food”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We've been here a couple of times, most recently we just turned up on Friday night and they found us a table even though we had no reservations, we had Lechon a la Cubana (preceded by Masitas de Puerco because, you know, you can never have enough pork) and Rabo Encendido (ox tail) followed by Arroz con Leche (because there was no pork dessert). What more could you want? Quantities were sizeable and the service was good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tuturiwhata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fairly good - not my favorite TYPE of food”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Business meeting. Food was pre-selected. Service was good nad environment was very good. Will try again based on experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SWEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Poor Cuban Food”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Food was disappointing; sweet plantain burned and rice is tasteless. Service was acceptable but overall not an enjoyable place. I have to confess that I cook very good Cuban food so I may be biased.

Helpful?
Thank KeisariRami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“50's vintage”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Great food, I had a hard time finding a parking spot at the Race Street Fish and Poultry so drove a little farther and tried the Habana Cuba instead.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Habana Cuba also viewed

 

Been to Habana Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing