We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go! Go! Go!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taqueria Tlaquepague

Taqueria Tlaquepague
Ranked #527 of 2,142 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Go! Go! Go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I recommend this place. Don't expect complex ingredients or preparation. Don't demand fawning service. Go and eat, go and relax, go and enjoy yourself. It is not complicated.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HeadedOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We went there with my family, the food was good except the nacos (not so good). They can do better with service...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of the restaurants I dream about.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

....now that we are 600 miles away. The chile rellenos are the best I will ever have, and when they still served soup...mmmmmmm.

It can be loud and you may have to wait, and I was sad to read that they don't allow you to have a glass of wine or a beer while waiting ( it made it much more painless).....it is still worth the wait.

I lived within walking distance so could go often, and would go in the afternoon, when there was hardly anyone there, no wait, awesome food, I want some NOW!!!!!! Best Mexican on the planet.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dragonflymoon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexicsn Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

By far, the best Mexican food in San Jose. The chimichanga is my favorite along with an ice cold super chaveles. Careful with the margaritas-- very good but very strong.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This is our GO-TO Mexican place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Whenever my husband and I crave Mexican cuisine, we go to Tlaquepague! We are fortunate to live close by to 2 out of the 3 restaurants. We usually go to the one off Willow St--if you are not there early enough, there is a bit of a wait. No matter! Even the chips and salsa are worth it! My favorites are: chicken tostada and chili rellenos. My husband enjoys the Chavelas!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kat2kool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Taqueria Tlaquepague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing