We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place to get Cheesesteaks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amato's Cheese Steaks

Amato's Cheese Steaks
Ranked #146 of 2,142 Restaurants in San Jose
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Bay Area, Ca
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The only place to get Cheesesteaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Amatos is simply great place to get delicious cheese steaks. Their prices are good and the product even better. The place is decorated with photos taken from Philly. The bread they use is super fresh and the meat is delicious. I recommend the cheese fries, with the cheese on the side. You can miss the place-The big Philadelphia Eagle Van in front of the place is a dead give away.
-If this helps give it a helpful vote-

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Conrad6487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Closest thing to a Philly cheesesteak in the Bay Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

I grew up in South Jersey, and I know what a good cheesesteak is. Other places that claim to serve cheesesteaks don't even come close. This one is pretty authentic, right down to the bun. They're huge, as they should be. The only bad thing is they don't have Tastykakes.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meiravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“How to be in Philly without being in Philly...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Amato's is a family-run place that screams Philadelphia - all kinds of photo's of Philly on the walls, the restaurant's truck is painted with the Eagles logo, and let's not even talk about the guy with E-A-G-L-E-S tattooed across his knuckles - meat is great, rolls are great, and the combination with cheese, onions, peppers and whatever else you want is heavenly. Ambience-wise, don't expect more than a few tables, red stools and a counter that run along the long wall, hot sauce, ketchup, and napkins, and you won't be disappointed. Those who aren't working on the something to hang over your belt should probably order just one "shorty" and split it with someone you love. Hey, if you're still hungry when done with that, just order another - but odds are that if you order fries and a shorty and split it with someone, you have a chance at walking away without being in pain. I'm not a small guy (6'1", 230) and I usually walk away sorry that I didn't split with someone. Best. Cheesesteak. Outside. Philly. Okay youse guys, go get 'em.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunchaser528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, NC, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Huge cheesesteaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

A coworker brought me here and I definitely enjoyed it. The Shorty is plenty big, I couldn't finish it.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jpeck1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“i could got to eat amatos every day of the week and love it, not only the cheese steaks r good, the cold sandwiches r...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

i could got to eat amatos every day of the week and love it, not only the cheese steaks r good, the cold sandwiches r on the same level of goodness...cheese fries is a must try, but i also like the onion rings. another plus is that there is a variety of hot sauces u can put on ur sandwich.

Helpful?
Thank deewrek99
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Amato's Cheese Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Amato's Cheese Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing