We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay at reasonable pricing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard San Jose North/Silicon Valley
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was looking for a hotel for a five night stay that was close to Palo Alto, did not hail from the Mesozoic era, and charged somewhat south of exorbitance. With this Courtyard I found a rather new hotel in a newly developed area near Milpitas, right off the 237 expressway.

Being fairly new, the furnishings, carpeting, bathrooms, and bedding are spot-on; no mildew in the showers, no stains on the flooring, and practically no dust anywhere. The bedding itself is some of the most comfortable I've had, although the age of true queen bedding is long passed and the two-queen room I was in was much more like a two-double one. Housekeeping is also up to par, which sometimes is not the case for newer hotels, where the staff is still being trained even after a year of operation. On that point, everyone I interacted with, be it in the morning, afternoon, or evening knew how to answer my questions promptly and with the right information. Kudos to property management.

Some specifics of note:

- The hotel is truly off the expressway, with rooms facing the expressway having their windows a mere 15 meters from traffic. Yes, that's 15 meters. The rooms have fairly good soundproofing; indeed some of the best I've (not) heard, but if you are a light sleeper, you will NOT get a good night's rest if your room is facing the expressway.

- There is a café styled area in the main lobby that serves light fare. You can get breakfast and lunch items for a reasonable price. At the time of this review the hotel was giving out 10% off coupons for guests to try it out. We did not purchase any, however, as there are several dining options within walking distance (see next). There is also the customary "pantry" next to the front desk from where you can purchase the late night snack or soft drink.

- About 100 meters from the hotel you will find a Panera (excellent service and good food for the Panera apassionati), a Chic-Fil-A for even faster fare, a Rok steakhouse (whose menu looks excellent but alas its's food, service, and pricing are all out of whack, leading to an afternoon of severe intestinal distress; ignore any positive reviews you see for it), and various other fast food locales such as Chipotle, Panda Express, Five Guys burgers, and a Sweet Tomatoes.

- The hotel anchors a strip mall. While it is not physically connected to the mall, it shares its parking with it, and if you walk about 50 meters from the lobby across the parking you'll be at the door of a rather large, clean, and well stocked Target. As the hotel has a small refrigerator and microwave, the Target store can provide for the occasional thirst and hunger quencher.

- On the fridge and microwave; the hotel does advertise them as being in every room, and they are a welcome set of items to have. Both were clean and usable. However, bear in mind these are mostly toy-sized, so don't expect to store or cook anything other than small items in them.

- From a quick glance down the hallway, it appeared that the hotel has quite a few handicap accessible rooms. It seems as though the hotel assigns these just as they would regular rooms, so if you mind having additional support items in your bathtub, make a note to request a non-handicap accessible room. The bathtubs are regular entry regardless of the room.

- Checkout is at noon. I requested a late checkout and was provided until 1pm. I did make note of it to two different front desk personnel at different times the day prior. I left the hotel for meetings and returned around 12:45pm to settle the bill. I was surprised when the front desk staffer told me I had already been checked out. My electronic keys still worked, even after that. I surmise from further conversation that while they will check you out at noon, they don't take any action (such as invalidating your keys or cleaning your room) until after 1pm. A welcome touch, as I've been in hotels where they literally run you out the door at noon.

- Lastly, you need a car to get around from here. On that, it should be noted that there appear to be no nearby gas stations. Mapping software kept spitting out gas stations around 3+ miles away, which can be 10 or more minutes in Silicon Valley traffic.

I do fear that with the hotel being somewhat new and not on everyone's radar, the room pricing will invariably rise with time. If they can keep the pricing reasonable and their operations well oiled this will be a definite return hotel in my book.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the side facing opposite to the freeway.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BallenitaAzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard San Jose North/Silicon Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

kind of off the beaten path, this courtyard was pretty much brand new. The cleanest hotel room i've stayed in lately and one of the cleanest ever! great bed, great service. a perfect tay, right next to a shopping mall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dannysixpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in one of their suite-like room and just loved it. Two queen beds, and a large sofa bed. Clean, spacious, and secure. Have been to other Courtyard Marriott gyms in California, but this one is adequately equipped. Pool was nice and warm for May. Lovely breakfast, speedy check-in and out. And Target is just right next door. Will be back some day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Finiasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel has a lot going for it.

The rooms are all brand new and very clean. The staff is super friendly and helpful with whatever you need. Breakfast is not included, but there is cafe in the lobby area. The food is definitely good. The lobby is also very well laid out with a nice open feeling, and large TV area.


The laundry service is not convenient (too early drop off, doesn't operate on weekends ), but there is an onsite W+D. Can do all your laundry in 1 hour for $5!

The hotel itself is tucked away in a corner, so it feels a bit private. But then right outside there is a Target, Panera Bread, CVS, Grocery Store, 5 Guys, Panda Express, Sweet Tomato, and more.

The hotel is right next to 1st street, so a lot of companies are near by, and it is 1 stoplight away from 237 - so you can get anywhere fast (assuming no traffic of course).


Definitely staying here again.

Room Tip: Extra large rooms have ample space.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnMaineUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is one of the nicest, cleanest Courtyards we have stayed in. The decor and design of the building is very well done. The rooms were very clean and nice. The hotel also has an excellent fitness facility with a good selection of new cardio and weight machines. It is centrally located in Silicon Valley right next door to several stores (Target included) and restaurants. Definitely recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wjones6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here last week for business in the area. Overall, really liked this property -- it's only 3 months old so it looks brand new. Room layout is very well thought out. Only thing they are missing are USB ports, but there's plenty of power sockets to plug an adapter into for recharging devices. I was a bit concerned being put on the side of the building facing the 237 highway, but there was no road noise issue for me (must be using double-pane or triple-paned glass). Loved the pullout desk area that can moved around depending on if you want to work near the TV or at the couch etc. Staff is friendly and efficient. Onsite food options are limited but good enough if you need a quick bite. Did not try the bar area, but looks nice.
The lobby area is spacious and comfortable and they have a computer dedicated to free boarding pass printing. Parking is on site and free of charge. Only gripe: at this price point, free coffee in the lobby is called for -- other hotels in the valley at this price provided this *hint hint*. But that's a minor gripe -- the location and room design were great, so I'd come back again.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side not facing the 237 highway. But even if you are, it shouldn't be too much...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brendonla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a very nice stay at this new hotel. Everything was new so no complaints about property. Staff was professional and helpful. Room was very comfortable and well equipped with everything you'd need for a stay. About 15 minutes from the SAP Center. Had a Bistro inside hotel but other restaurants are within walking distance. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces the freeway.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theheatonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
7.1 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport-Silicon Valley
7.0 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,249 reviews
7.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Jose North/Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Jose North/Silicon Valley

Address: 111 Holger Way, San Jose, CA 95134-1372 (Formerly Courtyard San Jose North)
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £98 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Jose North/Silicon Valley 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard San Jose North/Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing