We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ALUM ROCK PARK”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alum Rock Park

Alum Rock Park
Ranked #14 of 132 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alum Rock Park is 718 acres, has restrooms, 149 picnic tables, 85 BBQs, and 2 playgrounds.
TEXAS
Level Contributor
217 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“ALUM ROCK PARK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

A great place to go. I grew up in San Jose and this was the place to go, The pool was a must, the grounds are great and wide open, The water was not great, But don't miss it if you are in the area.
BUD CARTER

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BUDCARTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    39
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good nature close by”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We used to spend many Saturday mornings taking the kids for a "dumb walk". But I think the variety of plants, trees, birds, and other animals made a pleasant day every time. We always see deer, and a hike to the top of eagle rock is good for the circulation. We've brought visitors from all over the world here just toe see how quickly you can get back to nature by just driving up and over the hill into the park.

Helpful?
1 Thank s2global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
222 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Been coming here for a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

I grew up near this park, and used to go everyday when I was a kid. I volunteered at the YSI one Summer, and really think this is a special place. I remember some summers it would actually close down due to fire danger. It has a great park and picnic area, and think they charge to park on the weekends now, but it is still worth it. I feel kind of nostalgic whenever I can make it up here. It is a great place to come and take a stroll.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kguzzetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hiking trails were well maintained, adequate parking, reasonable entrance fee, clean restrooms, picnic areas, plenty of shade trees.

Disliked: Unfriendly park staff, vistor center permanently closed, unique natural spring sites not protected.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank njoynlifeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent walking and picnics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

You have serious hikes and nice walks both. The area along the creek is really beautiful. Lots of birds, too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Alum Rock Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing