We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break during Bay Area visit”

J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines
Ranked #16 of 136 things to do in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our urban winery, located in the heart of San Jose, is owned and operated by the Lohr family. Our sustainably-farmed, estate-grown wines capture the vibrant flavors of California’s Central Coast. We invite you to experience our friendly hospitality and meet our knowledgeable staff. We offer complimentary tastings daily for both the novice wine fan as well as the avid enthusiast. (Closed New Years Day, Easter, Thanksgiving and Christmas Day)
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice break during Bay Area visit”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were invited by friends to keep Saturday afternoon open for wine tasting at Lohr's before dinner. It was a real treat. There were four places at the end of the bar and a charming guy
to pour and discuss wines. A real pleasure and informative to boot.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank chemtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    23
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Free and Fabulous!!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Free tastings, fabulous wine, great hosts. What a hidden gem in San Jose! We were waiting for the perfect bottle of wine to bring home from our Napa/Sonoma trip and we were shocked to have found it here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuzieQtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Wine tasting and it's free”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We're in San Jose for a few days and I found this winery on TripAdvisor. We walked from the St Claire about 1.8 miles each way. Friendly and knowledge staff and they offered several wines that are not available anywhere else. Must do!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jsk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Back after a long absence”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I arrived @ 4:00.m. on a Saturday to find the place packed. The friendly tasting room lead associate said it's slow from opening time to 4:00 on weekends, after which time it is always jammed. They had five people pouring. The bulk of those attending were wine club members.

Tasting FREE of a half dozen respectable wines at fair prices. I chose all reds. Staff friendly and efficient. Some of the usual souveniers for sale.

They also have winemaker dinners, cheese and wine pairings, chocolate and wine pairings. Worthwhile to get on their email list for notice of their numerous events.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“+ delicious & affordable wines, + cordially tasting room staff, + good wine education classes (perfect for wine newbies)”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I have been a J. Lohr wine club member for several years but it was time to move on.
However, I will stay a loyal customer since their wines are really good and can easily stand up the competition in the area.

Most wines come with an affordable price tag and are perfect if you have friends over for dinner. One of my favorites is the Bay Mist Riesling that goes well with spicy food.
In addition their high-end wines are a delight! Over years and still, I really enjoy their Cuvee St. E. – I hate to share it, it’s too good!

The tasting room staff is very nice and it is always fun to come here for a tasting.
If you are a wine newbie take advantage of the wine education classes that are taking place every other month. Moreover the tasting room staff loves to share their knowledge with you.

+ affordable, very good wines
+ cordially tasting room staff
+ wine education classes
+ free wine tastings

Estate wines from: $10
Gestures wines: $18-35
Vineyard wines: $25-35
Cuvee wines: $50

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelinmatecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines also viewed

 

Been to J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing