We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great burger, too much choice?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Counter Santana Row

The Counter Santana Row
Ranked #24 of 2,142 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A Burger for Every Lifestyle. Choose from our fresh and All-Natural ingredients to custom build the burger or salad of your dreams!
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great burger, too much choice?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I have been meaning to come to this restaurant for ages as it was recommended too me by a colleague over a year ago for when I was next visiting from the UK?

I visited on a Tuesday evening with a another colleague. There was a 20 minute wait to be seated so we chose to sit at the bar. The bartender, James, came over and took us through the process of ordering and explained the specials. He was extremely friendly and a great asset to the restaurant!

I eventually ordered from the Custom menu (build your own) whilst my colleague ordered a special. The service was quick and the food was cooked exactly how I wanted it and tasted great!

Overall a great place to visit and I will come here again! Only concern was that there are so many options on the build your own menu that it can be a bit bewildering!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    48
    22
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stopped by the Counter for a late afternoon Burger.
Sweet potato fries are the bomb.
Great burger's and service with a smile!
Pricey yes, but very high quality!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Break0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ducka62
Level Contributor
373 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A burger any way you like it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The Counter has great service and great food. Being able to order any type of burger anyway you like is awesome. The burgers, onion strings and fries aer freshly cooked and taste amazing. We will come again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ducka62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Burgers are good but pricey and sides are bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Popular among shoppers and office workers at the upmarket shopping area of Santana Row in San Jose, the restaurant serves up a wide variety of burgers. It encourages you to 'build your own' burgers, giving you a step by step guide in building one. I noticed that it charges you extra for common toppings like bacon and avocado. The burger was good, thick and juicy. However, the sides we ordered - nacho fries and pickle fries were bad. The former was soggy and the latter too salty and greasy. Good for burgers but prepared to pay about USD12.00 and avoid the sides.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MOKKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent burger, pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Excellent burger, fries and rings. I had the turkey burger and the others in my family had the beef burgers. Turkey burger was excellent. Lots of options / choices in building your burger. Family of 4 cost about $75 with tip. Had to wait for a table at 2pm on a Saturday afternoon, but they have a text message based wait list

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Counter Santana Row also viewed

 

Been to The Counter Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing