We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family lunch”

The Counter Santana Row
Ranked #25 of 2,155 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A Burger for Every Lifestyle. Choose from our fresh and All-Natural ingredients to custom build the burger or salad of your dreams!
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Family lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Nice out side seating. Make your own burger/ salad menu, so really great to personalize. Love the sweet potato fries. Kids menu great too.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda3468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    49
    23
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
412 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Another hamburger place but really good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Gourmet burger joints are springing up all over. This is the first The Counter I have been to (not counting the one at the San Diego airport that serves Breakfast). I like the added sit down service and you create your own. It was a long wait though and I don't know that they were really very efficient with seating and then with serving. The order was right but it just took forever. It was a bit pricey bit all in all, I will go back. I liked that I could order a single portion of fried pickles. Usually you have to get an appetizer size for over $5 and if you are the only one interested in eating them a lot go to waste.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElaineG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LINDEN
Level Contributor
149 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“NOT WORTH AN HOUR WAIT FOR A $15.00 BURGER”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Located in busy Santana Row. Large crowds but also very ineffective service. It looks effective with the I-Pad sign in but people just stand around as the customers wait. Too many couples (2) are seated at tables for 4 or more which makes the wait longer. Sangys are many varieties. You take a base meat or veggy and pick various condiments to put on it. Some are regular prices, many are premium priced. I had the burger, ⅓ pound, over $15.00 plus T & T. Not really a good taste.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BOMAN3672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCMO
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Insanely good burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

It's just a whole new burger experience. So many choices...just go there and enjoy it. We liked sitting outside to enjoy the people-watching on Santana Row.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sbinkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best burgers in the Bay Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Counter has several Bay Area locations, and every one of them give you unforgettable quality. They give you the chance to literally build your burger! There is even a "burger in a bowl " option. The milkshakes are excellent, and they have yummy onion strings!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Counter Santana Row also viewed

 

Been to The Counter Santana Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing