We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Airport Plaza
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great value, great service!”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This hotel is a very good value for a stay in the San Jose/Santa Clara area. The entire hotel has been recently renovated and now sets the standard for updated comfort at a budget price. Minor complaint is that like other hotels in this class the window heating/AC unit can be a bit noisy.

The staff is professional and honest, the maid found and manager returned several clothing items I mistakenly left behind. Location is very conveniet to Santa Clara University, downtown San Jose, and the airport. Note that this Best Western is pet free.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    123
    35
    10
    3
See reviews for
76
65
35
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stay at this hotel frequently. Our newly renovated room was less comfortable than before. Neither the desk chair nor the lounge chair was comfortable, and the decorative colors and paintings are not attractive. Nice shutters on the window!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank BARBARA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2012

My stay was very comfortable and the location was good. Close to airport and close to the location I was in town for. Rooms were remodeled and clean. Staff was very accommodating and helpful. There was remodeling construction being done on the first floor during my stay but the schedule the construction crew worked was very accommodating. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank CAROLYN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed the night of 12/5/12 at the property. The room has been totally renovated and it is clean, in good taste, comfortable bed, flat screen TV, CD/DVD player. Small size but with all the necessary amenities. Continental breakfast is basic but not bad. The renovation noise from the floor below was not ofensive and we were advised in advance. We will return to this property and will recommend it to our friends

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apache Junction, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This Best Western recently underwent a face lift and it was well worth it. The room was large, well appointed, and the bed was super comfortable. I love the little touches like the marble counter tops, the crown molding, and the tile floor entrance to our room. The closet was huge! The internet was plenty fast and the customer service was top notch. The only complaint I have is that the televisions were programed to only be turned up to 30 and for two adults who are not hard of hearing, it was too low. The clerk was not able to turn them up. And, it seems that the hot water is set for a certain temperature that is comfortable but won't get very hot. I realize that's a safety thing, but I would have liked a slightly warmer shower. Those two things won't stop me from staying there in the future, but I sure would like them to address those two issues.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Delaware
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed at the BW Airport Plaza Hotel during their construction phase. The second floor appeared to be about 85% done. They still had signs that needed to be attached to the doors and the stairwell was probably going to be last on the list due to it being subject to traffic from the first floor which was very much under construction.
However, despite the questionable exterior, my room was beautiful. The room was done in warm chocolately browns and other earth tones. It offered the basic amenities--king size bed, desk, sitting ottoman, and well done bathroom--but the bed was SO comfortable and the colors were absolutely inviting.
They also offered breakfast in the morning. You get to choose from various cereals, yogurt, a couple different coffees and other beverages. They also had one of those belgian waffle flip irons--that was my breakfast. :)
The hotel is super easy to get to and is located on one of the "main drags" of San Jose--The Alameda. That street becomes Santa Clara as you get further east but it's the same road that the convention center is on. I-880 is very accessible to the hotel and Hwy 101 isn't too far of a drive. I loved driving that main road at 7 in the morning when there was very little traffic. It gave me a chance to see what was along the road without impeding traffic.
The only "con" that I encountered--you can hear road noise from the room. I was at the very end of the building and could hear even the "ding dong" of the crosswalk signal. On a side note, there is no workout room. Other than that, I recommend this hotel for short stays in San Jose.

Room Tip: Pick one away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nichole n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I was surprised to see how great the hotel looks after the renovations done. the first thing i noticed was the extended lobby and breakfast area. It is alot more spacious, well decorated, and overall a major change. the staff was friendly and courteous as well which is a major plus. The second floor also went through some major renovations and did not mind paying a little extra for the deluxe renovated rooms.The entire hallway looks so much better and elegant with freshly painted walls and new carpet. The new deluxe rooms are in immaculate condition with new carpet, bathroom tile, beds and furniture as well as a flat screen tv and dvd player, well above most budget hotels and some not so cheap ones. Free wifi, parking and continental breakfast is always a plus, i dont get those hotels that charge you extra for basic hotel needs.Overall the stay was better than i expected satisfying all my needs and comfortable, clean rooms. I did not rate it a 5/5 because it is not a 5star hotel but it feels like one.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms are a major upgrade from regular rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelR408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
8.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,254 reviews
1.7 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#48 of 75 in San Jose
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
2.4 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
933 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Airport Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Airport Plaza

Property: Best Western Airport Plaza
Address: 2118 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126-1140 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#4 Family Hotel in San Jose
#6 Business Hotel in San Jose
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Airport Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most charming San Jose, California hotels, the Best Western Airport Plus Plaza delivers old-world charm, modern style and a central location right near the San Jose Airport and San Jose Convention Center. We offer our guests complimentary parking (one car per room per night), complimentary Wi-Fi and a complimentary full hot breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Airport Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western - San Jose Airport Plaza Hotel San Jose
San Jose Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing