We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hobbile sad establishment rude unprofessional guys at front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caravelle Inn & Suites
Ranked #67 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Be sure to bring your own towels they will have a heart attack if u ask for more towel. They told my family they do not provide towels if u want to go swimming,hot tub is suppose to be hot this one is colder then the swimming pool!! Lady at front desk was pleasant but the other two male workers were rude and very unhospitable ... I will never stay or reccomend anyone to this establishment !

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CharlieNCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caravellesanjose, Manager at Caravelle Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Thank you for your opinion, we'd sincerely apologized for any inconvenience during your stay, customer satisfaction is one of our utmost priority. Please contact us directly to resolve this matter to your satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

IFirst of all, I did not look for reviews on this place or I would never have booked it.
When making my reservation, I specifically asked if there was complimentary airport shuttle and was told "Yes." So we call for the shuttle when we arrive at the airport and are told there is not a complimentary shuttle, we would have to call a cab. FIRST rip-off! I tried to talk to the "gal" about falsifying the reservation and all she had was, "Ma"am it's POLICY," if I had a dime for each time I heard the word "Policy" I'd be rich. Then I wanted to cancel reservation, nope, can't do that, it's POLICY!! We got hosed for the cab ride to hotel and again (SECOND rip-off) in the morning to the airport. Room was filthy, air/heater was full of dust and who knows what else, couldn't turn it on. Locks were minimal, windows even more minimal. Heard right thru the walls, tons of noise. Seemed to rent by the hour. Sleep at the airport rather than booking this hotel! BIG rip-off, unwilling to work with customers.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caravellesanjose, Manager at Caravelle Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

We apologized for the misunderstanding, on our website, we'd disclosed such information very clearly. We do not provide free shuttles, it is available for a fee unless you are our Park, Sleep and Fly guests. Your satisfaction is our priority, please call us directly so we can resolve this matter to your satisfaction.

Best Regards
Caravelle Management
408-436-8488

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I'm a fairly cheap person so when we found the Caravelle for significantly less than all the others in the area we took it. After all, we just needed it for one night since we had a connecting flight early the next morning. Sometimes being cheap pays off and sometimes you get what you pay for. For the Caravelle, you get less than you pay for. Here's a list:

- As soon as we opened the door we were beaten back by the smell of stale smoke and weak air freshner that did little to mask the stench. Apparently the "no-smoking" sign was just a suggestion.
- Carpet was disgusting. There was a dark red stain which looked a lot like blood or some kind of toxic waste.
- No clock in the room. This is kind of an issue when you need to get up at 4:30 to catch a flight.
- Tons of street noise. -light rail, traffic, etc.
- Holes in walls that were poorly patched
- Locks: The dead bolt sort of worked, but were not much of a deterrent. The locks on the windows were not secure at all. And the lock on the door to the connecting room was one of those old hinge/flap locks. Safety is not a top priority at the Caravelle.
- The closet doors had been removed and replaced with old, crappy saloon style doors. This isn't a big deal, but is indicative of the lack of decent, or any, maintenance.
- No hotel shuttle service early morning or late evening. They contracted w/ a taxi service which is poorly run and very confusing to figure out at the airport. We believe our taxi driver was sharing his tuberculosis with his passengers.

We would give this hotel a zero if we could. This is the kind of place that rents by the hour.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caravellesanjose, General Manager at Caravelle Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

We're sorry you had bad experience staying with us, we pride ourselves as new owner and management, your happiness and satisfaction is our first priority. Our renovation are now 80% completed. We'd like to invite you to visit us again to experience the difference, please call us directly to arrange your revisit to Caravelle Inn.

Sincerely,
Caravelle Management
408-436-8488

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Terrible hotel, payed 1 night and they charged 3 and never got the money back. The person responsible for the refund, didn't answer the complaint emails I sent, and it has been over a month, and still no money or answer back. Apart from that, the service wasn't good, and the room lacked cleanliness. I don't recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rlopezvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caravellesanjose, Public Relations Manager at Caravelle Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Sorry for any inconveniences, all reservation from out of country guests are non-refundable once the payments are made, simply because it's a guaranteed reservation. We'd believed this policy was disclosed long before you've decided to stay with us, we also believed this policy is the industry standard for all hotels in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Terrible hotel, payed 1 night and they charged 3 and never got the money back. The person responsible for the refund, didn't answer the complaint emails I sent, and it has been over a month, and still no money or answer back. Apart from that, the service wasn't good, and the room lacked cleanliness. I don't recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mpodestac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I booked through Hotwire. When I arrived they said they didn't have a room for us. We had already paid for our room and they gave it away. We had to go 20 miles to find another hotel. I would never trust them with a reservation. Apparently paid reservations mean nothing to them. They said they had four other people over booked as well. Didn't see a room, the street was very very noisy. Go somewhere where you can count on a room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank ckraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caravellesanjose, Manager at Caravelle Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Thank you for choosing Caravelle Inn for your hotel needs, we are very disappointed to hear you had bad experience on your reservation. Your satisfaction is very important to us, we would like to invite you visit us again the next time you're in San Jose, please call us directly to arrange your next stay at Caravelle Inn.

Best Regards,
Caravelle Management
408-436-8488

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The staff is very nice, but the facility leaves a lot to be desired. The plug in plate covers on two electrical outlets were hanging out of the wall. Same with the water shut off valve for the toilet in the bathroom. The carpet was old and the walls were thin. Breakfast was small boxes of presweetened cereal, and packaged pastries. The coffee and tea was good.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1garrygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caravellesanjose, General Manager at Caravelle Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for your opinions, our property has been gone through a continuous renovation in the past few months and it is ready to welcome you back. Please call us directly the next time you visit San Jose to experience the different - Our phone number is 408-436-8488

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
1.1 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#41 of 75 in San Jose
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#52 of 75 in San Jose
68 reviews
1.7 mi away
Valley Inn
Valley Inn
#49 of 75 in San Jose
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
3.5 mi away
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#18 of 32 in Santa Clara
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravelle Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravelle Inn & Suites

Address: 1310 N 1st St, San Jose, CA 95112-4709 (Formerly Executive Inn Airport)
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £78 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caravelle Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caravelle Inn & Suites is a unique business class hotel located minutes from the San Jose International Airport and Downtown San Jose. Ideally situated on the light rail system and all freeways for easy travel. Complimentary continental buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Caravelle Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravelle Hotel San Jose
Caravelle Inn And Suites
Executive Hotel Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing