We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in a great location or a particularly nice hotel”

Executive Inn San Jose
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Executive Inn San Jose
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not in a great location or a particularly nice hotel”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

It's a below avg place to stay given the rate you pay. Not in a very safe neighborhood so be careful. Rooms are ok. Carpet was a bit dirty and there was an odd smell in my room. The bed looked a little dirty so I ended up sleeping without any blankets. Probably won't do it again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank hdt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    0
    2
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
376 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I had to phone several times to have all of the erroneous and extra charges removed. Hotel was really not too bad, but their business management really is appalling.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Chicago
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2007

This place is so bad that it is almost funny. As a previous reviewer noted, you are handed a TV remote along with your key on check in. Check in, by the way, is conducted through bullet proof glass. I think this has less to do with the neighborhood than with your reaction when you see your room.

My room featured a door which had been kicked out of the frame, and inexpertly re-hung. The carpet was filthy, and the bathroom was so bad the roaches refused to enter (ok- I’m exaggerating. There were roaches in the bathroom as well). The air conditioner rattled and wheezed, but would not heat the room. I could not shut it off, as the controls had been ripped off. Perhaps I should have been given an air conditioner knob at check-in? The floor and one wall were covered with something brown and sticky, and the ceiling was half covered in black mold. The shower fixtures were sticking out of raw holes in the dry wall, and were connected backwards.

All in all, not my favorite place. As prices were not much lower than surrounding hotels, I not imagine any circumstance where anyone should stay here.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — everything- but mostly the filth and indiffernet service
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank winnydpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2007

This place is nasty, dumpy and really unsafe. It was a nice place years ago, but then management switched and it went down hill. The new people allow prostitution, drugs and lord knows whatelse to hang around. The rooms are run down, things break, stink and no one seems to care. For the same price you can go to the Clarion down the street and its great there.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — unsafe, dirty
  • Stayed June 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travelSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2007

I knew I was in trouble when they handed me the remote control for the TV along with my room key. When I opened the door my worst fears were confirmed. The carpet was severely stained and ripped near the bathroom, there were dust webs hanging in the corners of the room, the stuffed chair was ripped and stuffing hanging out, the seat stained. There were no cups nor faceclothes and the bathroom was ice cold because there was a 2x3 rectangular hole in the wall where a telephone used to be - letting in cold air. All the furniture was scarred with cigarette burn marks (this was a no smoking room) and the bath matt had a large black stain on it. The second day of my stay, after I complained to HOTELS.COM the hotel never made up my room. The day they did make up I had to ask again for replacement face cloths. I paid 2X what I normally paid to stay in a Motel 6 in the same area and the quality was below Motel 6 quality levels. I would feel very uncomfortable about letting my family stay in this motel.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — condition of the room and service
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Mainer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2005

Every room in the hotel had one problem. The toilet wouldn't flush or some problem, the door broke down and had to be kicked down by an employee..you get the idea. However, it was very nice and cheap and comfy to stay in. It was close to some cool places.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShortName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camano Island, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2004

Absolutely a dump. The place is trashed, the front desk person appeared to be under the influence. The room was filthy with a hole in the wall of the bathroom, the room door had no handle on the inside. I left immediately. STAY AWAY.

Helpful?
3 Thank camanoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
#49 of 75 in San Jose
88 reviews
4.8 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose South
4.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,251 reviews
10.9 mi away
Milpitas Inn
Milpitas Inn
#13 of 20 in Milpitas
50 reviews
16.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Morgan Hill
Comfort Inn Morgan Hill
#5 of 13 in Morgan Hill
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Inn San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Inn San Jose

Property: Executive Inn San Jose
Address: 3930 Monterey Hwy, San Jose, CA 95111-3402
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing