We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 star room, 4 star service/location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Ranked #13 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
United States
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“2 star room, 4 star service/location”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Location is convienent - near the SJC Airport, convention center, and freeways. Stayed there for two nights, and checked-in around midnight one evening. The guest services representative was very friendly and waived our parking for that evening since it was so late already. Unfortunately I was so tired that I didn't get his name - but it was definitely unexpected, and very appreciated! The downstairs lobby, bar and dining area is nice and updated; however, once we got to the room things went downhill. The overall room needs an upgrade. Bathroom was old and somewhat dingy, bathroom towels were thin, furniture was old and beat up - lots of scratches, and marks. We have stayed at many Hyatt properties, and although Hyatt Place is not one of their higher end chains, I did expect a lot more from a Hyatt property in general. My husband is a business traveler who will always try to stay at a Hyatt property before looking elsewhere, but in San Jose? He now stays at a Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding service and I am happy to hear that you were well taken care of. I am also happy to let you know that we will be replacing all of our desks and dressers by the end of this year which will make a huge difference in the guest room appearance. We are always continuing to improve and feedback such as yours make sure we are doing it where the guests would like to see it most. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    271
    179
    82
    35
See reviews for
173
95
41
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The location is excellent- if you're here for business it is right near the airport and conference centre, and if you're here with the family, you are right next to attractions like the children's discovery museum, the tech museum, the sights of downtown San Jose. Rooms are nice and well catered, the free breakfast is excellent, and there is gd 24/7 gallery host service (call down and order your food then pick it up). Parking was quite expensive but reasonable for a city centre location. Wifi wasn't great for downloads eg streaming video, especially in evenings, but all in all a very pleasant dtay

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDAS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I reserved a room with two beds and a couch. I got a room with two beds and no couch. We went right back down and they switched us to another room. That was appreciated. The parking is expensive and the room was way overpriced ($300). Oh well.

The bartender, Nick, was very nice. He recommended a restaurant and it was amazing! The hotel is fairly close to everything. We took the kids to Raging Waters. They had a blast. We had dinner at Mexcal (thanks again, Nick)! Then, we had ice cream at Cream. That was also delicious. Beds are comfy. It's noisy due to the airport. No swimming pool. Boo. But, the breakfast was yummy. Oh, and the kids wanted to go for a walk at night. Nope! Lots of homeless. It didn't feel safe. Overall, it was a good experience. I'll get over the fact that I had to pay so much to stay here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Packersfan1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for the review and I am glad Nick was able to take good care of you. I hope you and your family enjoyed your stay and please feel free to contact me directly the next time you will be staying with us. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is the first Hyatt Place at which I've stayed, and I was mostly impressed. The price ($120) was extremely reasonable for a downtown property, and the location couldn't be better if downtown is your destination: close to the freeway, a few blocks from San Jose State University, right next door to the Tech Museum (great for kids), not far from the art museum, and surrounded by a variety of restaurants and landmarks. The room was very nice--a partial glass wall partitioned off the bed from a spacious corner-couch, and the desk was larger than the norm, which was great for my work. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the bathroom was nice as well. There was a spacious and well-equipped workout room (with barbells, ellipticals, bikes, and treadmills), but contrary to a hotel TV info-channel picture and invitation to enjoy the pool, there is NO pool (or hot tub) at this hotel. They also offer a plentiful free hot/cold breakfast, and a 24 hour sandwich/snack/drink bar (but no hotel gift/supply store).

Downsides: pricey parking relative to room cost ($22/day), no pool, noise from conference/party rooms close to the lobby, occasional very loud noise from jets (it's right under the flight path to SJC airport), constant troubles with the parking lot gate, and uneven service (reception personnel were very nice, but calls to the front desk to forego maid service for promotional food vouchers were ignored one day and provided no voucher another day). The area is also plagued by multitudes of homeless people, but that's true of downtown San Jose generally.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors away from street traffic noise and conference/reception room noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AeneasAtSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Reviews such as these will help us get better at providing the right service and services for our guests. We look forward to another opportunity to earn your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Free a.m. Kitchen Skillet was awesome. Enjoyed every morning of it. Other than that, my stay at the Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown was uncomfortable. My family was moved from room to room the first night because of a flood on the carpet - due to the faulty air conditioning.
If that was not enough hassle, the second room we were in during my second night also had a faulty air conditioning; it just stopped working in the middle of the night.
I was advised that an engineer will come in the morning, so we just had to endure the hot room all night.
It was disturbing that the staff had very poor communication not only to fellow staff members, but also to guests.

All I wanted was to get what I actually paid for. Unfortunately, nobody was able to provide or at the very least offer any sensible solution to my very unpleasant stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
I sincerely apologize for the AC issues you had while a guest here. I would like the opportunity to make this right for you so please call me directly if you would like to discuss further. I will follow up with the staff to ensure we address these issues more efficiently in the future. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience as we are always looking for ways to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I spent two nights here. Check in went very well and the room was spacious, comfortable and clean. I have stayed in two other Hayatt Place hotels and they were both brand new and very modern. This is a notch below that but still fine. Staff was helpful in calling me a cab and the breakfast was like the other Hyatt Place hotels - not the Four Seasons but a step above typical "free" hotel breakfasts. You can do a lot worse.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GK12650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on our hotel. We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

So, we check in at 9pm after a long day of travels, only to find that the 2 Double bed room with sofa that we reserved for 5 people AND I have a printed confirmation for is not available. I only booked here because it accomodated 5 (supposedly). Instead we are given an ADA room with 2 double beds... No rollaway available. The front desk ataff were very nice but basically said "too bad" and didnt come up with any other solution. The adjacent parking structure for the hotel only is near empty and yet I'm told by hotel staff that there are no other rooms because the whole hotel is booked. Thank God we happened to have a sleeping bag in the car for our trip since one person had to sleep on the floor!! The room only had 3 towels so we had to call for more (which they did promptly bring).

The room and hotel is modern and seems nice and business like. Wallpaper in the bathroom is peeling by shower and I had to laugh at "free" earplugs by bedside... Since this hotel is by the airport the massive planes overhead require their use for sleep. Luckily the sound of jet engines is mildly also drowned out by the in-window-wall air conditioning unit that is rattling and shaking, the running small refrigerator and loud neighbors through the paper thin walls. Gonna be a great night! (Not!) Highly recommend a different hotel if you have more than 4 people in your party and you like peaceful, quiet places to sleep.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SCrawford97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S, General Manager at Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I am sincerely sorry for the issues you experienced while at our hotel. I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you and see what we can do to address them and reassure you that this is not a standard experience here at the Hyatt Place San Jose. Please feel free to give me a call directly.

Thank you!

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
952 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#8 of 75 in San Jose
637 reviews
6.9 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown

Property: Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Address: 282 Almaden Blvd, San Jose, CA 95113-2003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Downtown San Jose, Hyatt Place is your choice for uncomplicated travel. A short walk to craft beer and hip dining destinations with our own dining and beverage options available 24/7. Delicious free breakfast with ever stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Jose
San Jose Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing