We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 San Jose Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 San Jose Airport
Ranked #57 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Porterville, California
Level Contributor
359 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Better than expected, room was quite large for a Motel 6 (room 202), altho no coffee maker or fridge. already knew to bring our own toiletries, as well as travel size coffee maker. Spreads on beds looked new, carpet was clean, and bathroom had new fixtures. Sheets were clean. A few times it got kind of noisy, but once I got to sleep, nothing woke me up. Sports Lounge/Bar a couple buildings up the street, as well as a Denny's and a 7-11. Next street up had a Holiday Inn, but $10 for a bloody mary made it worse than airport prices. Good thing I wasn't expecting to use the pool, since there were no chairs/tables/lounges in the pool area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicDic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    11
    15
    12
See reviews for
9
12
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
86 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

...we had to step outside to yawn. Seriously, tho, I've never had such a small room in all my travels in the US. The queen bed was tight against one wall to make room to squeeze by the TV on the other side to get to the bathroom. The TV faced the side of the bed because there was no room at the foot. No bedside tables--not enough room. No refrigerator, no coffee maker. (Free coffee in the lobby). No closet, just a protruding rack to bump your head on.
You're probably reading this review because you want a cheap room near the airport. Do yourself a favor, check out the EZ-8 Motel just around the corner, for the same price or lower. Click here for their rate calendar and info: into.http://www.ez8motels.com/locations.htm

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rnbnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I have stayed at many motel 6 locations. This one is not one of the better ones. Customer service is hit and miss. As is the cleanliness of the rooms. most of the rooms are noisy since it is right next to the freeway.There is a dennys next door and some other dinning places close by. Bottom line.......I have been here a few times, will not return. There is better in the area for the same price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I was travelling America on a budget hence my staying here. Ok so here goes -

The Good - It's very easy to get to as the train/trolley line stops literally right outside it. This was perfect for us as we were coming from the Amtrak station. There's a Dennys opposite for food and a convenience store just down the street. The guy working the front desk was very friendly and helpful to us. Clean room with microwave and tv in. Laundry facilities that were useful to us at the time.

The Bad - The area is not safe. There was a total psycho on the train who was very intimidating and got off at our stop and just wandered around watching us and staring at our hotel. A couple got into a HUGE screaming fight in the street, he then smashed a window. The before mentioned convenience store has posters up inside of all the criminals that have come in and commited crimes in the store. The wall is COVERED. From thefts, to asualts to god knows what else. Strange people hang around right outside the hotel. Not the hotels fault per say, but still not nice to stay by.
It's a bit run down, the floor of the upstairs balcony is uneven and feels like its giving way.

For my own safety i wouldn't stay here again, however it was fine for 2 nights.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_11e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

First of all the desk person was a complete A-hole, the bathroom looked like it has never been cleaned before, someone kicked our door in at 1:30am and when we got him out we decided to leave and noticed somebody had broke into the car and stole the change compartment and kut the seats I wouldnt advise anybody to stay here in there life

Room Tip: Never stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

This is the only Motel I know of wehere you can stay one nite and park and fly for free!!!!!!!
I paid for one nite and left for a week. Its cheaper than paying to park at the airport and you get a good nites sleep. you can catch a free shuttle to the airport only a 2 block walk. Its Motel 6 and i taint fancy but it works! Stuff shirts need to go elsewhere! If you want the best deal in Ca on park and fly this is it!!! Thanks Tom Bodette!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DocDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

When we arrived in San Jose, it was about 1:30 am. We were so tired that nearly anything would have been OK…nearly. The first room offered smelled of stale urine and smoke. Although we agreed that stale smells of those sorts were better than fresh, we asked for a different room.

The second room didn't smell, but the carpet was green with some brown stains everywhere, the bathroom shower was just a corner drain with a curtain. There was no toilet paper. We called the front desk and was asked if it was needed right away. Odd. Anyway, when the toilet flushed, it screeched so loudly that we couldn't even talk to each other. This continued for nearly 30 minutes. while that was taking place, we looked around the room more, and saw that it was completely filthy. I didn't even want to pull back the covers of the bed for fear of what I would find.

So at about 2am, in the parking lot so I could talk, I was on the phone with other hotels in the area to see if there were rooms available.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eightfifteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.9 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#38 of 76 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Jose - Airport
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#31 of 76 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn San Jose Airport
Days Inn San Jose Airport
#49 of 76 in San Jose
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Jose Airport

Property: Motel 6 San Jose Airport
Address: 2081 North 1st Street, San Jose, CA 95131
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Jose Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Motel 6 San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Jose Airport Hotel San Jose
Motel Six San Jose
San Jose Motel 6
San Jose Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing