We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shady, Scary, Dirty Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 San Jose Airport
Ranked #58 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 28 February 2010

This Motel 6 is absolutely disgusting. Everything was bad, unfortunately, from the management to the quality of the rooms to the location. It is a pretty shady place. There were some pretty shady people around there. There was no problem with check in, but then again what problems should arise when just checking in? All you are doing is paying the cashier and getting your room key.

Everything bad started after that. The second floor seems very unstable, like the concrete hallway will collapse any second. My room was very cold uninviting and desolate. There was a huge gap beneath the door, allowing lots of cold air to come in. The heater/ac unit was very old and made a huge noise. The room smelled a little odd. The amenities were pretty standard Motel 6. The bed sheets were stained and dirty. I decided to leave the Motel immediately. I talked to the representative at the front desk, and he said he couldn't refund my money and I would have to talk to management. Management decided against refunding my money as well. I was very angry and furious. I would never stay at another Motel 6. This was my first experience too.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stockmaster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2009

The bed was awful, the room was smelly and sort of dirty, the people next door were up all night... a family of tweakers, I think. I worried for my safety and for my car being broken into. Don't stay here. It ain't worth the low price. Sleep in your car--probably more comfortable than the beds there.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malendia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Sorry to say, I can not give a positive rating to this establishment. The first room they gave us was unclean and the bed had not been made. On our way to view a second room, we noticed suspicious activity close to our room. Because we felt unsafe, we proceeded to find somewhere else to stay.

Bottom line. There are much better options near San Jose airport if you are willing to pay about $40 over what you would pay here.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank britromancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

There really isn't much to say - it's your typical Motel 6.

The good: great price and great location. There's a Denny's that conveniently shares a parking lot, and all the business I was in San Jose to conduct was nearby. There were no cleanliness problems, no noise problems or trouble with the neighbors, and no service issues. In fact, the service was above average.

The bad: possibly the smallest room I've ever been squeezed into. There was some initial concern over the quantity/quality of people standing around outside their hotel rooms (but in fairness, there was no trouble from anyone). That typical Motel 6 bedspread.

All in all, there's nothing great to be said, but nothing really bad either. If you need a cheap place, and you're not spoiled for frills, than this is perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bodega1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2006

After a long road trip with a few bumps along the way, this was possibly the nicest place the road trip lead me to. I was placed in a room that was at the end of the building and had the housekeeping room on the other side - it was wonderful! There was no noise to come from anywhere! The laundry facility was nice, also. A gas station and restaurant are conveniently located next door. My only complaint: how is there no wi-fi, considerring the city??

I would suggest this location to anyone looking for San Jose Airport accomodations.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelinglouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2006

I give this hotel a 2-star. I spent one night here and was not impressed. It was raining out side and since the door was not that well insulated and sealed I could rain and water collect outside of my doorway; bad engineering. Also, the mattress on my bed had not been rotated… at all. I’m sure you know what that may feel like.

There is a Denny’s restaurant across of the parking lot. So you can eat away all of your grumpyness from the restless night prior.

  • Stayed: December 2002
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshua P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank neoyin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.9 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#54 of 75 in San Jose
70 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Jose (SJC Airport)
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#45 of 75 in San Jose
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#52 of 75 in San Jose
121 reviews
2.1 mi away
Valley Inn
Valley Inn
#50 of 75 in San Jose
28 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Airport Plaza
Best Western Airport Plaza
#10 of 75 in San Jose
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Jose Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Jose Airport

Address: 2081 N 1st St, San Jose, CA 95131-2002
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £80 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Jose Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 San Jose Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Jose Airport Hotel San Jose
Motel Six San Jose
San Jose Motel 6
San Jose Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing