We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will work - if you're desperate...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 San Jose South
Ranked #59 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Fort Worth, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will work - if you're desperate...”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Checked into hotel with no issues, front desk staff was courteous. The non-smoking room was pretty shoddy and old looking and smelled like smoke but was just looking for a hot shower and bed. Went to take a shower and got only 3 minutes of hot water. The front desk staff was able to move us to a nicer smelling room with hot water.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadnessBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    19
    10
    18
See reviews for
11
5
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colusa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I've stayed at this Motel 6 quite a few times while in San Jose and I've never had a problem with it! The staff have always been plesant and helpful no matter what time of day or night I have arrived. It doesn't seem to be the greatest of areas, but they do have security guards and as a single lady, I've never felt like I was in danger. The rooms are nice, clean and the beds have always been comfy. The bathrooms have 2 towels, 1 hand towel, 1 wash cloth and 1 bar of soap. If you need more than that, I'm sure they would be happy to accomodate. I've always been satisfied with the tv programming offered and the wifi worked well the one time I paid to have it. Overall this place is great! I plan on staying here over and over in the future!

One last thing that I only noticed the last time I stayed. Apparently there is a loud speaker over which they will tell people to get out of the pool. I stayed in a room on the back side of the office, near the pool, and when I heard the noise I was a bit nervous. Once I realized what it was, I was fine. In that area, I don't blame the desk staff one bit for not wanting to go confront pool patrons at midnight. This could definitely bother some people, so just a warning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I needed a place to stay for a few weeks while apartment hunting. The young lady at the front desk was friendly and courteous. I got a room key and proceeded to my room. Before I could even make it there, an Indian man appeared out of nowhere obviously coming from a different route. He proceeded to watch me and my 2 teens unpack our car. I returned to the office to see him leering in the back office. I Related the story to the clerk and said im not here from Craigslist, i dont appreciate the stalker and i wanted a refund. She stated he was the manager and could not refund my money. The maids were nice. Weekends are very noisy and the smell of smoke was horrible. Saw some pimps and hookers. I know if I wasnt a Black woman this racist manager wouldnt have spied on me!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Santa Clara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

You just wouldn't expect a Motel 6 to be such a good experience, but the value is hard to beat!!! I highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexontwowheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We stayed for two nights - did not think this was the "safest area" to stay, but affordable. Felt safer as we watched Security calmly eject a bunch of rowdy drunks, then escort a happy but clearly drunk person to his room for the night. The officer did not hesitate to help when we asked if he would escort us to our room. Security is around until 4:00am - makes it safer for the weary traveler. The room on the other hand was subpar even for a motel 6. Musty stale smelling room, old shoddy furniture, and the bedspreads make you wonder how often they are really washed. Would recommend party, drunk folks stay away - this is not the place to party, drink, and do drugs (GOOD!!!). Security is great!!! Not sure I would really recommend for business travelers unless you are just passing thorugh and on a tight budget - cleaner motels exist.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellensburg, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2008

Busy little hotel - lots of young adults and truckers. Not too noisy and decent room. Laundry room was close and in working order. We just stopped for the night along the way (unplanned) which was decent enough but we probably would not seek the hotel out if that was our destination. Staff was courteous.

  • Liked — location to Winchester House
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MsCurlyboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2004

We felt very unsafe in this hotel. Added to that the room absolutely stunk, it was awful.

We have stayed at other Motel 6 places and found them to be good, but this was unbelievable. We hardly slept, and left very early the following day.

Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingFamilyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds
0.2 mi away
Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
5.2 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#28 of 75 in San Jose
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#48 of 75 in San Jose
48 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
Clarion Inn Silicon Valley
#49 of 75 in San Jose
88 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Jose South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Jose South

Property: Motel 6 San Jose South
Address: 2560 Fontaine Rd, US 101/Bayshore Freeway at Tully Road East, San Jose, CA 95121-2131
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Jose South 2*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 San Jose South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Jose South Hotel San Jose
Motel Six San Jose
San Jose Motel Six
San Jose Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing