We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 San Jose South
Ranked #61 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed at this property over the weekend

Stayed in the new Motel 6 renovated rooms

Room was very small

Strange layout

Uncomfortable new beds

And expensive for a Motel 6

Wifi an extra $3.00 per night

Spend a couple dollars more and stay at a nicer place

Room Tip: Find one of Motel 6 older rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Here it is folks
We arrived late Friday night
Tired from the road . Dreaming of getting horizontal the granite beds nearly crippled me the pillows where like sacks of grain (next day)what is absolutely terrible was my 6 yr old daughter meet a little girl about 10 yrs old and wanted to play with her I said okay the little girl came to our room and I had went to grab some food the little girl eye's opened wide when she saw the food I ask her if she was hungry she said yes I gave her a complete meal there was a man who was in charge of her later ti find out it was her mother's pimp who was working the truckers parking lot for the motel this guy was a real piece of crap . I told the motel management they did nothing dispite the screaming and yelling that this guy was causing.I always carry my gun where ever I go glad I had it at this place glass breaking through out the night hookers and pimps running the Isle all night very scary place and then at around 7:30 there was a extremely loud anoucement over the speaker's that sounded like a evacuation order or a prisoner escaped anouncement very very loud scared some older guest the
voice on the speaker was ordering all non guest and people loarding to leave this place is horrible I literally sleep with my gun on my chest and sleep'ed very little because of the rock hard bed and crap that was going on outside my door . If I had to do this again I would sleep in my car before ever going back to this crap hole ever! !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josephbenenati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The Hubby and I decided to take a spontaneous vacation and drive the coast the week before Thanksgiving. EVERY SINGLE hotel, b&b, and inn was booked from Gilroy to Napa. We "lucked" out with this one.

The security guard checking cars as they come in, the curfew for visitors and the fact that there is no lobby but a walk up check-in put us on high alert. Looked as though this was the crashing station for every day laborer, workman, semi driver and construction worker in the state. The front desk staff were pleasant, knowledgeable and efficient. Only issue is they should be as careful as possible when telling/showing people where their room is on the property map, since other guest are hanging around waiting to get checked in as well.

Despite the amped up security, the room was spotless. Clean and updated. We had a quiet great night's sleep. I would not suggest coming here as a woman alone, but if necessary keep your wits about you and don't hang about advertising that you are alone. This is a place to crash and leave.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluepill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Let me say that it's been a looooong time since I've spent the night at a Motel 6 and this recent stay reinforces the reason why Motel 6 is not on my short list of places to stay. It was Veteran's Day and I had to make a reservation for me and my son on a few day's notice. Because of the fact that it was a holiday, many of my go-to hotels were already booked and those that were available, were priced way higher than my budget was willing to handle.

When the reservation was made, I was not informed that the property is currently under renovation. On a high note, it's good that this property is being rennovated, but truthfully, the room we were assigned should not even be on the list of available rooms.

As we drove onto the property, the first red flag was the fact that there was a security officer patrolling the property. We were exhausted, so we let that red flag fly by and checked in. We entered the room and the smell of "old motel room" instantly greeted our noses. The carpet was dirty with several holes that had been patched with mis-matched carpeting; the plastic grille work on the wall air conditioner unit had been shattered, the sheets were extremely threadbare with stains, the bathroom tiles were discolored, the toilet lid was loose, the bath towels were threadbare, there were several unusual stains on the walls and no wall art with only one chair and no Gideon Bible.

We shrugged it off since we were two guys and said, "hey, let's pretend we're camping." Don't get me wrong, camping is fun, but this was not fun. The stairway to the second floor was adjacent to one of our walls and the foot traffic was constant. The occupants in the adjacent room were so annoying as their headboard banged against our wall for 30 minutes on two occasions durng the night. Car horns and alarms honked throughout the night and loud talking people passed our room frequently.

As if that were not enough, we finally were able to get to sleep around 3:00 am, only to be awakened by the sounds of the construction crew who began working at 6:30 am.

I don't care if Motel 6 promises to "... leave a light on for you." I would never choose to stay here or any other of their properties again.

Room Tip: Book a room at the Fontaine Inn next door. It has to be a better experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urbanzenmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

You certainly get what you pay for. This was a decently clean room to stay for a night. No frills, so don't kid yourself. It's still a Motel 6. Part of town what actually not bad.
Main complaint iS noise. I think the walls were literally just paper and paint. We could hear our neighbors all night (with what sounded like 12 loud children). We could hear the traffic from the parking lot, and even from the street a few hundred feet away. If you're a light sleeper, pick somewhere else...

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcook970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have stayed here 2 times now because of work, never again! Its infested with hookers and drugs. We had been woke up at 2 am by loud neighbors called front desk, nothing was done. Room are stained with blood on carpet, people walking around all night long our dog barking thank god to alert us. If you are very desperate stay here if not go down road. I will never stay here again

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank Christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 San Jose South, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Christine b – The poor cleanliness, service and maintenance conditions you encountered during your recent stay are not consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6. We sincerely apologize for your negative experience and encourage you to contact our guest relations department to report your experience so we can serve our guests better in the future: 1-800-577-3435.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Where to start? Number 1 I am convinced that any nice review is a fraud. I am currently in a room. I wish I would have forked out 30 more bucks and stayed down the street. If you don't have the money to do that sleep in your car! Not a joke or exaggeration. I am in town for doctors appointments. After a five hour drive I was disappointed with the room but decided to light a candle to kill the smell instead of change hotels. Bad choice. So decided a hot shower would be nice. Seriously never heard of a hotel running out of hot water at night in 5 minutes. Ok forgot to say first off this hotel is between the social security office and a apartment complex! Upon arrival there was a woman screaming and cursing and I thought fighting someone in her complex. No joke. It is a Wednesday night and this hotel is still loud and partying at 11pm. I have to keep checking my car I am afraid it is gonna get broke into. A gangster guy came and knocked on our door. Ok I am not some easily spooked woman. I am 31 and from a diverse background and this place is even too much for me. I desperately want my money back but am literally uneasy about going outside now and don't wanna call the front desk and make a scene. I will never ever do motel 6 again.it has gone way down hill. I can honestly say this is the worst hotel I have stayed in in 7 years. I am so discouraged as I have a medical test in the morning and can not even rest and am afraid of waking up to no car. Please motel 6 take your name from these kinds of places and at least get back a rep of being clean, cheap and SAFE!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Johnny N Bernic... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
5.2 mi away
Alura Inn
Alura Inn
#43 of 75 in San Jose
116 reviews
5.5 mi away
San Jose Airport Inn
San Jose Airport Inn
#52 of 75 in San Jose
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fontaine Inn Downtown-Fairgrounds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Silicon Valley
0.2 mi away
Best Western Lanai Garden Inn & Suites
5.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#51 of 75 in San Jose
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Jose South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Jose South

Address: 2560 Fontaine Rd, US 101/Bayshore Freeway at Tully Road East, San Jose, CA 95121-2131
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £71 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Jose South 2*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Motel 6 San Jose South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Jose South Hotel San Jose
Motel Six San Jose
San Jose Motel Six
San Jose Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing