We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business purposes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersGold level
Malden, NL
Level Contributor
366 reviews
263 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“Good for business purposes”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed here on a business trip for 4 nights in late April 2012. It is a large business hotel close to San Jose airport. The surroundings are boring, however, the hotel was good. Large room, good desk to work, free wifi, comfortable bed. The swimming pool area is nice but rather small for such a big hotel. The light rail system is close by which is easy for transportation (2 dollars).
The hotel could improve on customer service. The staff in front of the main entrance did not pay any attention to me neither when I arrived (I had to carry my own luggage) nor when I needed a taxi. In contrast, staff in the lounge bar was very attentive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Mianel,

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your business travels to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback, both good and bad.

We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay here while on your business trip. We are very happy that you were satisfied with our large rooms, good desk space, comfortable “Sweet Dreams” mattresses, and swimming pool area. We are also glad to see you were able to take advantage of the light rail system down the street from us. It is so close and inexpensive we love encouraging our guests to use the VTA and explore San Jose!

We are so sorry to hear our customer service was not satisfactory. Conrad Hilton’s mission statement is "To fill the earth with the light and warmth of hospitality”. If we as employees are not giving 100% to our guests, then we are not following the words of our leader, Conrad Hilton. I have forwarded your review to our Director of Front Office Operations to guarantee this issue is taken care of ASAP.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future and your stay with us is completely flaw-less.

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    643
    442
    213
    94
See reviews for
293
256
213
1,114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The room was nice and the bed was comfy, but that was about all I can say in the "nice" department. No refrigerator, no free wireless, expensive breakfast, crowded, noisy. The corridor we were staying on was overrun with teenagers shouting and slamming the doors until 3am in the morning -- when we asked later on, the staff member told us that there was some sort of sororrity gather (I'm fine with large groups of college students having events at hotels, but maybe next time the hotel could put them all together on their own floor?). Parking was a struggle-- in addition to paying $18 for one day, we had to spend a fair amount of time hunting around for a spot. One time we had to wait for someone to exit the hotel so that we could "vulch" their spot.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlargMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear BlargMan,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We understand these take time out of your day and we appreciate it.

We are so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We see that you were disappointed in our amenities that are provided in our standard guestrooms. We have a few options for you that I believe will take care of this problem. Our first suggestion is to take a look at our great packages we have on our website. We have a package called “Free of Fees”, which includes not only a standard guest room, but complimentary in-room internet access and complimentary overnight parking. Another option we encourage our guests is to upgrade to Club Level. This will get you a room on our top 2 floors, away from any excess noise, and includes breakfast in Sprigs, complimentary in-room internet access, and access to our Club Level Lounge.

We are sorry that one of our groups in-house was a disturbance to you. I have forwarded your review to our Director of Front Office Operations to ensure we pay attention to our groups in house and plan accordingly.

We are pleased to see you enjoyed our rooms and felt our beds were comfortable. We strive to make each guest feel as if they are at home and we hope we accomplished this with you.

Again, we are so sorry your time with us in San Jose was not satisfactory for you. We hope to have you back in the near future were we can change your thought on our property.

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Houston
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Huge rooms on the HHonors levels. Restraunts open till 8pm and the Steakhouse until 10pm which is also when room service ends for most items.

Was impressed with Customer service and check-in and the Consierge.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet on the HHonors section. Very noisey where the families were staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggerperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Tiggerperson,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate each and every comment from our guests.

We are happy to see you felt our rooms were a great size, we have the largest rooms in Silicon Valley and we are glad you noticed! We are also glad to see you were impressed with our customer service, check-in, and Concierge. We pride ourselves in great customer service and we love to hear we did a great job in it.

Our restaurants do, unfortunately, close at 10pm, but our late night room service menu has just been updated and includes great dishes such as a Turkey B.L.T.A., a Grilled Vegetable Wrap, and much more.

Again, thank you for the review and we hope to see you again in the near future (hopefully you can try our new In-Room Dining Menu).

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The AC was not working, no towels at the pool, rude bartender. I paid extra to updgrade to the executive level was told that there was complimentary beverages on the 10th floor however each time I went to get a drink there were none! It was a very hot day, the AC was not working. I called the front desk and was advised they had already received over 30 calls regarding the issue however there was no resolution to the problem. I was the only customer at the Bar and I had to wait 10 min for a drink (mind you I had to repeat my order twice). The bar tender did not smile, she seemed mad and bothered that she had to help me

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ultima M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Ultima M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate each of our guests reviews.

We are so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. We are sorry to hear the AC was not working in our hotel, we understand how this could be frustrating, but unfortunately problems do arise in our hotel from time to time that we try our best to fix as quickly as possible. We are also sorry to hear our bartender was rude to you. We train our employees to treat our guests with kindness and warm-heartedness. I have forwarded your review to our Director of Food and Beverage to ensure our bartenders are reminded of expectations.

Again, we are so sorry to hear of your experience at our hotel. We will make the improvements in our hotel that you have provided us with and will become a greater hotel from it. We hope to see you again in the near future and we can show you how great our hotel really is.

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We called for the shuttle to pick us up at the airport...it arrived very quickly, but don't expect the driver to help with your luggage...Thank goodness we only had carry-ons but another passagener had a large bag...Since the driver sat behind the wheel and looked bored, I offered to help...only then did the driver make a half-hearted attempt to help...Guess she's never heard that tips are directly related to friendliness and helpfuliness...out of the four passengers, no one gave her a tip when we arrived at the hotel...
The hotel is nice, looks like the rooms are (or have) undergone some updating...however, the furniture is mis-matched...not a big deal, but if you're paying $$$...just sayin...
The lounge was ok, again the service lacked a little to be desired...Maybe no one enjoys working there...that's the way it seems anyway...
On the way back to the airport, the same driver...the same type of service...or the lack there of...That is why I rated this hotel as average...

Room Tip: I requested a room over looking the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Woody517,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We understand these take time and appreciate yours.

We are so sorry to hear that our shuttle driver did not help you or the other passengers with your bag. We expect our employee’s to be helpful, kind-hearted and courteous to all our guests. I have forwarded your review to our Director of Front Office Operation to ensure this problem is taken care of and our staff understands what it is to be a Hilton employee.

We are glad to see you enjoyed our property and noticed our newly updated bed, tv, dresser, etc. We will be going through a complete renovation starting next year, which will include all guestrooms and meeting space.

Again, we are so sorry to hear about your experience with our shuttle driver. We will fix this issue ASAP. Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here multiple times since it was the Red Lion, long ago. The rooms are large, clean, but they are beginning to look a bit tired. As airport hotels go, this is a good one as the staff will help in any way to get you to the flight on time. As the hotel is large, there are frequent conventions/meetings and when they include multiple families with youngsters, the hotel energy can be frantic. There is no suitable club lounge as it is a large elevator lobby on the top floor without amenities or separate breakfast so it is always devoid of adults. If teenagers are in the hotel, they rapidly figure out how to get around the need for a special card for the elevator stop at club level. They simply get off a floor below and walk up congregating in the large space that substitutes for the club lounge.

Room Tip: There is no club lounge to speak of. Hotel size and number of guests of all ages prevents total q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelteam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Traveltearn69,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback, both good and bad.

We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay and have been a loyal customer since the Red Lion. We are happy to hear you were satisfied with our room size and staff. We understand our rooms are starting to look a bit tired, which is why we are excited to say that we will be going through a renovation starting next year.

We are also sorry that you felt our hotel energy was a bit frantic. This will happen from time to time when we have a large group in-house. Next time, please feel free ask our front desk to place you in a room away from any large groups and we will be happy to accommodate.

Again, thank you so much for the review and being such a loyal customer throughout the years. We hope to see you again in the near future and you can see our newly renovated property.

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I would have given Doubletree 5 stars but the bed wasn't good for my back. The hotel is great, the service is wonderful and the location is perfect (minutes from the airport). I would recommend this hotel, if you plan to come to the San Jose area. And don't forget the cookies!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southernbelle305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CookiePerArrival, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Southernbelle305,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback and love to hear our guests comment.

We are so happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us! We are glad to hear you were satisfied with our service, location, property, and our delicious cookie!

We are sorry to hear you did not find our ‘Sweet Dreams” mattress comfortable. We understand each of our guest have different preferences, next time please inform our front desk if you need and extra pillow-top, pillow, etc. to ensure your night is as comfortable as possible.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
Courtyard San Jose Airport
#14 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Airport
3.5 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport-Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Address: 2050 Gateway Pl, San Jose, CA 95110-1011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Silicon Valley location, Doubletree Hotel San Jose is close to the San Jose Airport and a short drive from Downtown or Santana Row. Doubletree boasts the largest guest rooms as well as 48,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space. This hotel is the perfect destination for family travel, corporate meetings, or an elegant wedding. Friendly staff and a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in make it feel like home. Please note: a valid credit card is required for nightly $75 deposit fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Doubletree San Jose
San Jose Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing