We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersGold level
Glendale, Arizona
2 reviews
“Worth the stay!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our family stayed specifically for business. My husband had a job in the San Jose area and we were officially starting our vacation when he returned...we decided to go with him and start our vaca earlier! This hotel was VERY nice! Staff was attentive, pleasant and helpful! Our only complaint...we stayed from a Sunday night to Thursday morning...we all took showers at different times of the day depending on what we were doing (kids and I by the pool all day =afternoon/early evening showers)...and I can safely say that between all of us and the showering we did...DAILY...I think we got a total of 4 HOT showers the whole time. Not sure what that was all about but...all in all a good hotel.

I think the WIFI was free because of my husbands Hilton Honors level...but not sure

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    644
    443
    213
    94
See reviews for
293
257
213
1,117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Very good bed, sheets and pillows (no yucky comforter or pillows that don’t get washed). Muted pleasant décor. Happy w breakfast and coffee. Noise from AC, through walls good, ok through windows (between two freeways) for me, someone who likes quiet. Overall relatively quiet as compared to many hotels. Microwave and mini fridge. Good size room. Slider window opens onto a small step out balcony (love that, but people w small curious kids who will get into everything note) Two separate sink areas. A paper bag that was mistakenly taken as trash was quickly tracked down by housekeeping manager (thank you Elizabeth!) hailed by a housekeepers personal cell phone. With that decided all the staff was lovely. Check in staff very nice, though the hotel did not have rooms ready for check in until 1.5+ hrs after official check in due to larger than normal weekend hord. Hotel has 2 bed rooms. With our group reservation specific rooms were assigned to specific people (don;t know if this is normal or just for group reservations) which was good in that it means one had a better chance of getting the two bed room, if booked.
Nice pool area for those w kids. In this area, hotel parking is generally at an extra cost. In walking distance Sonoma chicken is easily walked to and can handle large crowds, a starbucks, sushi place and bagel place. Not much else walking but convenient to freeways. , This hotel has business facilities/meeting rooms, restaurant in hotel, room service etc. Arrival/departure board for super close airport (oddly I did not hear airplanes) in lobby. Several shuttles on hand to take to airport.
Value perception dependent on cost paid, but I found quite pleasing stay. Will remember for our future stays in San Jose area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelwKids4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I was here on business. The location is convenient. Room serve food and staff were Excellent. The only prob I had was the room. It was facing the highway which was very close. Not a good view and very loud when opening balcony door. Room carpet also smelled a bit musky.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The premises at this hotel were well maintained. The lobby, public areas, and hotel room were spacious, clean and comfortable. Receiving a chocolate chip cookie at check-in and at other times was a nice perk. The on-site restaurants and in-room dining had good food but the menus were somewhat limited.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Had a quick stopover in San Jose and stayed here just one night. Arrived 8:00 pm. Took several minutes for valet to acknowledge my arrival. When I told him I needed a bellman, the valet told me to ask at the front desk. (Usually they whisk my luggage away upon arrival. Here: no.) Stayed in line at the front desk due to only one clerk checking us in. She asked if I had a floor preference and replied "no," since it was just a quick stay. She asked is the 2nd floor o.k.? "Sure, why not?" I said. Little did I know, the clerk assigned me to a floor where rooms on one side were converted into meeting rooms, and the other side were guest rooms. No one around. Looked like a hallway to the dungeon. Smelled smokey. Creepy, in fact. Mine was the last room down at the end of the hallway - next door was a hall to a kitchen that had food trays stacked up and a service elevator. WHY WOULD A FRONT DESK CLERK ASSIGN A WOMAN, TRAVELING BY HERSELF, TO SUCH A REMOTE ROOM? I did not feel safe. I enter my room and there's nothing on the walls! No art - nothing! (Look at my photos.) I paid $300+ for this dungeon, with prison-like decorations. Disappointing. On a positive note: the bed linens were clean and the mattress was decent.

Room Tip: Higher floors might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntyBeeTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Auntybeethetraveler,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay. We’re very sorry you were unhappy with your experience at our hotel. We appreciate hearing from you, and we apologize that you were disappointed by the location and decorations in your room. If you travel again to our area, we hope we have the opportunity to make it right and show you how you’ve helped us to improve.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Ives
Director of Front Office
matthew.ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived to check in late and encountered no problems. Room was clean, and the bed was pretty comfortable for a hotel bed. Has several restarants, one of which was closed when I arrived (about 9pm on a weeknight). But, the more posh steak restarant was open, and the more casual one in the center of the lobby was open, and the latter proved to be a nice place to sit, watch TV, and catch up on email and such. Has a nice looking pool on the center. The 5-10 minute shuttle to the airport is complementary, and starts very early. All in all a nice business stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The bathroom had a broken counter top and the door leading to toilet was FILTHY. When I wiped it with a handwipe it came off black. Housekeeping does the basics well but this hotel hasn't been deep cleaned EVER. Smells like many a party (cig smoke and booze) happened in this hotel ... Yhis giant meeting/convention hotel is so big to be overwhelming for anyone not participating in a meeting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank unrealtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLIves, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
untrealtime,

We’re sorry we didn’t provide you with the type of room you deserve. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel as your satisfaction is important to us. We will share your review with our housekeeping team thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity to make it right.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Ives
Director of Front Office
matthew.ives@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
Courtyard San Jose Airport
#14 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#6 of 75 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Airport
3.5 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport-Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Address: 2050 Gateway Pl, San Jose, CA 95110-1011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Silicon Valley location, Doubletree Hotel San Jose is close to the San Jose Airport and a short drive from Downtown or Santana Row. Doubletree boasts the largest guest rooms as well as 48,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space. This hotel is the perfect destination for family travel, corporate meetings, or an elegant wedding. Friendly staff and a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in make it feel like home. Please note: a valid credit card is required for nightly $75 deposit fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Doubletree San Jose
San Jose Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing