We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodym55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,038)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,626 - 1,632 of 2,038 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2010

This hotel was a very nice surprise for my wife and I. It was great to have a free shuttle service from the airport. Our driver was very nice and took very good care of all on-board. Check in was fast and smooth. The man who helped us was outstanding !! PLUS, Hot Cookies, mmmm, Choco-chip ! I found the entire staff to be very polite and there to help all.
Our room on the 7th floor overlooked the swimming pool area. Great view towards the west of the valley. The room was very clean and quite large. Wolfgang Puck Coffee pod maker and pods in the room. A nice touch and great coffee. The small amenities are a super plus. Our room attendant was Excellent, If my wife needed something they were right there to help. Great Service.
The hotel itself was very nice. All the common areas were bright and super clean. Being able to print out our flight's boarding passes right there was a very nice touch. One can hang around in the lobby and enjoy the fireplace and bar area. Large Flat Screened TV's displayed everything from the current sports to the Departure and Arrival screens from the airport.
However there were a few things that needed to be looked at. I understand the hotel is a very busy place, and this should in no way steer anyone away from going there. Only 2 elevators were in service to our room. The ice machine on our floor was broken. The ceiling tiles in our room entryway needed to be replaced with new ones. The drain holes in the shower soap trays need to be cleaned out with a small diameter brush. One big thing was the time it took to get hot water to the room. You waste too much water running it and waiting for it to even warm up. Maybe an open recirculating hot water loop would be a good idea.
These are small things. The total hotel is well worth one staying there. I WILL be staying there again. When ever we go to San Jose, This is the best place to stay. From the shuttle service to the great staff, the Double Tree will not let you down.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I recently spent four nights at the Doubletree for a high school reunion trip. The reunion events were all held at the hotel, so we decided to stay there for convenience. It was extremely convenient to the airport and close to many restaurants and other activities. W The had a pleasant stay and the staff was very courteous. The room was clean and my son loved the pool.

There were a few negatives:
- Internet access in your room costs $18 per day, which is ridiculous. That might be OK for business travelers who can write it off on their expense reports but it should be free to hotel guests. Note: they did have a couple of computers in the lobby with free access. Guest parking was also $18 per day. It adds up quickly.

- The tile around the pool is unbelievably slippery everywhere. We saw at least a dozen people (children included) slip and fall while we were there. I can't believe that someone hasn't fallen with a serious head injury yet. It's a lawsuit waiting to happen.

-There was a fire alarm at 4am and the entire hotel was evacuated into the parking lot. No hotel staff ever came out to tell us what was going on or when to go back in. The fire department never came. Huge lack of communication and coordination there.

- There was a cockroach running around the lobby one evening. I never saw any others but wasn't particularly thrilled to see that one. I know it's an unfortunate byproduct of hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgsantoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Doubletree is so lucky that the online pictures of their guestrooms are 100 times better than in reality. The lobby was very nice, modern and comfortable. But a short trip to the 7th floor tells a different story. Old, outdated and in desperate need of a really BIG renovation.
As soon as we stepped out of the elevators the "Old" smell hit us strong. Right there and then I knew that I should have booked a different hotel. The guest room was dark, old, smelly, outdated. I was shocked. No flat screen tv. The furniture was old and scratched. I didn't want to touch anything in that room. My husband immediately called the lobby asking them if they had any "Newer, renovated rooms." Maybe something closer to what we saw on the pictures. Nope! Nothing better! IT WAS SO OLD AND OUTDATED THAT THE CAPS ON THE BOTTLED WATER WERE COVERED IN DUST. THE CREAMER NEXT TO THE COFFEE WAS EXPIRED. DISGUSTING! Oh and Parking was $18. Not cheap!
This is nowhere near a 4star hotel. 2-2.5 stars at most. I'm not staying at a Doubletree hotel again unless it's brand new or newly renovated. Never AGAIN!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaughDreamTraveL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We love the Doubletree Hotels. They are older, large buildings with lots of wings and rooms. Lots of windows and outdoor areas. This location was one of the best as far as updates and cleanliness, nice grounds (lots of green/trees). Close to the San Jose airport, complimentary shuttle. Many of our shuttle riders were using the park and fly, better rates than the airport. Love the signature cookies !! PROS. Typical of other Doubletree Hotels, the 2Q room is huge, double bathroom sinks in separate areas (one in bath area, one in closet foyer area), sliding door opens to small balcony, nice linens/bedding and towels; coffee maker, desk work area, very clean. CONS. No refrig/micro, charge for internet, limited TV selection, needs new shower head, expect airplane noise. What's up Hilton? About time to offer complimentary in-room internet to at least your Hilton Honors members !

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

When you walk through the lobby and see the valet parking it would suggest a nice hotel, but a quick walk through the halls and the rooms and you quickly realize it is not. The rooms are old, wallpaper peeling, doors and furniture badly chipped, the toilet not firmly bolted down. I booked with priceline.com which listed this as a 4 star...it is definitely not.. maybe 2.5 star. The ceiling tile in our room would flap when the A/C was turned making it difficult to sleep. The ice machine on our floor was broken, had to get it from the next floor which broke the next day, so had to go to another after that. It was not repaired during our stay there. Plus on top, there's a $20/ day for parking. I definitely would NOT recommend this hotel. This is first time I used Priceline and my last. I'll stick with Hotwire. Stay here only you're expecting to pay 2.5 star prices.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We had been in Carmel and had an early flight out of San Jose, so decided to stay overnight at the Doubletree. The shuttle to the airport was the main reason we decided to stay there. From the minute we walked through the door, everyone was friendly, efficient and helpful. I mentioned that it was my birthday and we were given a dinner voucher for the steak restaurant on the property. Our room was large, nicely decorated and very quiet. The bed was comfortable. They had flight information in the lobby as well as computers and a place to print our boarding passes. It did not feel like an airport hotel, though. The shuttle ride was short and easily available. I encourage anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jantexHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,250 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,171 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,394 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Address: 2050 Gateway Pl, San Jose, CA 95110-1011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £103 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Silicon Valley location, Doubletree Hotel San Jose is close to the San Jose Airport and a short drive from Downtown or Santana Row. Doubletree boasts the largest guest rooms as well as 48,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space. This hotel is the perfect destination for family travel, corporate meetings, or an elegant wedding. Friendly staff and a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in make it feel like home. Please note: a valid credit card is required for nightly $75 deposit fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Doubletree San Jose
San Jose Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing