We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guest rooms need renovation! Not recommended!.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 November 2010

The guest rooms have popcorn cieling and the curtain scrapes on the cieling which loosens the popcorn into powder. Checkin was very slow, the front desk staff is not aware of our reservation so we feel unwelcomed. There is dust surrounding the AC vents. The TV closet has the door removed and the furnitures are very old. I have to ask for a refrigerator setup. I asked if there are other rooms with better furnishing and I was told that all rooms are the same.

Oramge juice is not included with your breakfast and no breakfast pastries.

When I tried estending my reservation for one day, I was told that they will jave to increase my rate by $ 10 a night.

I will not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bustraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,058)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,602 - 1,608 of 2,058 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2010

I attended a small conference at the Doubletree and stayed two nights. This is a very large hotel but is staffed by friendly people. The room was clean and spacious, with the bed meeting Hilton's standards for quality. The (unstaffed) concierge lounge had soft drinks and apples (although no bottled water or other snacks) and comfortable seating areas with a computer-and-printer setup. There are many meeting rooms of various sizes. In addition to the usual gift shop in the lobby there is a package mailing center that can take care of a number of business needs. Hotel personnel drove our group to a local restaurant one night using their courtesy vans, saving us a lot of money.

The breakfast buffet was good...especially with the free coupon I was given! I ate dinner one night at the sushi bar and found it to be pricey but enjoyable.

The location near the San Jose Airport can't be beat. From all indications, this is a well-run hotel that will meet all of your business travel needs.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr-Jill-from-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Great place to stay with the kids. We have 3 children under age 6. The loved the cookies. Hung out at the pool all day on Saturday and they had so much fun. Clean rooms with plenty of pillows. Would stay there again. Hotel is in a good location close driving distance to everything we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vrbascos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times. Usually my stay is quite short in duration, so I cannot comment on the surrounding area. I can say that I have always experienced great service with a smile. I find the rooms spacious compared to most places; and, the beds and pillows are very comfortable. I've never had a problem with noise, so I always sleep well here. The lobby is very grand and is beautifully decorated for the holidays. I love the complimentary cookies. Van service to the airport is excellent, too. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazy4equines12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

From the moment I stepped into their beautiful lobby, I knew it would be a great experience. I was there for a business meeting at the hotel. My room was near perfect. Overall, my experience was pleasant and I would return to this location if I am again on a business or personal trip to San Jose!

Pros: multiple food options on site, friendly staff, well placed meeting rooms, updated amenities in the sleeping rooms, overall good food quality, airport shuttle was timely, plenty of lunch time restaurants to walk to

Cons: cost of parking, location of courtesy phones in the meeting room areas, lack of dinner time restaurants within walking distance, lack of shuttle in a "5 mile radius"

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texymexy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CookieOnArrival, Director of Business Development at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Dear texymexy16,

On behalf of the Doubletree Hotel San Jose, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review us. Every comment that is posted is taken into consideration and we love to hear how we can become a better hotel in our guests’ eyes.

We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in delivering a friendly and welcoming staff, clean rooms, delicious meals, and more.

We are sorry you were unsatisfied with our surroundings, such as restaurants and shuttles. We hope you informed our parking staff that you were interesting in nearby entertainment so they could update you with what is around and call you a cab. We try our best to satisfy every guests needs, the greatest way possible.

Again, thank you for staying with us and for reviewing our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Staff were extremely friendly. The shuttle to/from airport is very accessible and timely.

I was there for a convention and there were shuttle buses provided to take us downtown. I'm not sure if the hotel provided these or someone else, but they were very useful.

The hotel lobby was very clean and inviting. My room was in great condition.

The only cons were:

1)My room key (card) was demagnetized both days that I was there. That was annoying having to walk all the way up to my room on sixth floor, not being able to get in, and then walking all the way back to front desk (twice!). I was told that having the key next to a cell phone will do this, but they need to find a new key technology because cell phones are everywhere nowadays.

2) Location is extremely convenient for airport (right across the street), but not good for downtown San Jose. I walked one day from hotel to the trolley and it was a bit of a hike. I can see where most people would not want to do this.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Chad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CookieOnArrival, Director of Business Development at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Dear 123Chad123,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to review our hotel.

We are very pleased that you experienced our friendly staff and that the hotel shuttle service provided the services to your satisfaction.

We do understand your frustration with your room key. De-magnification of magnetic stripped cards by cell phones does need to be fixed through new technology. We are looking for resolution as it relates to our hotel product and hope to eliminate this issue in the near future.

We understand downtown San Jose is not as close as preferred, but our hotel is best known for the convenience of the airport. Additionally, we are within walking distance to the Light-rail transit system that whisks you straight downtown which is only minutes away; plus you don’t need to find parking in the downtown area.

Thank you again for staying with us and taking the time to review us. We hope you return for another visit soon!

Sincerely,

Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Last stayed here in Dec 2009 and was looking forward to the great breakfast buffet with omelets, fresh breads, bagels, lox, etc.
I was very disappointed to find that this has been significantly scaled back to a shadow of what it was. Only scrambled eggs, potatoes, dry cereal, bacon/sausage, fruit/ yogurt. Bread is only a choice of white or wheat slices -not even muffins. Forget about the juice, too. Too understaffed on a Tuesday to get a coffee.
Sushi bar food is expensive and second rate.
Room service food was very good.
Rooms are aging for the price point of this hotel. Management response to other reviews on this site state that all rooms have a flat screen 37" HD TV is not true. Mine has an old 26" std tube TV.
All hotel staff were very helpful and friendly.
in room coffee is good and bed is comfortable.
Internet service works well.
Oddly, housekeeping only supplied one hand towel on multiple days.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkokieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CookieOnArrival, Director of Business Development at DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2010

Dear SkokieTraveller,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and taking the time to review our hotel. We encourage every guest to write a review, so we can fix any problems our guests’ may have experienced during their visit.

We are sorry to learn your stay with us was disappointing. Based on customer feedback, we made changes to our buffet to make it quick, affordable at $10 versus $18 and provide many of the essential breakfast foods that our guests desire. We have a full breakfast menu at Sprigs, as an alternative to the buffet.

The new flat screen TV installation period is mid November through Dec 7, we should have specified those dates for clarification.

We are pleased to see that our hotel staff was helpful and friendly. We try our best to satisfy every guest’s needs. Again, thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope you will return in the future to see our newly updated rooms.

Thank you,

Carrie McAllen
Director of Business Development

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.2 mi away
Fairmont San Jose
Fairmont San Jose
#7 of 75 in San Jose
2,289 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,183 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Jose Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport
3.3 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
9.4 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose

Address: 2050 Gateway Pl, San Jose, CA 95110-1011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £98 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Silicon Valley location, Doubletree Hotel San Jose is close to the San Jose Airport and a short drive from Downtown or Santana Row. Doubletree boasts the largest guest rooms as well as 48,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting space. This hotel is the perfect destination for family travel, corporate meetings, or an elegant wedding. Friendly staff and a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in make it feel like home. Please note: a valid credit card is required for nightly $75 deposit fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton San Jose Hotel San Jose
Doubletree San Jose
San Jose Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing