We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, excellent service!”
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Keizer, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, excellent service!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed one night, but enjoyed our stay immensely. VERY comfortable room and bed. Excellent exercise facility. Great location. Would love to go back! We had a nice dinner at The Grill, and the day prior we walked downtown and visited a few sites. The service was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    716
    325
    149
    97
See reviews for
371
365
128
1,090
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont for a conference in July and enjoyed the hotel very much. The hotel is in a great area of San Jose with many great restaurants in the area.

It is a very modern hotel with exceptional amenities. I treated myself and had a spa service and it was very professional and enjoyable. Room service arrived promptly and was of high quality.

I would highly recommend the Fairmont San Jose

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MahalofromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I was really excited to stay at the Fairmont. I had envisioned fantastic customer service and perfect amenities. Driving up, the valet took my car and I entered the Fairmont. the check in was smooth and my room was wonderful. I was a little disappointed in the service. I had ordered an extra blanket twice and it never arrived. When I went down to the front desk to once again ask for a blanket the associates were there but they walked back and forth behind the counter and took a while for them to acknowledge me. This was really a surprise because of the reputation of the Fairmont . When I did check out I was not asked how my stay was so I did not share my experience with staff. However, I expected staff to fall all over themselves to provide good service. Unfortunately, I did not see it. Nice room and amenities and the valet parking staff was awesome. Warning, read all notices before you pick up any nuts or water in the class. These items are on sensors and your room will be charged immediately. So great potential, but I am thinking that my stay was out of the ordinary .

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is reviews like these that allow us to find opportunities for improvement and it seems here we have missed the mark. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that this has caused during your stay with us. I would like to discuss your experience in further detail. Please reach out to me at your earliest convenience.
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont overnight when travelling through to San Francisco from the south (singing that song of course: "Do you know the way...". After a long day's driving the Fairmont was a welcome touch of luxury. On arrival our bags were dealt with efficiently. The doorman was even very understanding when I walked off with the car keys in my pocket, having asked that the car be parked! I told you it was a long drive.

The hotel is situated in the commercial centre of town but if you are hoping that it will be close to shopping, think again. The surrounding neighbourhood - which includes the theatre quarter - is a little weird after dark. We went for a walk and my wife said that in all of our time in the States this was the one time she did not feel safe.

The hotel itself is a wonderful example of the marbled anonymity that hotel chains can achieve. This is something that you either love or hate. The lobby is huge, the marble is polished and the staff smile a lot. Our room was an executive suite on an upper floor with a superb view over the valley. It was open plan in that the bed and sitting areas were not separated but was very spacious and well appointed, with a dressing lobby and large marble bathroom with separate shower. The toilet was also separated so that shared ablutions could be a little more private.

Because of the concerns about the surrounding precinct we ate in the room (eschewing the heavily promoted in-house restaurants) and the room service meal was tasty and fresh. It was delivered relatively promptly within about 35 minutes of the order being placed, which was impressive efficiency compared with some room service experiences.

We used the valet parking garage which was reasonably priced and our car was out and ready to go with a 20 minute call ahead of our departure at an early hour - all very smooth.

Pity about San Jose itself!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello,
First, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Fairmont San Jose. I know that you always have a choice between hotels and we are pleased that you have chosen ours. Your business truly is important to us. Furthermore, we thank you for your kind words regarding our property.
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

THIS is what a luxury hotel should be. It is absolutely gorgeous, from its stunning lobby to its huge, tastefully decorated rooms. The front desk people are efficient and incredibly caring. We needed travel advice, and two different concierge people helped us immensely. The bedding in our room was to die for. The bathroom was enormous, with both a tub and a shower. The room was absolutely spotless, too. I would return to this lovely hotel in a heartbeat. The Fountain Restaurant there has fabulous food and an incredible breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newere annexed tower, and the room was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarCrazyMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello,
Thank you so much for your kind words.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your visit in San Jose and we can't wait to welcome you back. We always pride ourselves in providing top of line services to our guests, thank you for noticing our team members' efforts.
We appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Arrived very early and took a shot at an early check-in. The front desk was extremely helpful and friendly as they set us up in our room. I realize this cannot always happen, but it was great! The room was very clean and large. There are plenty of dining options within walking distance of the hotel. There are some homeless folk hanging around sometimes, but pretty harmless. We had a very restful night. It was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. We walked to the CALTRAIN station and headed north to Palo Alto from the hotel. Would happily stay here again! I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello,
We appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your visit to the Bay Area and we can't wait to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here for 3+ nights on business. Underground valet parking, room service food was pretty good, and rooms (especially the BATHROOM!) was fantastic. I was on the 8th floor - view was OK. The location is good - downtown San Jose is pretty cool.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idkmybffjill1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello,
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your business trip and we can't wait to welcome you back .
We appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
marshall.jones@fairmont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
942 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#8 of 75 in San Jose
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#9 of 75 in San Jose
1,148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Property: Fairmont San Jose
Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing