We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great conference stay”
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great conference stay”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the fairmont for several days to join a conference. The room was very comfortable. The conference was also in the fairmont. The service and the facilities for the conference were good. The fairmont is nice location to stay for business purpose. In the neighbourhood, there are also nice restaurants.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank EagleRay69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    701
    314
    145
    92
See reviews for
353
349
126
1,066
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Thankful to have this hotel in close proximity to my company. Frequent it often and never have any issues - besides the fact that they are often at capacity and I cannot get a room last minute. Because of this, I usually have my secretary check availability at the hotel when I first start planning an overnight trip to the area - that's got to say something about the hotel.
The hotel is perfectly situated in downtown San Jose, close to many bars and restaurants.

Hotel caters nicely to the business crowd and has a lively bar scene, complete with piano players, in the grand lobby during the week. Nice atmosphere to end your evening after a long day. If you prefer quiet, you can just jump into the elevator and head up to your nicely appointed rooms with comfortable beds. There are two different parts to the hotel: the main building/tower where you check in and where all the amenities are, and the newer, more updated tower. It's all personal preference when it comes to this. I like the nicer rooms, but I also like being close to the gym, restaurant, lobby, etc.

The restaurant that is connected to (or in) the hotel - the Grill on the Alley (part of the Daily Grill chain) - is a very good steakhouse. They have a great happy hour from 4-7. The room service at the hotel is a little pricey.

They just updated the gym - thankfully!, and it's now a pretty good one.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank McDonald3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hello,
We appreciate you for taking the time to write an in-depth review on Tripadvisor and recommending our property to other business travelers. Our Lobby Lounge will soon offer Happy Hour as well and we are looking forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I was here for several days for a conference and found everything to be excellent. The room was very comfortable with great views from the 11th floor. Those elevators were fast and plentiful and could handle a crowd. Even with so many people, it was never crowded and the rooms were a peaceful, quiet place to relax.
Reception folks were pleasant and helpful at checking, when I locked myself out of my room, and when my roommate and I needed some extra help dividing our bill.
Very good location for variety of meal locations.
Be careful of Super shuttle service (not affiliated with hotel) for transportation to and from airport. It worked perfectly for me both ways but some people were having problems.

Room Tip: We had a corner room and could see all over!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSHoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hello,
Thank you for staying with us during your conference and give us the opportunity to demonstrate our distinctive Fairmont Service. We are truly glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience during your stay. Thanks you again for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, West Virginia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

The Fairmont in San Jose is a wonderful place to hold a conference. Our association was well served by the staff of this hotel. From the General Manager and throughout all the staff, we were assisted with great service and a friendly, wonderful staff.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank fpalmer321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hello,
Thank you very much for your kind words and noticing our service. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your conference in the San Jose and we can't wait to welcome you back.
We also appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our one night stay very much. We got a great rate directly from hotel. I knew about the parking which I expected. Check-in was easy and people were classy and very friendly. Room on the 8th floor. Bed was great and room service outstanding. Only negatives were the shower, drippy tub, and phone. Shower head was stripped so it was aiming straight down. Tub had a slow drip, no big deal for us but I'm sure they were glad to hear about it. Phone didn't work. These issues did not dampen our stay but I know that Fairmont wants to be first class. If we return to San Jose, The Fairmont will be high on the list.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank crashjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hello,
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. It is reviews like these that allow us to find opportunities for improvement and it seems here we have missed the mark. We would like to discuss your experience in further detail. Please reach out to our Director of Operations, Lisa Ares, at your earliest convenience. You can directly contact her at Lisa.Ares@fairmont.com . We are looking forward to improve our service through your recommendations.
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Protip - sign up for the Fairmont Presidents Club and get complimentary internet!

I stayed here for a conference. The conference facilities at this hotel are fantastic. Good large and small rooms, nice lighting, plenty of windows to allow natural light.

There was a problem with the computer when I was checking in, so the nice person at the desk gave me a large ADA room (I'm assuming they didn't need the ADA room for someone who would actually need it). It was ginormous and lovely. The bed was very comfortable. There was ample clothes storage, including lighting and shelving in the closet where I was able to hang my clothes. The bathroom was really nice. The bath products were a bit strong for my taste (rose-scented) but I didn't argue, considering the towels were nice and fluffy and the bathrobes were comfortable (yeah, bathrobes).

The television had a decent selection of channels. The in-room coffee was fine.

Noise level in the adjoining room - I could hear people talking through the door, but they weren't very loud. If there were a party going on, it would probably be annoying. But I couldn't hear anything from the other room next to me (not adjoining with a door).

I have an aversion to expensive hotel breakfasts, but luckily this hotel is right downtown, with easy access to everything: Peet's, Philz, a local Safeway, Walgreens, Starbucks. Plus decent restaurants and bars for other meals. I wish I'd had time to visit the tech museum and local art museum or the movie theatre or the Rep! Also all close by.

A Philz tip: download the OrderAhead app and use it to order your Philz so it's ready and paid for when you walk over to get it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haparev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your wonderful review and being a great advocate four our Fairmont President's Club! We also appreciate you for recommending other travelers to try all the fun attractions around downtown San Jose. We can't wait to welcome you back! See you soon!
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is probably the best and most prestigious hotels in San Jose. It is in a perfect location downtown close to everything. It is even walking distance to the SAP Center. Bars and restaurants are very close by as well. The accomodations and amenities exude luxury, from the grand lobby to the small things such as Molton Brown soaps and shampoos. The valet staff is courteous and friendly. The bar has piano players during the week and it is a great atmosphere for a drink. The rooms are uniformly top notch. The room service is a bit costly but the food is excellent. This location is also good for hosting events in their various ballrooms. Be sure to stay in the luxury tower. It is not the main tower and costs a bit more but you will be happy you upgraded. I have stayed in this hotel on and off for a year and a half. If you stay in San Jose, stay at the Fairmont, you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure to upgrade to a room in the luxury tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimSingh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Director of Sales at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hello,
Thank you so much for your kind words and for noticing the amenities that we offer on our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your business trip and we can't wait to welcome you back.
We appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
Marshall Jones
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 75 in San Jose
933 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#8 of 75 in San Jose
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Property: Fairmont San Jose
Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing