We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Event” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wedding Event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great place to stay for an on-site event. Clean, comfortable, nice high pool view room. Call ahead for valet to help reduce the wait on car retrieval. Shower was high pressure for me, but my family liked that. Overall had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your great review and being a great advocate for our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your trip in San Jose and we can't wait to welcome you back.
We appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    681
    311
    143
    89
See reviews for
341
345
122
1,037
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We (3 adults and 1 child) stayed here for 2 nights while we were at the Fantasy Faire nearby. My friends arrived before me and thought they went to the wrong place since it was "so fancy looking".

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The beds were comfy and the room and bathroom were big enough for us to spread out. The beds were a bit cramped for 2 adults, but not horrible.

The downside is that there are no extras included. Wifi, a fridge to store things, and parking all cost extra. There is also no breakfast included. I have been to many hotels of this star rating that included at least free wifi.

With all things considered, this hotel is good if you are looking for stylish comfort. This is not ideal for business travelers or those who look for that extra mile to make stays more enjoyable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank elamormejor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello,
First, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Fairmont San Jose. I know that you always have a choice between hotels and we are pleased that you have chosen ours.
For your future stay, if you sign up for the complimentary Fairmont President's Club, you will receive free Wi-Fi Internet in your guest room, as well as other perks.
We a really appreciate your feedbacks and give us the opportunity to improve. Thanks again for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Very exquisite hotel in the happenings of San Jose. You are not far from museums, clubs, local clothing stores. The Gym/steam shower are really great here. Watch out for the skunks around the hotel lol. Other than that, very good hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DreEnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your review. We recognize that there are many options for accommodations in San Jose and we are pleased that you chose to spend your trip with us.
We really appreciate your feedbacks and give us the opportunity to improve. Thanks again for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We could tell as we approached the hotel on Market Street that this was the 'place to stay' in down-town San Jose. And, we were not disappointed. It was a 5-Star experience from beginning to end and we will stay here again, when we return to San Jose next year....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your great review and being a great advocate for our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your trip in San Jose and we can't wait to welcome you back.
We appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer Glen, IL
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

I frequent San Jose for business, and this was my second time staying at this hotel. I know I will get some generic auto-response from hotel management, but it is what it is and I'll go ahead and list my suggestions anyway. As usual, I do my reviews by category.

Check-in: Simple, quick, and the women helping me was very friendly.

Room- Clean, but furniture could use some updating as there was some noticeable wear and tear on the chair, bathroom, and lamp shades. Beds are comfy!

Ridiculous Fees- There's an extra fee for everything. Ordering room service? Mysterious 22% fee added on to the bill which does not include the tip. Dare to take anything from the mini-bar? 18% "restocking" fee on top of the ridiculous price for beverage. I think it was around $12 for one of those mini 1.5 ounce bottles of booze that you can get for free on a Southwest flight. Want to eat one of the fun-sized snack boxes of pretzels or cheese snacks located under the TV? $14. Yes. $14 for a 5 ounce mini box of pretzels. Do people even buy any of these? Oh, and parking was $26/day.

Staff- everyone was incredibly nice. Everyone from the room service/kitchen staff, valet, and front desk.They were definitely courteous, professional, and seemed to be always smiling, which makes me enjoy visiting this location.

Location- Downtown San Jose. Close to a ton of restaurants. I'm usually by myself on business so it's great to run down and grab something. It has a great European bakery attached to the adjacent tower, which can be accessed from the outside. I stayed in the tower both times. It really didn't make a difference to me and access to the outside seemed quicker than if you stayed in the main building.

All in all, it is a very nice hotel for the area. My next trip to San Jose will most likely be spent here again. I just wish they would tone down on the ridiculous fees. No, I will not spend $14 on cheese snacks. I don't care how much I love myself and think I deserve them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleyxmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Excellent clean property within walking distance (less than 1 mile) from SAP Center. High end rooms, comfortable beds and outstanding bathroom and shower. Good package price for $150 on a Saturday night including valet parking and breakfast for two.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello,
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the experience staying with us during the Sharks Playoff Game. Hopefully, you had a chance to enjoy all of our amenities. We will see you next season!

We thank you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soquel
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Sadly from a small corner room without enough room to swing a cat after having paid for an upgraded room - to floor towels missing in bathroom which of course you only figure out as you step into shower. In a lesser hotel for $100 a night, no big deal - but at the fairmont for over $300 - hmm, would i go there again - im not sure. Was our favorite hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello,
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. It is reviews like these that allow us to find opportunities for improvement and it seems here we have missed the mark. We would like to discuss your experience in further detail. Please reach out to our Director of Operations, Lisa Ares, at your earliest convenience. You may directly contact her at Lisa.Ares@fairmont.com . We are looking forward to improve our service through your recommendations.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#4 of 76 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Anza
Hotel De Anza
#7 of 76 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#8 of 76 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin San Jose
The Westin San Jose
#18 of 76 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Property: Fairmont San Jose
Address: 170 South Market Street, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing