We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately disappointed...”
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Well when we first got to our pool side room the outside furniture was dirty (drinks had not been cleaned from the former guests) which was annoying. Then we went to the pool to find other twenty somethings smoking marijuana, ruining our excited stay near the pool. Ofcourse we reported it, but the pool side attendant seemed unsure as to what to do. Then we went to clean up for dinner and the second shower was cold! So after having to move rooms we were late for our celebratory dinner down the street at our fav steak joint. Additionally everything is extra, internet, parking, it's ridiculous. You pay $25 to park and when it's time to pick up your car they don't even bring it to the front of the hotel. So if you don't mind being nickled and dimed for a less than memorable experience go ahead and book. We used stay here for special events and the hotel didn't

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank JBH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello,
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. It is reviews like these that allow us to find opportunities for improvement and it seems here we have missed the mark. We would like to discuss your experience in further detail. Please reach out to our Director of Operations, Lisa Ares, at your earliest convenience. You may directly contact her at Lisa.Ares@fairmont.com . We are looking forward to improve our service through your recommendations.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,557 - 1,563 of 2,418 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our family stayed at The Fairmont for an annual convention that we've been attending for several years. We prefer the newer tower across the Paseo de San Antonio--registration is in the original building. You must swipe your key card to enter the tower and also to operate the elevator, but someone is usually going in/out when you are, so not sure how secure this system is. We stayed in room 1092 with a view of the original building and swimming pool. Room 1092 and the adjacent room are slightly larger than the other standard rooms on that wing. We are members of the President's Club, which gave us free wifi, but accessing it was a pain. It took took tech support and several tries to log in, and my phone was constantly detecting the wifi and trying to access it. Minus one star for that and the bed linens, which were getting thin and the down pillows which had lost resiliency--when I put my head on two pillows, they compressed down to near non-existence.

Bath towels, however, were thick and fluffy, lots of good HOT water, two bathrobes, bath amenities and full carafe brewed coffee and Fairmont branded teas.

We especially like the close proximity of value-priced food, since the hotel is only three blocks from San Jose State U. Check out Psycho Donuts, Dosa and Curry Cafe, Good Karma (vegan) and CREAM (custom made ice cream sandwiches--pay cash, and they're only $2.50).

And there's usually some form of entertainment going on in the Plaza de Cesar Chavez (built in 1777) right across the street. If not, just enjoy the fountain, beautiful jacaranda trees and people-watching!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HikaruDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello,
First, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Fairmont San Jose over the years! I know that you always have a choice between hotels and we are pleased that you have chosen ours.
We really appreciate your feedbacks and give us the opportunity to improve. Thanks again for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a quick one night stay while taking one of our kids to Oakland. The hotel is beautiful and room well appointed. We loved lounging listening to the pianists playing in the evening. Parking half off since we drove a hybrid! Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dw4boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your review. We recognize that there are many options for accommodations in the Bay Area and we are pleased that you chose to spend your family trip with us.
We really appreciate your kind review. Thanks again for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Most of my view of this city was from the 12th floor; however, I was able to get the feel of California living in my walk to the surrounding local restaurants. I'm not one who tend to eat at restaurants in the hotel, but my one love was the adjoining bakery...flaky croissants w/fresh squeezed juice! The hotel was cool and comfortable with the exception of the pillows; I prefer medium to firm pillows. In addition, I would have preferred a small empty refrigerator for storing water & juice rather than a refrigerator stocked w/personal size bottles of liquor and glasses or at least give me an option before preparing my room.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redvelvet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very comfortable and convenient location, room facilities excellent. The Grill restaurant is superb, food was outstanding (Steak) and staff were very attentive. Overall a great hotel for business trip.



  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a business trip but it did last for 5 days. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to a number of restaurants and museums. The hotel facilities are very nice and if you sign up for a free membership in their Fairmont Loyalty program (President's Club), you get free WiFi during your stay (which saves around $13/day depending on service connection speed). Just go to their website and register a couple days prior to your arrival. The fitness center is above par (compared to places like Holiday Inn or Marriott) and they will also provide you with gym clothes (at your expense) in the event you forget to bring some. The maid service seemed always on the late side (room made up around 3-4 PM rather than in the morning) but maybe it was just the way the service cycled through the floor. The service itself was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snak123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello,
Thank you so much for acknowledging our fitness center and being an advocate for our Fairmont President’s Club program. Furthermore, we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your business trip. We hope to see you soon.
We appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Located downtown next to the cobblestone streets filled with restaurants, shopping...etc the Fairmont makes a great base camp for exploring San Jose. Although I stayed here for a business trip, I would highly recommend this hotel for pleasure any day. Nice foyer and marbled floors, with pillars surrounding the bar/lounge area lead you toward guest services. Live piano music, and clean, contemporary furniture accent the center of the ground floor.

Room: The room was very posh, clean, and roomy. The marbled bathroom was enormous, bright, and luxurious. The bed was extremely comfortable and provided a great balance of support, warmth, and softness.

Service: The front desk was very helpful in trying to clear up issues with my corporate card. More importantly, they helped accommodate one of my co-workers into a nicer room in the same building as us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobChills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello,
Thank you for being a great supporter for our hotel and noticing our convenient location. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience staying with us during your business trip in San Jose and we can't wait to welcome you back.
We appreciate you for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#7 of 75 in San Jose
992 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
6.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#9 of 75 in San Jose
1,227 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Address: 170 S Market St, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £143 - £436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing