We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairmont Hotel, San Jose”
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont San Jose
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The downtown location is excellent for visitors and business travelers.
The lobby bar and restaurants are all excellent and good venues for even visitors who are alone.
The surrounding plaza area also has several good restaurants and businesses, plus the overall downtown area has lots to do.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,490 - 1,496 of 2,357 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here en route to San Francisco and found the hotel to be well priced, very central, very classy and comfortable. There was an excellent band playing in the central lobby bar area during the evening; they played all the favorites VERY well, had everybody up dancing. Even had a couple of high class guest singers as well. The pool was large, heated and really relaxing. Even despite the huge number of guests at the time, the staff was calm, professional and helpful. Valet parking was not expensive, and was easy to find and good service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank JennyZ1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hello,
Thank you for your kind review. We recognize that there are many options for accommodations in the Bay Area and we are pleased that you chose to spend your trip with us.
We really appreciate your review. Thanks again for sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor and we can't wait to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The location of the hotel was convenient, the valet parking was acceptable although the overnight parking fee was somewhat steep. The surrounding area was fine, so the overall experience was quite decent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The San Jose Fairmont has everything a traveller could want. It is conveniently located to the art museum, tech museum, theatre, etc., and has a lovely, local park right in front. We had a fabulous dinner in The Grill Restaurant one night, and the more casual McCormick's on another. The cobblestone street behind the hotel has all kinds of eateries. The accomodations are elegant and befitting of a Fairmont. We had a room in the Main Building overlooking the 4th floor pool with a sunset view of the valley. The staff is professional and all business from valet to front desk to housekeeping was excellent. It's a great spot for a business trip as well as a quick getaway from the city. This was our second stay and we know we will stay here again.

Room Tip: The pool is located on the 4th floor. Some rooms have a private patio leading to the pool. Cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nottoobizilizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I regularly stay at the Fairmont in San Jose. I always find the rooms, the staff and the services to be among the best!...location is great, food is excellent, rooms are well appointed...overall, best hotel around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is my first Fairmont. I attended for Fanimecon, and the hotel is ideally situated only a block away.
Driving in is a bit tight, but the staff there are quick. They got me and my friend situated to the front desk, and the front desk was quick. The thing that made me a bit shocked was that I was using a debit card, and there's a $50 extra charge a night for using one. That was my only negative issue. Aside from that, the hotel staff is quick, friendly and helpful. They valet parked the car inside an underground garage. It's easy to get in and out, so there wasn't much of a concern, plus I didn't have to drive with the convention center right there.
The room was a nice size. Had a minibar, but no actual fridge. The bathroom was amazing. It was much larger than I had anticipated, with both a shower and bath.
Since it is located in downtown San Jose, one can easily go to any numerous restaurants, get a to-go order, and return to your room if so desired.
Again, a near perfect hotel, and I would have given it a perfect 5 had it not been for the debit transaction. 4.5/5

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello Kevin,
Thank you for your great review. We are sorry to have disappointed you regarding our $50 incidental policy. The $50 incidental should reversed back to your account two to three days after checked-out. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly about your billing situation. Please reach out to us at your earliest convenience. You can directly contact us at 1-408-998-1900
We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Well when we first got to our pool side room the outside furniture was dirty (drinks had not been cleaned from the former guests) which was annoying. Then we went to the pool to find other twenty somethings smoking marijuana, ruining our excited stay near the pool. Ofcourse we reported it, but the pool side attendant seemed unsure as to what to do. Then we went to clean up for dinner and the second shower was cold! So after having to move rooms we were late for our celebratory dinner down the street at our fav steak joint. Additionally everything is extra, internet, parking, it's ridiculous. You pay $25 to park and when it's time to pick up your car they don't even bring it to the front of the hotel. So if you don't mind being nickled and dimed for a less than memorable experience go ahead and book. We used stay here for special events and the hotel didn't

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank JBH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontSanJose, Customer Service Representative at Fairmont San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello,
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. It is reviews like these that allow us to find opportunities for improvement and it seems here we have missed the mark. We would like to discuss your experience in further detail. Please reach out to our Director of Operations, Lisa Ares, at your earliest convenience. You may directly contact her at Lisa.Ares@fairmont.com . We are looking forward to improve our service through your recommendations.
Sincerely,
David H
Customer Service Representative

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
San Jose Marriott
San Jose Marriott
#8 of 75 in San Jose
971 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dolce Hayes Mansion
Dolce Hayes Mansion
#3 of 75 in San Jose
1,515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Jose/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Jose
Hilton San Jose
#10 of 75 in San Jose
1,206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Jose Downtown
3.4 mi away
Hotel Valencia - Santana Row
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont San Jose

Address: 170 S Market St, San Jose, CA 95113-2360
Region: United States > California > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Jose
#2 Family Hotel in San Jose
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Jose
#3 Business Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £115 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont San Jose 4.5*
Number of rooms: 808
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and sophistication flow into each of the 808 well-appointed non-smoking deluxe guest rooms and suites at The Fairmont San Jose. Located near Silicon Valley in Northern California, this 20-story two tower masterpiece caters to discerning and well-traveled business professionals who expect impeccable quality from their accommodations. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Pamper yourself in the luxurious Tova Day Spa where you can relieve the stresses of the 21st century or simply enjoy a quick mani-pedi. A short drive will take you to more than 60 wineries in the Santa Cruz Mountain Appellation, as well as the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont San Jose Hotel San Jose
San Jose Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing